We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Explore, Learn, and Enjoy!”

Northern Great Lakes Visitor Center
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Northern Great Lakes Visitor Center is a four-season facility, capturing the unique qualities of this multi-state region. An intriguing objects theater, engaging exhibits and special programs are designed to tell the stories of the region's cultural and natural history. Comprehensive visitor information services and a friendly hospitality staff will help guide you on your journey. Open Daily from 9:00 a.m.-5:00 p.m. Free
Janesville, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Explore, Learn, and Enjoy!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

A treasure trove of local history form native American life to Lake Superior fisherman and lumberjack lore. Mining too! Kid friendly with many interactive gadgets for kids to enjoy with hands on experiences.

We've visited many times and it is a great place for any day, but is always good to keep in mind as a cool or rainy day outing.

The view from the top most level is breath taking! Being your camera!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NGLVC, Guest Relations Manager at Northern Great Lakes Visitor Center, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear 2sweet4umarie,
Thank you for visiting the NGLVC and for the detailed review. Winter is always a quieter time for our area, so we were very happy that you stopped in. You saw the snowshoes that were available, so next time we hope you bring the winter gear and head out on the trails. We would also love for you to stop back and see the mural. It took nine months, but it's all finished, and we think it is beautiful!
Safe Travels,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    53
    6
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Frances, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Impressive building for what's in there”
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Really nice building, free is as good a value you can get, typical pricey gift shop. Small museum type display area, nothing too awesome or extra kid friendly. The observation deck is a 360 degree view which is pretty nice, my first question was "where is the lake?" Hard to tell in winter and it is not right on the shore. There are walkways to take and you can even snowshoe if you are dressed for the weather. Did not take the trails so can't speak on those. Did get to witness the mural in progress which was neat. Artist was friendly even though I'm sure she has answered the same four questions thousands of times. Nice little stop on our trip but not worthy of being the destination. Did see that they support the junior rangers program which our children loved when they were younger.

Helpful?
Thank 2sweet4umarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NGLVC, Public Relations Manager at Northern Great Lakes Visitor Center, responded to this review, August 15, 2015
Dear 2sweet4umarie,
We are glad you enjoyed your time here at the center. We are not too close to the lake, and that is due to both land availability and accessibility for travelers. We hope you can visit again and see the mural, it's all finished now and quite beautiful! We are so glad you noticed our junior ranger program, it is something we like to promote at the center. Thank you again for your feedback, and hopefully next time you visit you can see our nature trails!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knife River, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Must visit”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We visited the center on a blustery winter day and loved every minute of it. Our grandchildren are 1, 3, and 5. There was something special for each one of them. Many of the displays are interactive. We left and returned later to snowshoe the trail behind the center. Snowshoes are available for free use. What fun we had!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank KnifeRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NGLVC, Guest Relations Manager at Northern Great Lakes Visitor Center, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear KnifeRiver,

Thank you for bringing the grandkids in last February. We appreciate that you took the time to review us and gave us 5 stars. We hope that you'll be able to visit again this winter and use the snowshoes again.
Safe Travels,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harshaw, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
325 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Northwoods Gem”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

This modern building is not your typical roadside visitors' center. It is beautiful, interactive visitor center with museum, art gallery, viewing tower, great gift shop and hiking trails. In Winter one can rent snow shoes to trump around the property. In simmer, one can walk the trials. Coffee is available for free. There is something for all ages here - any time of year.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank ScoutMidwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NGLVC, Public Relations Manager at Northern Great Lakes Visitor Center, responded to this review, August 15, 2015
Dear ScoutMidwest,
Thank you for your glowing review of our center! We are so happy you had a great experience here. There is a lot to do here as you mentioned, and we encourage you to visit again as you might enjoy our ever changing art gallery and our new beautiful mural that highlights the history of this region. Thank you again for visiting us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
340 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Lots of history to learn here”
Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

This is a nice stop along Highway 63. I would recommend this stop for families who are interested in learning more about the area and about Lake superior. If you go to the top of the building you are able to walk around the catwalk which has elevated views of Lake superior this is the best part.

Helpful?
Thank LfeisGood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NGLVC, Public Relations Manager at Northern Great Lakes Visitor Center, responded to this review, August 15, 2015
Dear LfeisGood,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our center. We pride ourselves in being able to provide relevant information about the region, both in our exhibit hall and at our front desk. We are happy to hear you liked our observation tower, it is a favorite for many! We hope you get a chance to visit us again and try our boardwalk trails located on our 180 acre property. Thank you again for visiting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Northern Great Lakes Visitor Center also viewed

 

Been to Northern Great Lakes Visitor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing