We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of history to learn here”

Northern Great Lakes Visitor Center
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Northern Great Lakes Visitor Center is a four-season facility, capturing the unique qualities of this multi-state region. An intriguing objects theater, engaging exhibits and special programs are designed to tell the stories of the region's cultural and natural history. Comprehensive visitor information services and a friendly hospitality staff will help guide you on your journey. Open Daily from 9:00 a.m.-5:00 p.m. Free
Reviewed November 27, 2012

This is a nice stop along Highway 63. I would recommend this stop for families who are interested in learning more about the area and about Lake superior. If you go to the top of the building you are able to walk around the catwalk which has elevated views of Lake superior this is the best part.

Thank LfeisGood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NGLVC, Public Relations Manager at Northern Great Lakes Visitor Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2015

Dear LfeisGood,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our center. We pride ourselves in being able to provide relevant information about the region, both in our exhibit hall and at our front desk. We are happy to hear you liked our observation tower, it is a favorite for many! We hope you get a chance to visit us again and try our boardwalk trails located on our 180 acre property. Thank you again for visiting!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (282)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"observation deck"
in 18 reviews
"gift shop"
in 25 reviews
"lake superior"
in 16 reviews
"feed the fish"
in 4 reviews
"northern wisconsin"
in 11 reviews
"local history"
in 11 reviews
"clean restrooms"
in 7 reviews
"walking trails"
in 9 reviews
"worth a stop"
in 10 reviews
"native americans"
in 5 reviews
"rainy day"
in 10 reviews
"apostle islands"
in 14 reviews
"edmund fitzgerald"
in 3 reviews
"degree view"
in 3 reviews
"interesting exhibits"
in 5 reviews
"viewing area"
in 3 reviews
"free museum"
in 3 reviews
Filter

255 - 259 of 282 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2012

My wife and I stopped at this center on October 19 and couldn't believe that we spent taxpayer dollars on this. We got done touring the place and we still don't know what it was trying to present. This kind of crazy spending of our tax dollars has to stop. It's a beautiful building but a waste of your time.

1  Thank don9290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NGLVC, Public Relations Manager at Northern Great Lakes Visitor Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2015

Dear don9290,
We are sorry to hear that you did not like our center. It is one of our many goals to provide guests with a positive experience, so we are sorry that we did not meet your expectations.

Ideally the center provides a lot of things, from a rest stop area, an area to hold meetings,an exhibit hall, an art gallery, several nature trails, a theater to watch films about the region, an observation tower, free/low cost programs for the public, and many other uses. The center has been used as a public space for many things, such as baby shower, memorial service, birthday parties, and much more. We feel we also act as a great way to inform visitors about things to do in the region, whether it be kayaking, dining, visiting the Apostle Islands, hiking, or camping (just to name a few). This way we help businesses in the region get connected with people who come to our center, which is something we pride ourselves on.

We feel all of these areas validate our existence, and we are sorry you do not agree. Thank you for your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stopped and were pleasantly surprised by the quality historical displays depicting life and labor in the area. Informative, clean and found an excellent bookstore/gift shoppe with an great selection of books by regional authors. Wonderful t and sweat shirts, very reasonably priced. Great for families and probably the cleanest rest rooms around.

Recommend highly for families.

1  Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NGLVC, Public Relations Manager at Northern Great Lakes Visitor Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2015

Dear wontenwon,
Thank you for your recommendation to other visitors, especially for families. We strive on being a building that can serve the simplest need of a rest stop, as well as being a center for education and interpretation about the Lake Superior region. The Friends of the Center are a non profit group who run our gift shop, and they are constantly working to have items that are relevant and local to the area. Thank you so much for your positive review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We had a stop at this center as part of a local conference bus tour. They were extremely accommodating and helpful in all ways.
And the whole concept of the place is just wonderful and so much more than the term "visitor center" conjures up!

Thank Yoopiecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NGLVC, Public Relations Manager at Northern Great Lakes Visitor Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2015

Dear Yoopiecat,
We appreciate your comment that we are more than a typical visitor center. As a coalition of six different groups, we try to provide a unique and helpful experience for visitors. We are happy to hear our staff met your expectations, and we hope you get a chance to visit us again! We offer programs for the public year round, many of which are free or very low cost. They include subjects from birds of prey, monarch tagging, the Lakota people, and much more. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review about us on Trip Advisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2012

WOW - gorgeous building that contains interactive displays showing history, culture, and art from the area. We went there to pick up information about biking - ended up spending an hour enjoying the displays in the building. The second floor is really an art gallery that portrays current environmental issues of the area.

Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NGLVC, Public Relations Manager at Northern Great Lakes Visitor Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2015

Dear Carol H,
Thank you for your detailed and enthusiastic review of our center! We appreciate your feedback, and are pleased that you enjoyed the art gallery on the second floor. The art changes there on a fairly regular basis, and we hope you can visit again and see what new art we have to offer. It sounds like you really enjoyed the exhibit hall on the first floor, and we hope you got a chance to go up to the observation tower to see the amazing view. Thank you again for visiting the Northern Great Lakes Visitor Center!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Northern Great Lakes Visitor Center also viewed

 

Been to Northern Great Lakes Visitor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing