We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive”

Northern Great Lakes Visitor Center
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Northern Great Lakes Visitor Center is a four-season facility, capturing the unique qualities of this multi-state region. An intriguing objects theater, engaging exhibits and special programs are designed to tell the stories of the region's cultural and natural history. Comprehensive visitor information services and a friendly hospitality staff will help guide you on your journey. Open Daily from 9:00 a.m.-5:00 p.m. Free
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Well worth planning a couple hours to spend here. Fantastic views, displays, and helpful staff. Plan to spend some time outside walking as well.

Thank Bonnie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NGLVC, Public Relations Manager at Northern Great Lakes Visitor Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2015

Dear Bonnie C,
Thank you for reviewing us on Trip Advisor! We are so happy to hear you had a positive experience here at our center. It sounds like you enjoyed our exhibit hall and the trails, and it's great to hear that we are meeting your needs and expectations. Be sure to check out our programs we have at the center year-round, many of which are free and great for all ages. Also be sure to check out our gift shop, which is run by a nonprofit group called Friends of the Center!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (281)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"observation deck"
in 18 reviews
"gift shop"
in 25 reviews
"lake superior"
in 16 reviews
"feed the fish"
in 4 reviews
"northern wisconsin"
in 11 reviews
"local history"
in 11 reviews
"clean restrooms"
in 7 reviews
"walking trails"
in 9 reviews
"worth a stop"
in 10 reviews
"native americans"
in 5 reviews
"rainy day"
in 10 reviews
"apostle islands"
in 14 reviews
"edmund fitzgerald"
in 3 reviews
"degree view"
in 3 reviews
"interesting exhibits"
in 5 reviews
"viewing area"
in 3 reviews
"free museum"
in 3 reviews
Filter

259 - 263 of 281 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2012

Best place to start your trip around the area. Lots of info and the National Park Rangers REALLY know their stuff. Cute little gift shop.

Thank Stew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NGLVC, Public Relations Manager at Northern Great Lakes Visitor Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2015

Dear TWINSPORTS,
Thanks for visiting the center! We are so glad you had a positive experience with our staff, as we strive to make sure our employees are both friendly and well informed about the Lake Superior region. Thanks for checking out our gift shop, we are always trying to make sure we have items that are meaningful and relevant to the area. Thanks again for reviewing the Northern Great Lakes Visitor Center.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

This visitor center does an excellent job of interpreting the landscape, history, plants, and animals of this area near Lake Superior. The center is clean (good restrooms) with excellent exhibits that explain the landscape and history of the northern prairie and Lake Superior. From the top floor, you can step out on a 360 degree balcony walkway-- a spectacular view of farms, town and Lake.

Thank Bowiememe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NGLVC, Public Relations Manager at Northern Great Lakes Visitor Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2015

Dear Bowiememe,
Thank you for your positive review of the Northern Great Lakes Visitor Center! We are so glad you had a good experience here at the center, and that you found the opportunities to learn engaging and interpretive. The observation tower is a favorite for many visitors, we are happy to hear you liked it too! We hope you have a chance to visit us again, we are open all week 9AM-5PM!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Good resource for all things Lake Superior and recreational in the region. Small museum of the history of the area, with hands-on exhibits. Always staffed with at least one or two experts. Viewing tower and clean restrooms.

Thank WIGreatLakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NGLVC, Public Relations Manager at Northern Great Lakes Visitor Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2015

Dear WIGreatLakes,
Thank you for taking the time to review our center! We are glad to hear that you found our center cleaned and well staffed, as we always want visitors to have a positive experience with our employees and facilities. We are so pleased that you appreciated our exhibits and the interactive portions, as we are always trying to make learning about the region an exciting and fun experience. We are glad you got to check out our observation tower, which sports a great view of the surrounding region. We hope you get a chance to visit us again, and thank you again for reviewing us on Trip Advisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2012

The staff was very friendly and helpful with suggestions on sightseeing. Plan on at least 1 - 2 hours to see everything.

Thank benfris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NGLVC, Public Relations Manager at Northern Great Lakes Visitor Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2015

Dear benfris,
Thank you for your positive review of our center! We are glad our staff at the front desk proved helpful for you, as we strive to have employees who are friendly and knowledgeable about the Lake Superior region. We can see why you would recommend one to two hours for us, as we have a theater that plays films for free on request, an exhibit hall, observation tower, nature trails, and often free programs for the public! Thank you so much for your feedback and taking the time to write about us on Trip Advisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Northern Great Lakes Visitor Center also viewed

 

Been to Northern Great Lakes Visitor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing