We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated decor, but decent food and service”

The Breakwater Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 44 Restaurants in Ashland
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Strout
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Dated decor, but decent food and service”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

While the decor could use an update, the food was good. The Breakwater Burger is a favorite. Stick with the basics and you should be fine. Expect a first class steak? WHY would you think you would get one here? Look around! Think Burgers, Sandwiches, Breakfast items... Much better chance of getting a good meal.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank ItsJustMefromstrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    30
    15
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Drummond, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Lunch”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

The Breakwater is a great place to stop for a fast, simple lunch. There is something for everyone on the menu. They do a good job on most things and the servers are always friendly.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Wing, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
“The Disappointing Evening”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

This was the first time I had been to the Breakwater in a long time, and I will be surprised if I ever end up there again. To say the New York Strip steak was poorly seasoned would be a major understatement. The reality was that it had no seasoning at all. The New York Strip tasted as if it had been frozen, thawed and then refroze several times. My meal came with a side of potato (hash), a dinner roll (obviously not home made), and green beans (clearly canned). The hash browns were overcooked on the outside and under-cooked on the inside.
The only bright spot was the service. Our waitress was cheerful and professional.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Justin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“My Favorite in Ashland”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Breakwater has never let me down. The food is ALWAYS good, ALWAYS fresh and the pie is DELICIOUS!! Never have I been to a restaraunt where everyone is ordering pie. But I see why.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank imperfectlybeautiful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shakopee, Minnesota
Level Contributor
67 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Luke Warm Food”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Ordered the Beef Stroganoff... was luke warm at best... at same time, tasted like it had been cooked too long. Lemonade was good though.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Max G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Breakwater Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Breakwater Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing