We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Maple Scallops”
Review of Deep Water Grill

Deep Water Grill
Ranked #1 of 44 Restaurants in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Maple Scallops”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

A little pricey but try the maple scallops. To die for!!!! Being from thecentral part of the state I'm used to dark beers that are heavier and more filling and their beers tend to be lighter -even their version of a stout. I go here for the food not the beer.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank TLLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    114
    44
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
463 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“What a great surprise!”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We came back to our Ashland hotel (the Best Western, which was very good) -- after an awesome afternoon taking the ferry and riding mopeds on Madeline Island -- and asked at the desk if Deep Water Grill might be a good place to eat. It was a good sign that they said "YES!" It was easy to locate, parking was no problem, and we were seated promptly. We chose the upstairs seating, since it appeared to be a bit quieter and more private. It was. The service was excellent and the food was terrific. It was the only place I tried the Lake Superior Whitefish sandwich, and it was delicious. My wife loved the BBQ Waffle Fries. If you're in Ashland, I highly recommend Deep Water Grill.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank garbagecollector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good and thier micro beers are great!”
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Great place to go to eat and get a micro brew. Thier micro beers are very good! Atmosphere and service is always great.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
396 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Stop for the beer, food is solid as well”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I often stop here as I pass through Ashland. This facility has been producing solid beers for years, and they are currently expanding.

The beer menu always seems to have something new, there will likely be a style to please all. A real treat us the apple ale, when they brew it up.

During my last stop service was friendly and efficient as always. The pub area has a cool center bar with seating on the outer perimeter. I've never visited the restaurant area, but it looks welcoming.

Food has always been of good quality, although a little pricey.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jra3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mequon, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
176 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Big City Feel in Ashland”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

A very surprising architectural find. Very cool motif, decorations and colors. Food was very good and very reasonable. Very friendly wait staff. A very relaxing, enjoyable experience.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Deep Water Grill also viewed

 

Been to Deep Water Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing