We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western The Hotel Chequamegon
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ashland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“excellent stay”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

We wanted to get away for a couple nights...near Copper Falls State Park (must-see!!!) and near Bayfield (check out the beaches between Bayfield and Washburn). Best Western The Hotel Chequamegon in Ashland was an excellent choice. The room was clean, the deck for a perfect place to relax for cocktail hour and restaurant had an excellent whitefish wrap for supper! The lobby was quaint and nostalgic. The breakfast was a bit bland but had a neat pancake maker. Hotel staff were very accommodating.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank 494pattys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelChequamegonGM, General Manager at Best Western The Hotel Chequamegon, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
I am overjoyed to hear that your whole experience was excellent! Thank you so much for your business and choosing our property! I hope you decide to stay with us again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    219
    85
    48
    18
See reviews for
161
253
24
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2014

This hotel rates for me in my top two best westerns in the USA. I would certainly stay here again. The staff were great pleasant and friendly, the room was great, light and well appointed. The breakfast here was excellent didn't feel like an add-on. the quality of service was great with real plates and cutlery rather than the tyranny of the disposable that you might find in most breakfast rooms in this kind of hotel -

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelChequamegonGM, General Manager at Best Western The Hotel Chequamegon, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
I am thrilled to hear that you rate our hotel so highly! We try our best to have the best of everything here! I do hope you decide to stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Very pretty hotel loverlooking Lake Superior. We were very fortunate to have a corner room that night, which had a wrap around with lots of windows. This hotel has a historic grandeur that is hard to find.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Renee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelChequamegonGM, General Manager at Best Western The Hotel Chequamegon, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
I am elated that you found our hotel so charming! Our corner rooms do have fabulous views overlooking the lake and I am glad you got to enjoy one! I do hope you opt for us again when traveling!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2014

What a pleasant surprise this hotel is. It has a marvelous history and is a wonderful site. As soon as you walk through the entrance doors you know you have found a gem. The joy continues as you connect with the front desk. The trip over themselves to be of service to you. We had never stayed or heard anything about the location and now they have a new "Town Crier" to sing their praises. If you can, be sure to stay there.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank JPSmith1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelChequamegonGM, General Manager at Best Western The Hotel Chequamegon, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
I am overjoyed that you found every aspect of our hotel fantastic! Our staff is very personable and I am thrilled that they could be so helpful! I do hope that you come see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Hotel Chequamagon is a lovely place to stay. Nice to sit on the beautiful decks overlooking Lake Superior. Nice restaurant and lounge. Old historical building with many antiques in the lobby. We stay there when attending the Big Top Chautauqua in Bay Field, WI which provides a free shuttle to avoid parking problems.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelChequamegonGM, General Manager at Best Western The Hotel Chequamegon, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
I am pleased that you thought our hotel so lovely! Like you mentioned our decks are absolutely gorgeous and I'm delighted you enjoyed them! Please do come and stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WARRENS
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Enjoyed our stay in Ashland and at the Hotel Chequamegon. The weather was 90 degrees and humid. Entering the elevator was like entering a steam bath. The room was clean and nice. The air conditioning was a little too loud.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MICHAEL C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelChequamegonGM, General Manager at Best Western The Hotel Chequamegon, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We greatly appreciate you choosing to stay at our property and we welcome you back for another stay. Have a wonderful rest of your summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 25, 2014

This is a stunning hotel. We really enjoyed sitting on the the patio overlooking the lake. Beds were super comfortable and we all were able to get a restful night's sleep. Restaurant - good service and great food.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Dana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelChequamegonGM, General Manager at Best Western The Hotel Chequamegon, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
I am elated that your whole experience with us was such a great one! Our great location right on lake superior definitely allows for great views and relaxation, so I am so happy you got to enjoy it all! I hope you choose us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashland
2.3 mi away
AmericInn Ashland
AmericInn Ashland
#3 of 9 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn Ashland
Quality Inn Ashland
#5 of 9 in Ashland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
1.0 mi away
Super 8 Ashland
Super 8 Ashland
#4 of 9 in Ashland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Inn at Washburn
The Inn at Washburn
#2 of 2 in Washburn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
15.4 mi away
Old Rittenhouse Inn
Old Rittenhouse Inn
#1 of 15 in Bayfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
15.3 mi away
Lucy's Place Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western The Hotel Chequamegon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western The Hotel Chequamegon

Property: Best Western The Hotel Chequamegon
Address: 101 Lake Shore Dr W, Ashland, WI 54806-1646 (Formerly BEST WESTERN The Hotel Chequamegon)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Ashland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western The Hotel Chequamegon 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Best Western, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western The Hotel Chequamegon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chequamegon Hotel Ashland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing