We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western The Hotel Chequamegon
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Crest Motel(Ashland)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Bayview Motel(Ashland)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (718)
Filter reviews
718 results
Traveler rating
306
240
100
50
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
306
240
100
50
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful hotelmolly coopersbest westernsold world charmlake superiorthe lower levelwalking pathpancakeslake viewan older hotelsitting roomchequamegon baycomplimentary breakfastwonderful viewwhitefishnorthern wisconsinapostle islands
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
508 - 513 of 718 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Beautiful hotel. Very clean rooms and everything was delicious. We stayed here for when we visited the ice caves. Was about a 40 minute drive to Meyers Beach where the caves are located. We were surprised that they had some warm food for their breakfast. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paultammyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelChequamegonGM, General Manager at Best Western The Hotel Chequamegon, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Please do come and stay with us again! We love to have guests that love us! Please feel free to contact the property directly to schedule your next personalized stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

For couples this is the best place to stay. We have stayed at the Americinn. Rooms were moldy smelling and mold was on the bathroom tile. Very noisy. On trip advisor was given a 5 star. Wrong. Do not always believe Trip Advisor. Look at negative reviews first. Maybe ok for a family. Anyway-the hotel Chequamegon is the best place for couple. Quiet, clean, great service, bar, restaurant. The only complaint I have to make it they do need new pillows and had trouble with the heating system. But DO STAY here. Beautiful accommodations. GREAT PRICE. Great service.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank pchypie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelChequamegonGM, General Manager at Best Western The Hotel Chequamegon, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Thank you for choosing our property and I am happy to hear that your family enjoyed the stay! Housekeeping has won quite a few awards for cleanliness from Best Western. We are very lucky to have the staff we have; making our property exceptional. Please do keep us in mind the next time you visit Ashland!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Parking is poor and you must park off campus if towing a trailer. This policy is poorly managed. Street side rooms are noisy from traffic and the walls are paper thin. We will never recommend this hotel to our friends or business partners.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelChequamegonGM, General Manager at Best Western The Hotel Chequamegon, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

I apologize that we did not meet your expectations during your recent visit. Our parking lot is unable to accommodate multiple snowmobile trailers at once and I always recommend while traveling with a trailer to contact the property first to reserve a space. I further apologize for the traffic noise on the city side of the property. We do offer rooms on the lakeside as well which might be a better option for future visits to better suit your sleeping needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

overnight stay on way to ice caves in Bayfield. Room temp too hot. could not adjust via thermostat. Air conditioner option too noisey. Suboptimal electrical plugs available. Coffee maker without available plug. Otherwise, quite comfortable stay

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank tinytim2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelChequamegonGM, Manager at Best Western The Hotel Chequamegon, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. With a building as large as our it is really tough to heat or cool it successfully with large swings in the outside temperatures. Please do keep in mind that we are here to make our guest's stay the most comfortable possible and we do offer extra fans for cooling and extra heaters for warming. Thank you so much for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

What an awesome place to stay! The room accomodations were great. Clean rooms, nice sized and the amenities were great! The staff did an outstanding job keeping up with all the tourists. The cookies in the lobby were delicious and the breakfast was yummy! The view from this hotel of Lake Superior is beautiful! They have a nice sitting room off the lobby with a fireplace overlooking the lake. We ate at the restaurant and was pleasantly surprised at the quality of food and service. The meals were delicious and again the staff was super nice!

I would totally recommend staying here and I will be back in the warmer weather to kayak the sea caves. Thanks for making our visit wonderful!

Room Tip: We had two queen bed room and it was quite large and roomy:-)
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelChequamegonGM, General Manager at Best Western The Hotel Chequamegon, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Thank you so much for staying with us! I am pleased to hear that your entire visit was a compete success! I do invite you to come back to visit us any time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews