We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Property, Okay Rooms, Very Poor Night Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Vila Rica Belem
Ranked #26 of 35 Hotels in Belem
Reviewed January 31, 2014

I stayed at Vila Rica for one night for a long lay-over between flights. The big plus is that it's very close to the airport- I belive the taxi charge was 15R and it was less than a 5 minute drive.

The room was small and old with two small beds, but it was clean and perfect to catch some sleep. There is a very nice courtyard in this hotel to drink your coffee and have your breakfast.

Now here was the big negative: I found myself in a jam not being able to pay the taxi driver who drove me to the hotel because the money changing stations in the airport were closed, and the hotel staff refused to pay the driver and then add the money to my bill. The poor driver was standing there waiting for his payment, and I had no R to pay him with, and the hotel staff wouldn't help me by paying the driver and adding the cost to my bill. They said no several times and I continued to ask, and finally they pecked away at the computer for a few minutes. I asked if they were resolving it, and the lady looked up and said "nao". The manager also also refused to help. Finally I paid the driver in American dollars and had to overpay him for the trouble.

Beware guys, if you're going to stay in this hotel, have plenty of Reales and all of your ducks in a row, because should you find yourself in a special situation and needing their help, they will not assist.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossana M, Gerente geral at Hotel Vila Rica Belem, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014
Google Translation

Prezado Sr. Scott,

Ficamos desapontados em saber que não atendemos totalmente suas expectativas.
A Rede de Hotéis Vila Rica preza pelo bom atendimento ao cliente e pela qualidade de seus serviços.
A conduta apresentada por nosso funcionário não faz parte do padrão de atendimento da Rede Vila Rica. Por isso, posso lhe garantir que não tive conhecimento deste assunto.
Lamentamos o episódio e pedimos desculpas pelo transtorno causado.
Apesar dos nossos programas de treinamento, algumas situações fogem ao nosso controle, o que somente nos estimula a intensificar os mesmos treinamentos, pelo que não mediremos esforços para corrigir tais situações.
Portanto, gostaríamos de reiterar nossas mais sinceras desculpas, na expectativa que tal situação não abale sua confiança e o impeça de voltar a visitar-nos novamente num futuro próximo.
Coloco-me a disposição para eventuais considerações.

Cordialmente,

Rossana Meireles
Gerente Geral

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 12 of 161 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2013

The hotel's proximity to the airport is a plus if you're having a brief stay over at Belem's airport.The facility is very clean and feels like a remote residence despite it's in a busy area.
The restaurant was clean and very efficient.
Their waiting service was spot on,big guys that knew their job.
On all three occasions that I used the front desk their service was excellent.
I would definitely recommend a stay for business.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jerrybacchus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossana M, Gerente geral at Hotel Vila Rica Belem, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013
Google Translation

Prezada Sr. Jerry
Primeiramente agradecemos pela escolha do Hotel Vila Rica Belém
Ficamos satisfeitos em saber que conseguimos atingir nosso principal objetivo, que é o de lhe oferecer atendimento e serviços satisfatórios. Em sua próxima visita, não hesite em contribuir com sua opinião, pois é somente através da comunicação direta com nossos hóspedes que conseguiremos superar suas expectativas. São comentários como os seus que nos ajudam a aprimorar os nossos serviços e nos estimulam a nos esforçar cada vez mais para sermos merecedores da preferência de clientes como o Sr.
Em nome da equipe Vila Rica, agradecemos e esperamos recebê-lo em uma nova oportunidade.

Cordialmente,

Rossana Meireles
Gerente Geral

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We stayed here for a month while renovating a house nearby. The hotel has been upgrading the rooms over time so there is a variety available. The grounds are huge and there is a lake out back. Every evening swarms of parrots land in the trees surrounding the pool. The restaurant, bar and pool all make it a great place to relax after sightseeing. There is a food cart line up just down the street that offers local eats and snacks. Also a place called BacDonalds which makes awesome sandwiches. The hotel is outside the city but easy enough to get to and from by taxi.

Room Tip: some rooms have older AC units and bath facilities. If you don't like what you get make sure to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hockeyartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2009

This hotel is on the outskirts of the city and not at all convenient to the real hub of a beautiful city. It looks like a run down motel. My main problem is that they ripped me off through an on-line booking that I then cancelled, but is still charged to my Amex account...their on-line booking system is not to be trusted. I would advise taking in the real sights of this city and stay somewhere near the centre...where gracious old mango trees line avenues leading to the river and Belem really lives.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ruperto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2008

There are not too many choices in Belem. We stayed here for 10 days last year. Despite the dated, small rooms this place grew on us. It is minutes from the airport and not too far from downtown Belem. The hotel rest. is excellent. They will serve food outside poolside when the day cools. The beer was always freezing cold.
I really enjoyed staying here, the staff were all friendly and helpful especially Pedro, one of the night barmen. If I return to Belem soon, I will stay there again in a second!

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ednaneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LucianoViana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Tem um dos lados que foi reformado, peça por ele.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RoPandoldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belem hotels
0.0 mi away
Ibis Belem Aeroporto
Ibis Belem Aeroporto
#15 of 35 in Belem
658 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hangar Hotel
Hangar Hotel
#18 of 35 in Belem
170 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Belem Ananindeua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Ibis Budget Belem
Ibis Budget Belem
#14 of 35 in Belem
1,073 reviews
3.9 mi away
Zoghbi All Suites Hotel
3.2 mi away
Hotel Sagres
Hotel Sagres
#10 of 35 in Belem
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vila Rica Belem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vila Rica Belem

Address: Avenida Julio Cesar 1777, Belem, State of Para 66613-010, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Para > Belem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 35 Hotels in Belem
Price Range: $45 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vila Rica Belem 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over 30 years of leadership and a winning reference in the habit of serving well, the Hotel Vila Rica Belem, is located on Julio Cesar Avenue 1777, in the district of Val-de-Cans in Bethlehem. Our unbeatable location between the Val-de-Cans International Airport and Hangar Convention Center, surrounded by large green and private parking area make this hotel the most emblematic of the city. The rooms are spacious, welcoming and very comfortable. Still enjoying an excellent breakfast included in diaria.O Hotel Villa Rica is an ideal destination for business travelers and tourists. Within walking distance to the cultural, shopping and leisure, our hotel has simple and fast connections to the city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Vila Rica Belem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vila Rica Belem Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing