We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Local food at a perfect location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of La em Casa

La em Casa
Ranked #16 of 2,120 Restaurants in Belem
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Brazilian, Seafood, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
116 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great Local food at a perfect location”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Located right on the river in Belem in the beautiful estacao das docas mall, this restaurant has a nice menu of authentic traditional local foods. The dishes are very modern in their style and presentation however. I had the filhote croquettes with manioc flour and Jambu rice which is an herb that numbs your tongue as you eat. The fish had a perfect sear on it and was delicate and delicious and the presentation was amazing. The wine list is good as are the caipirinhas and the ambiance is nice-you eat outside right on the water, but undercover from the weather. We showed up on a monday night at 8:30pm and were seated immediately despite our party of 7. The only complaint I had was the service was a little slow and inattentive, but the food more than made up for it. highly recommend checking it out if you are in Belem.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aegir101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    300
    342
    94
    29
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Regional food at great place”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

The restaurant is well located at the Docas with an open air terrace and a great view.
The menue has all the typical reginal fish and vegetables anf fruit and you can try a degustation menue that will give you all typical fish from Amazone. Prices are acceptable but the final quality gives the impression that the effort is not so high any more given the preferred location.
It is still worth a visit given the location and the offer but expectation should not be too high.
Service was rather slow.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Yves-Ehlert-SP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
316 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“On the Docas in Belém”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

The docas are a a wonderful place to walk admiring the ancient yellow cranes and the fine restored warehouses that now house restaurants, shops, a theater, some history of the city and ATM's that will actually recognize your bank card. La em Casa is one of a couple of restaurants offering an extensive, if somewhat pricey lunchtime buffet of traditional food. A good place to recharge when wandering through the nearby cidade velha, the Ver-O-Peso market and the Forte do Presepio.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank ajaceman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thurso, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Fanatastic setting over the Amazon”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Didnt actually eat here - stopped twice for coffee and coke and just to sit outside and watch the world go buy - but this was a very busy popular place - shame i wasnt hungry due to the heat!! All the plates i saw looked good though!!! very appetizing!!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ThursoExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
94 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Super Disappointed”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

De acordo com o website o slogan deles é: "Gostoso como sempre", bom eu não sei qual a definição de gostoso para essa bandas do país....

De qualquer forma, o serviço não é bom, o Buffet é super limitado, principalmente não tem muitas opções de frios ou saladas. Sem dizer que o aspecto parecia ser velho ou de resto de ontem. O pratos quentes estavam também com aspecto ruim parece que tudo estava seco e visualmente falando nenhum pouco atrativo.

As poucas coisas que tive coragem de provar estavam horríveis. Porém, ainda não posso esquecer de mencionar um detalhe: mais salgado é o preço!!!!

R$ 44 por pessoa e inclui sobremesa, que eu nem tive coragem de provar....
um suco de laranja R$5 e
uma latinha de coca R$4.80....
três pessoas e a nossa conta ficou em Quase R$200.

Para o que nos foi oferecido, eu considero um assalto literalmente.

Posso dizer isso com certeza, por que nós três pagamos esse valor para comer no Restaurante Manjar das Garças, que fica dentro do Mangal das Garças. A diferença foi imensa, o ambiente e a qualidade do serviço sem dizer o "manjar dos Deuses" que estava a comida lá....levando em consideração o qualidade de lá em todos os aspectos até acho que o preço foi até acessível.

Então, se querem comer bem, não vão ao Restaurante Lá em Casa, que fica na Docas em Belém EU Não recomendo!

According to their website their slogan is: "Tasty as usual", I don't know what is their definition of tasty or delicious on this part of the country.....

Anyway, the service is NOT good, the self service buffet is very limited in choices, specially that they don't have many choices of salads and cold vegetables. Without saying that it looked old and from the day before. The hot food choices also had a awful aspect, like dry and visually unattractive.

The few things I literally had the courage to taste were terrible. But, I cannot forget to mention an important detail: the "salty" expensive price!!!!

R$ 44 (US $22) per person with desert, which I could not taste, disgusting! ...
Orange Juice R$5 (US$ 2.50) a glass
Can of coke R$4.80 (US$ 2.40)....
the three of us the bill was up to R$200 (US$100).


For what has been offered to us, I consider it as literally an robbery.

I can say it for sure, based in a previous experience we had, for the same amount we had lunch at Restaurant Manjar das Garças, located inside the Mangal das Garças. There was a huge difference, the ambiance and quality of the service, without mentioning the "manjar dos Deuses" - Food of Gods - they served there....taking into consideration the quality in all level I believe their price is fair!

So, if you would like to enjoy your food and spend your money accordingly, DO NOT GO to the Restaurant "Lá em Casa" located ate the Docas em Belém .... I do NOT recommend!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La em Casa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing