We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (402)
Filter reviews
402 results
Traveler rating
73
194
107
22
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
194
107
22
6
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 402 reviews
Reviewed January 26, 2018

The place gives value for your money: spacey rooms (nice bathroom, TV, AC, fridge, desk), stable wi-fi, sumptuous breakfast buffet (but the breakfast room looks like a low-ceilinged storeroom), terrific swimming pool, free stand-alone PCs in the lobby, helpful staff. Among other things, the hotel sports a travel agency, which is handy for booking city or river trips, even flights and hotels elsewhere. The place seems to be popular for functions, so sometimes there are a lot of people milling about, but that shouldn't affect your comfort in the room.
Sagres is NOT close to the city centre and old port, but there's a bus stop just 1 minute from the main entrance. Pick any bus that goes to Ver-O-Peso (the old market) for less than 2 reais. Take a bus back on the parallel avenida. The rodoviária (main bus station) is also nearby, but don't cover the short distance on foot after dark.
I really enjoyed staying here.

Room Tip: Ask for a floor as high up as possible and with city view (you'll see the sunset, alternatively a thunderstorm)
  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WilliamErwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2017

The hotel Sagres in Belem is a standard hotel that offers good value for money. The rooms are rather large, though quite carelessly decorated. The air condition just has one pre-fixed level (cold) and is very noisy (though this seems to be standard in Brazil). Also the rooms that face the street are very noisy. Ask for a room at the back of the hotel. They are more quiet and have a nice view to the pool area. Breakfast is ok. There is a choice of four different fruit juices (made of local fruits) as well as fresh fruits. Service is very basic. At times (during posted opening hours) it is impossible to order a drink at the pool bar. And even if, it takes forever to get the drink. We once ordered room service. The food was delivered without a word exchanged from the waiter. Well, nobody speaks English in this hotel. Its main target audience are domestic travelers and local conventions. The location is rather convenient. Uber takes you to the city center in 10 minutes and to the airport in 20 minutes.

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Markus K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2017

Is not a good option anymore. The rooms are not nice, the hotel is to old, to big. If you are looking for something better you could find better hotels for the same price.
The beds are not comfortable, the rooms are older than expected.
Not a good option. It is not even reasonable.

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jordiabv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2016 via mobile

Very average hotel, the rooms look like hospital and there is a heavy smell of cleaning chemical all the time. No shampoo and shower gel offered. Nobody speak English so it is not very friendly for foreigners, but I suppose all the hotels in the region are the same.The breakfast is ok. Tip: do not try the pizza!

Stayed: July 2016, traveled on business
Thank StamKary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2016

I stayed at the Hotel Sagres in Belem for a couple of nights only because friends had already booked and paid for this hotel. I had checked out of another hotel in Belem (that I also reviewed on trip advisor) after a very pleasant three week stay in order to join up with these friends, on their trip through Brazil. I found the service here was very efficient, from the front desk to the pool - side bar to the restaurant. The neighbourhood wasn't the best but if you were traveling by bus, it was right across from the bus terminal which was convenient for my friends passing through town. However, I never went for a stroll, other than to and from the taxi stand, so I wasn't too comfortable with the neighbourhood. The rooms are quite nice and big. What I enjoyed here, was the large and clean swimming pool situated on the second floor, wide open to the sun all day long. The restaurant was very good.
To get to the Placa de la Republicca was perhaps about a 10 minute taxi ride, during non-busy hours. No complaints about the hotel but I wasn't really there long enough to form more than a two day opinion - still I would recommend it to business travellers.

Room Tip: None that I can think of. I loved the shower in the bathroom - not sure if all rooms have the same type of shower?
  • Stayed: May 2016, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank see_all_world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews