We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Place to Stay”
Review of Pouso do Chico Rei

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pouso do Chico Rei
Ranked #27 of 87 Ouro Preto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Essex Junction, Vermont, United States
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Place to Stay”
Reviewed May 9, 2012

My wife and I recently spent a month traveling in Brazil. We stayed at the Pouso do Chico Rei for three days during our visit to Ouro Preto. We found the hotel to be comfortable, beautifully furnished with antiques and original art. Our room was excellent and we had a fabulous view of the city on two sides of the room. The hotel is small and intimate.

The staff was really, efficient, and friendly. They helped us plan our walking tour of the city, select restaurants, and arranged our transfers to and from the Belo Horizonte airport.

The breakfasts were excellent and the afternoon snacks and beverages were a real pick-me-up after a day of walking the hills!!!

The hotel is located right off the main square, on a quiet street, near all of the sights. We couldn't have had a better location. We recommend it highly for those who want to enjoy the colonial loveliness of Ouro Preto.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Pablo Neruda room and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KerryGarber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    63
    13
    7
    5
See reviews for
49
70
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We spent 3 days at the pousada in March. Pouso do Chico Rei is a very attractive historic building right next to the Igreja de Nossa Senhora do Carmo. It is a very quiet location but only a block from Praca Tiradentes and the main shopping street. The inn is full of character and style and all the rooms have interesting furnishings and art. The owners are very helpfull and friendly and even changed our tire for us when we had a puncture on the street outside. We stayed in room 7 which has great views and large windows. There are several good restaurants no more than a couple of blocks away. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in room No 7 which has windows on 2 sides and is very light and comfortable and has great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gibbons3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Best Pousada we had in Brazil, spotlessly clean, every room furnished differently with period furniture. Centrally located. Lovely dining room, and sitting room upstairs, excellent breakfast, (home made cakes) afternoon tea for when you come back exhausted from those steep hills.
Very welcoming and friendly, my partner was not very well for a couple of days ( too many caipirinhas) and we got looked after extremely well by the owners, with advice and medication even! Absolutely lovely.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank domitilla455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

We stayed in Chico Rei for 2 nights and 3 days.

Excellent breakfast, lovely room (7) and view, shower good enough, 2 great dogs, slept well, very near the main square, everything you want.

Had a nightmare journey to Ouro Preto (bus station was destroyed the night earlier so we were dropped somewhere else). We arrived before check in time but they did everything they could to make us welcome (let us put our bags in and hang around the pouso etc).

Excellent.

Room Tip: 7 was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

i stayed 4 nights over new years eve. I was in the single room and shared bathroom and although small it was funky and clean. The bathroom was kept spotless the whole day. It was very convenient to the celebrations in the main plaza, not to mention good position for sight seeing and restaurants. Just a fab little place.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sloaney66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2011

This has to be the best place to stay in Ouro Preto. A small pouso, each room full with period furniture, electic and clean. The staff don't speak a lot of english but do everything they can to get around that. Hughly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GriffinCarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

I read glowing reviews of Pouso do Chico Rei here at tripadvisor and I have to agree, it's everything I expected. Small, rustic, simple, and welcoming. It helps that I met other travelers.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danafer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ouro Preto hotels
Pousada Classica
#3 of 10 in Ouro Preto
470 reviews
Hotel Luxor Ouro Preto
#6 of 10 in Ouro Preto
192 reviews
Hotel Solar Do Rosario
#2 of 10 in Ouro Preto
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Pousada Casa Dos Contos
Pousada Casa Dos Contos
#5 of 10 in Ouro Preto
220 reviews
Pousada Mezanino
#29 of 87 in Ouro Preto
143 reviews
City Center
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#19 of 87 in Ouro Preto
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pouso do Chico Rei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pouso do Chico Rei

Property: Pouso do Chico Rei
Address: Rua Brigadeiro Musqueira 90, Ouro Preto, State of Minas Gerais 35400-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Minas Gerais > Ouro Preto > City Center
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Ouro Preto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pouso do Chico Rei 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Historic Inn located within the most architecturally significant baroque city in the world, identified as a World Heritage Site, designated by UNESCO. THE CHICO REY INN offers 6 APARTMENTS with PRIVATE BATHROOMS (with electric shower), WI-FI (in rooms # 2, 3, 6, 7 and # 8), CABLE TV (in # 8 and # 9), MINI BAR, SAFE and another 3 ROOMS with a SHARED BATHROOM, located next to each other. For our guests’ convenience, we provide bathrobes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pouso do Chico Rei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pouso Do Chico Rei Ouro Preto, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing