We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old fashioned elegance” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Solar Do Rosario

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Solar Do Rosario
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Ouro Preto
Drammen, Norway
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Old fashioned elegance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

Perfect central location. Beautifull building and room. Helpfull friendly staff.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank norwaycouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    238
    46
    11
    14
See reviews for
162
347
7
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed there for 2 nights in February. We are travelling for 5 weeks in Brazil.
I am thinking that a hotel is only as good as the room you are given. We had a small room on the top (third) floor overlooking the street, which could be noisy at times, with a king bed. The bathroom was small and shabby with need of refurbishment. There is no air conditioning, however the situation of the town is high on a hill and it was cool at night. The reception staff spoke a little English, which we found to be a problem at times. We liked the restaurant very much. Having stayed in other countries in true 5 star hotels, I certainly cannot call this hotel 5 stars. It is probably the best or one of the best in this charming city but by hotel standards in general I can only say it is 3 stars.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toronto_Princessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

We decided to visit this beautiful city again with our children. We had stayed there 4 years ago and were very pleased with the location and the hotel itself. we had to book two conjoined rooms, since they did not have one that could fit the four of us. It was a good choice. We had rooms facing the patio and they were both quiet and comfortable. The air conditined system was not working, but it wasn't a problem. Even though it was January - summer in Brazil - it was cold at night and we didn't need one. The staff was very friendly. Breakfast was also great.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelmomwith2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
146 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2011

Just spent 3 nights at the Solar do Rosario, and really enjoyed it. The previous review did a nice job of covering alot of the pluses. Let me add a couple more. We stayed in a suite that was off of the courtyard. Very spacious room, and a modern bathroom with jacuzzi tub. It was worth the money. There's a small mini-bar fridge in the room, but has enough room to add your own water bottles and wine (not sure if all rooms have, or only suites). Based on other reviews, we specifically asked for a room not facing the street, but facing the courtyard. The room was free from street noise. Depending on when you go, ask about air conditioning. The original room that we had booked did not have any, so we were offered another suite. The days were warm, so the A/C was very nice to have. Lastly, we ate breakfasts and 2 dinners in the hotel restaurant. It was really outstanding. The dinner wait staff was exceptional, and the food was very good as well. Prices were comparable to other nice locations. All in all, we would highly recommend, and stay there again.

Room Tip: Get a courtyard facing room if you don't want to hear street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GraceM100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
106 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

We did a trip around Brazil, and this one was, by far, the very best hotel we stayed at. It was just amazing how great the staff is and the installations. It is the very best! Below are my impressions:

(a) location: ideal. It could not be better!!! It is very good located, and you can reach any place by foot very easily. The restaurant area is just 5 minutes away walking (and it is very easy to get there, as, although Ouro Preto is full with steep streets, the one that leads to downtown is pretty flat). There is a gorgeous church just in front of the hotel, which is lit up at night and makes a great atmosphere to zip a drink in the lobby enjoying the great views!;

(b) common areas: gorgeous. Every thing is decorated with such a good taste, with candles lit at night and some modern touches. The lobby area is specially inviting, with comfy couches, newspapers and magazines...just perfect!;

(c) breakfast: the very best we had during our stay in Brazil. Very high quality products, with plenty of very friendly staff always looking after you and offering you warm "pan de queijo", all of this being displayed in the former old kitchen of the house (beautiful!!). A good way of starting the day;

(d) pools: there is an exterior pool (which we did not use, as it was a bit cold when we were there...it is pretty small, though) and a covered heated pool with jacuzzi (this one is of a good size...perfect to relax after wondering around Ouro Preto!);

(e) internet: there are computers with internet access and free wifi througout the hotel;

(f) rooms: we had one of the standard rooms, and it was, again, very nicely appointed, with high quality linens and amenities. The bathroom had antique tiles, which made us feel as if we were stepping back in time, but all very nicely kept and maintained; and

(g) staff: very, very friendly and helpful. The ladies serving breakfast are so nice...always smiling!!! In addition, the lady at the front desk (can't remember her name) was great, also very attentive and friendly. Congrats for having such great staff!

Conclusion: if you are going to Ouro Preto, choose this hotel. You won't go wrong. We stayed at quite a number of hotels whilst in Brazil, and this was the very best!

Room Tip: There is a main building (which is the real old part of the hotel) and one smaller newer building (w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CanarioViajero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasil
Level Contributor
43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

We have choosen this hotel for our 6th aniversary celebration. The suite is very well appointed and in great shape. Very good king size bed and Nice old fashioned tub! The restaurant is ok with good service. Pool service hás To improve

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eduardocmeira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2011

The building is impressive and the lobby is nice. Rooms are very small, but for a short stay- adequate. Shower in the bath and the bath were good. The heating/airconditioning system was a mystery.
The breakfasts were very nice- a good selction with many home made breads and cakes and excellent fruit. Dinner was expensive and the intention was good but execution slipped. My rare steak was well done- perhaps lost in translation?
The biggest problem is the location. It is quite a hike- 10 mins at least from the main areas, which does provide some respite from the crowds, excpet the street outside makes sounds echo. And it appears to be THE street in which marauding gangs of students like to sing and shout at all hours of the night and morning. Sleeping is NOT possible.

The swimming pools- indoor and outdoor- looked nice. Too cold for outdoor and who knows hwo to get to the indoor since it had no obvious change rooms and there were no gowns in the rooms.

Surprisingly the interent speed was once of the highest I got in Brasil- approaching 1Mbps. Although it was meant to work thoughout the hotel, it dnt and reception in my room dropped in and out all the time. It was free however.

If one has to go to Ouro Preto- and Im not sure why one would- one should expect an anachronistic hotel and that is what you get!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SBN18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ouro Preto hotels
Hotel Pousada do Arcanjo
#1 of 10 in Ouro Preto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Grande Hotel de Ouro Preto
#4 of 10 in Ouro Preto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Pousada Classica
#3 of 10 in Ouro Preto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Luxor Ouro Preto
#6 of 10 in Ouro Preto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
City Center
Pousada Casa Dos Contos
Pousada Casa Dos Contos
#5 of 10 in Ouro Preto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Pousada Do Mondego
#7 of 10 in Ouro Preto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Solar Do Rosario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Solar Do Rosario

Property: Hotel Solar Do Rosario
Address: Rua Getulio Vargas 270 | Bairro Largo do Rosario, Ouro Preto, State of Minas Gerais 35400-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Minas Gerais > Ouro Preto
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Ouro Preto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Solar Do Rosario 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Solar Do Rosario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Solar Do Rosario Ouro Preto, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing