We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel, very professional management”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Solar Do Rosario
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Ouro Preto
Reviewed September 4, 2011

The hotel has a very open and nice lobby, the rooms are not very big but they are very pretty with all the modern amenities that you can expect.
The management is very nice and friendly.

The best is for the sure the 2 swimming pools in the roof garden, the view is stunning and one of the pool is heated. After a day walking in Ouro Preto it is delicious!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank genious44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (750)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

104 - 110 of 750 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay in this hotel. It's a lovely colonial building which has been beautifully converted. The staff are very friendly, the rooms lovely and the restaurant is superb.

Room Tip: The newer rooms are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PTLondonSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2011

The hotel's common areas were wonderfully appointed and comfortable to hang out in. The staff was helpful and most spoke great English and indulged our poor Portuguese. The multiple levels have interesting views from all around the city. The only drawback to our room was that the wireless did not quite reach it and often the bandwidth seemed overstretched.

Room Tip: At the Deluxe level ask for the Courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sierratravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

Stayed there 3 nights in october. I had booked a "luxo" room. When we arrived, the room was ready and right in front of the street....well, it was just impossible to sleep as the street, even being a little bit away from the busy city center, is still busy and noisy at night.
On the next morning I asked for changing and as the hotel was full, I was offered a junior suite way more expensive. I agreed as I really wanted to sleep. The room was really good although a bit overpriced.
It looks like the rooms were really good....10 years ago, but as the paterns changed, it looks a little bit old.
The hotel is overall charming, very nice decoration, well located and with a good breakfast.
The restaurant is really good too.
You can really do everything by feet.
The swimming pool is not that good. (one outdoor which is small and one indoor with a very strong smell of the cleaning product)

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexandre92100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2010

We found Ouro Preto a real highlight of our trip to Brazil, including this being one of the best hotels we found in the country. The hotel is an old converted colonial house, and period features are all intact, however the necessary modcons are all in place. The room was small but well fitted, with a good AC system (necessary as it is VERY hot and humid in Ouro Preto). The bathroom was large, with a good shower, also important!
The hotel has a great pool and jacuzzi, that we were lucky enough to have to ourselves.
We found the staff to be helpful, friendly and English-speaking, which is a rarity in Brazil, and our Portuguese was bad, so this is a real bonus.
The breakfast was great - handmade. with a good selection, and served in a pretty setting.
Overall, this was a lovely stay and it was a shame to leave after one night. We didn't try the restaurant for dinner, but by all accounts it is one of the finest in Ouro Preto.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GC75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2008

We booked this hotel based on the previous reviews, and it definitely did not disappoint. It is a great hotel with all of the amenities of one in a larger city.

The hotel is currently (as of July) finishing up a huge renovation project. Thus, the lobby is spectacularly new, as is the restaurant and nearly all of the guest rooms. They have a gorgeous property that stretches from the cobblestone street up the hill, all filled (or soon to be) with amenities. However, they are not quite finished yet, but should be shortly. This meant that the pool, spa, formal restaurant, parking lot, and uncovered mine shaft were not open yet. This was slightly disappointing, but it was clear that when opened, it would be truly a luxurious property.

The rooms were beautifully decorated and newly renovated. However, they were definitely on the smaller side. Many of the rooms have small balconies that overlook the street, and have decent views of Ouro Preto. The bathrooms are also modern and extremely clean.

The service was excellent. The entire staff was friendly and eager to help out. We even had a personal tour by the manager! The staff at the restaurant for breakfast were excellent as well. Although the selection of breakfast was limited, the quality was high. And, I must agree that the omelets were superbly made!!

Finally, the location was ok. Not bad, but not great either. It is definitely a good 10-15 minute walk to the plaza (uphill), and it can be challenging given the altitude of the town. It was within walking distance, but definitely a little far removed from most of the main sights.

Despite its location, this hotel was great, and would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simpv21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2008

I first stayed in the Solar, alone, in 1998. The location, far from Praça Tiradentes, was inconvenient. My room was small, though nicely furnished, and the bathroom was tiny. The hotel's saving grace — indeed, its glory — was its restaurant: Le Coq d'Or was among the finest eateries I had ever dined in.

Le Coq d'Or was the main reason I booked the Solar for my wife and me in 2008. Alas, the restaurant had closed in July 2007 — for reasons I was unable to discover.

Our room was the same (small) size as the one I'd had ten years earlier — very cramped for two people.

Service is first–ckass; rooms are kept spotless; and the complimentary breakfast is adequate. (The omelets, prepared over a wooden stove, are exceptionally good.)

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank nedhop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ouro Preto hotels
Hotel Pousada do Arcanjo
#1 of 10 in Ouro Preto
551 reviews
Grande Hotel de Ouro Preto
#4 of 10 in Ouro Preto
496 reviews
Hotel Luxor Ouro Preto
#7 of 10 in Ouro Preto
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Pousada Casa Dos Contos
Pousada Casa Dos Contos
#5 of 10 in Ouro Preto
240 reviews
Pousada Do Mondego
#6 of 10 in Ouro Preto
229 reviews
City Center
Hotel do Teatro
Hotel do Teatro
#8 of 10 in Ouro Preto
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Solar Do Rosario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Solar Do Rosario

Address: Rua Getulio Vargas 270 | Bairro Largo do Rosario, Ouro Preto, State of Minas Gerais 35400-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Minas Gerais > Ouro Preto
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Ouro Preto
Price Range: $109 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Solar Do Rosario 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Solar Do Rosario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Solar Do Rosario Ouro Preto, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing