We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent lunch”

Restaurant Casa Do Ouvidor
Ranked #9 of 410 Restaurants in Ouro Preto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $38
Cuisines: Brazilian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Wollongong
Level Contributor
129 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“An excellent lunch”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

A group of four of us visited the Casa do Ouvidor on the advice of a local guide. The building itself is a treat with beautiful wooden floors and classic full length windows leading to a view of the cobbled street. The selection of food was excellent and the cuisine is very different for visitors from Australia. The service was also first class and despite us having no Portuguese, we were able to communicate quite well.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    403
    353
    127
    29
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Annandale, NJ
Level Contributor
158 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Wonderful food!”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I love black beans and rice and this restaurant, located just off a side street from Tiradentes Square had some of the best black beans and rice I've ever had.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Patricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
126 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Classic Comida Mineira”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

If you want to experience the classic dishes of Mineira Gerais, this restaurant is the place to go Having won several awards for their regional cuisine the setting is quite nice. Candle light and table cloths can make for a romantic evening.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dentdoctraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
's-Hertogenbosch, Netherlands
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“good Mineira food and attentive waiters attaract crowds”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

My husband an I had lunch at this restaurant; as it was Sunday afternoon the place was crowded with especially Brasilian families that were visibly enjoying their meals. We immediately felt at home. One dish is meant to serve two, but we discovered that in practise it can feed at least three. We loved the Mineira dish with meat, rice and potatoes: not very refined, but the meat is of excellent quality.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarjetB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“You must go”
Reviewed June 14, 2012 via mobile

Excelent food and service. Nice atmosphere and well located. Please ask for a nice beef with mushrooms. And 1 dish serves two.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Makstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Casa Do Ouvidor also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant Casa Do Ouvidor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing