We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only five-star in Belo Horizonte and I can understand why. However, eventually some other hotel will open a 5-star.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ouro Minas Palace Hotel
Ranked #3 of 119 Hotels in Belo Horizonte
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Even if some hotel chain opens the "second five-star" hotel in Belo Horizonte, the Ouro Minas will always be my favorite. There were some minor flaws in my stay but I noticed that action was taken immediately. Perhaps the only fault that I can see is that the hotel seems to be the favorite for conventions, shows, etc ( and rightly so because their installations can handle them quite well) so the frequent business traveler sometimes gets forgotten behind the big groups. When I checked into my room the check in procedure could have been faster considering that I was the only guest at the counter. All of my checkin data was correct though. In my room I found the bed table drawer full of trash. This is not pardonable and is a big housekeeping error.
There was no room service menu.
There was no television channel or hotel guidebook in the room.
The instructions for the air conditioner located next to the thermostat said "select 1,2 or 3 on the panel next to the bed. However, this must have been before the room was renovated ( and when it had the panel) because the panel does not exist and there are no instructions on how to turn the air conditioner on or off now.
As always ( amd I always recommend this to fellow travelers "WRITE A GUEST COMMENT TO THE HOTEL IN THE ACCOMDATION RESEARCH PAPER". This is what gets their attention. Complaining verbally to a desk clerk goes in one ear and out the other faster than a speeding bullet!
I have chatted with hotel employees here and they are ubdoudtedly the most dedicated and satisfied hotel employees that I have even seen.
WARNING, The hotel water in my room 315 was perhaps without a doubt the hottest shower hot water that I have even seen ( the Pousada da Alcobaça in Itaipava is the other one) so BE CAREFUL!
I actually made tea with the water out of the tap!
Downside: since I speak five languages fluently I had no problems communicating with the staff in Portuguese, but I had the impression tha those guests thare are unfortunately linguistically- challenged and assume that every waiter has to speak English ( or worse try to speak Spanish in Brazil) might not be able to communicate with the service staff so easily. I should think that language training for a half a dozen employees would be easier and more benficial than trying to train the masses of hotel guests!

Room Tip: Try it you should like it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 7,727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OuroMinas, Assistente de Marketing at Ouro Minas Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2014

Dear Guest,

First, we appreciate your comment and your considerations. They help us improve our services and products continuously. Be assured that your comment will be passed to all managers involved so it can be analyzed and appropriate action taken.

The hotel provides in all rooms a directory with all the necessary information for a good hosting, including a TV channels guide, as well as the Pillow Menu with 10 different options.

We look forward to welcome you again soon so you can check all the new things we made from comments like yours.

Kind regards,
Rebecca Freitas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,523)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

104 - 110 of 3,525 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2012

I've stayed here at least 9 times , my job makes me stay there!! The rooms are clean but not a five star,and the service is also poor,and the hotel restaurant is very bad, a shame they call themselves a deluxe hotel,beware of the prices ,they charge as if they really were a superior hotel ,they are not.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manelCarcavelos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OuroMinas, Assistente de Marketing at Ouro Minas Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2014

Dear Guest,

First, we appreciate your comment and your considerations. They help us improve our services and products continuously.

Be assured that your comment will be passed to all managers involved so it can be analyzed and appropriate action taken.

We look forward to welcome you again soon so you can check all innovations we made from comments like yours.

Kind regards,
Rebecca Freitas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

This is definitely not a 5-star hotel, despite how it is advertised. The rooms are dated and worn. The restaurant is overpriced and not very good. The hotel is far from the downtown area, which is inconvenient.

The room was clean. The bed was very comfortable. The shower got good water pressure, which you could adjust with the knobs. Room service was prompt. Lots of taxis.

Although this is not a luxury hotel, it was a decent hotel. It was also the best of the 3 supposedly "nice" hotels I've stayed at in Brazil.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apf_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OuroMinas, Assistente de Marketing at Ouro Minas Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2014

Dear Guest,

First, we appreciate your comment and your considerations. They help us improve our services and products continuously.

We've just passed a major revitalization: the hotel has gained a new facade and new spaces for events. The rooms are more comfortable and modern as well and our health center is shiny new!

We are only 7 km from the center of BH and 9 km from the Savassi region. For the happy hour, a good tip are the bars and restaurants of Alberto Cintra Avenue. It is just three minutes from the hotel and it is full of options and beautiful people as well as the bars of the south-central region.

We look forward to welcome you again soon so you can check all the things we made from comments like yours.

Kind regards,
Rebecca Freitas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I know a few Summit Hotels and this is one is definitelly out of its league...
Try calling any service and you will suffer from endlessly unanswered ringing.
Air conditioning? Old equipment can be really noisy, if it works!!
Bathrooms? 20-yrs "or plus" old...
Do not get fooled by stars... this is not a 5-stars hotel...

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank I-Pay-I-Must-Get
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OuroMinas, Assistente de Marketing at Ouro Minas Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2014

Dear Guest,

First, we appreciate your comment and your considerations. They help us improve our services and products continuously.

We've just passed a major revitalization: the hotel has gained a new facade and new spaces for events. The rooms are more comfortable and modern as well and our health center is shiny new!

We look forward to welcome you again soon so you can check all innovations we made from comments like yours.

Kind regards,
Rebecca Freitas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Terrible location, miles away from anything that matters. Rooms are small and noisy. Décor is like travelling back in time to 1991. Toiletries? There was one tiny soap bar and that was it. This hotel is far worst than the worst of Holiday inn's, but they will charge you US$400. Wanna a bucket of ice? They'll charge you an extra twenty bucks. Now, the icing on the cake was coming across numerous sex professionals on all public areas. Honestly, staying at this place will ruin your trip to Belo Horizonte. You will be better off staying at a cheaper hotel in the Savassi neighbourhood.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank EdwardRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OuroMinas, Assistente de Marketing at Ouro Minas Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2014

Dear Guest,

First, we appreciate your comment and your considerations. They help us improve our services and products continuously.

We've just passed a major revitalization: the hotel has gained a new facade and new spaces for events. The rooms are more comfortable and modern as well and our health center is shiny new!
Furthermore, in the rooms are offered at least 8 complimentary amenities, according to the category of the apartment.

In Belo Horizonte, we are the closest to the Confins Airport, 7 km from the center of BH and 9 km from Savassi region. In addition, we are strategically located on the way to the historic cities of Minas Gerais, Inhotim museum, and to natural attractions such as caves and the Serra do Cipo.

As for the professionals mentioned, the Ouro Minas does not offer this kind of service far less condone such. Any action in this regard is unacceptable and must be assessed so that necessary arrangements can be made.

We look forward to welcome you again soon so you can check all the things we made from comments like yours.

Kind regards,
Rebecca Freitas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We travelled as a group of 20. At arrival nobody bothered to help us with the luggage although at least 6 hotel employees were standing around. Although our rooms had been booked 8 months ahead they were not able to issue the rooms according to the people who were booked in but mixed everybody up. One room was not even ready at 9.30 pm!! The Aircon did not work in several rooms. The wake up call came 15Minutes early but the phone rang 4 times. Again at checkout several hotel employees watched us carrying our suitcases to the bus, without offering any kind of help
They did not seem to be professional or organized 

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cariocaHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OuroMinas, Assistente de Marketing at Ouro Minas Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2014

Dear Guest,

First, we appreciate your comment and your considerations. They help us improve our services and products continuously.

We have a team of Bell Captains and Bell Boys exclusively available to assist guests with luggage. What may have happened is everyone being committed at the time of your arrival. As for the staff at the entrance of the building, they are valets and, for security reasons, they are not allowed to take care of guests' luggage.

Anyway, be assured that your comments will be passed on to all managers involved to be analyzed and appropriate action taken.

We look forward to welcome you again soon so you can check the actions created from comments like yours.


Kind regards,
Rebecca Freitas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

The location isn't in the heart of Belo Horizonte but have a great acess to the rest of the city. The bar is nice and the lobby is very beautifull. The bed and pillows was amazing and I had a great great night sleeping there. The service wasn't quite good for a 5 stars and the room service was better than in this stay. The breakfast is amazing but have a beauty parlor near the restaurant and the smell of hair is terrible and the noise. Please, someone close or move that beauty parlor from there!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victor N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
natalie p, Public Relations Manager at Ouro Minas Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2012

Thank you for your comment!

It’s very important these reviews for improvement of our services and to make sure that we are doing the best for our guests.
When you came back, enjoy to know the our Restaurant International Quinto do Ouro, we always have the suggestions of the chef and food festivals.

You are always welcome in Ouro Minas Palace Hotel.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belo Horizonte hotels
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Belo Horizonte Savassi
0.1 mi away
Ramada Encore Belo Horizonte Minascasa
4 mi away
Royal Savassi Boutique Hotel
Royal Savassi Boutique Hotel
#8 of 119 in Belo Horizonte
1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Belo Horizonte Othon Palace Hotel
Belo Horizonte Othon Palace Hote...
#17 of 119 in Belo Horizonte
1,688 reviews
4.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Belo Horizonte
Radisson Blu Belo Horizonte
#4 of 119 in Belo Horizonte
749 reviews
4 mi away
Royal Golden Hotel
Royal Golden Hotel
#5 of 119 in Belo Horizonte
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ouro Minas Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ouro Minas Palace Hotel

Address: Avenida Cristiano Machado 4001, Belo Horizonte, State of Minas Gerais 31160-413, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Minas Gerais > Belo Horizonte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Belo Horizonte
#1 Romantic Hotel in Belo Horizonte
#1 Family Hotel in Belo Horizonte
#1 Business Hotel in Belo Horizonte
#3 Green Hotel in Belo Horizonte
Price Range: $71 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ouro Minas Palace Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 346
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ouro Minas Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ouro Minas Palace Hotel Belo Horizonte, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing