We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with a nice atmosphere in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Liberty Palace Hotel
Ranked #75 of 118 Hotels in Belo Horizonte
California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Hotel with a nice atmosphere in a great location”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We were reminded of the good old days when we walked into the lobby of this hotel. A footman took care of our luggage and the black suited staff at the front desk were friendly and efficient with the check-in.
The room was small and furnished in typical Brazilian style with two single beds (not what we reserved), but clean and reasonably comfortable.
Overall we were happy with the friendly and helpful staff and our choice.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelprofi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    54
    20
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
19
7
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ronneby, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
871 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 401 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

This hotel has a very luxurious lobby which greets you well. The rooms are not bad either and are above average (even if we discovered a large ongoing(!) wall repair behind the bathroom door). Free welcome drink upon arrival was a new experience for me. Most likely you will get a view into another building even if the hotel has 10 floors. The breakfast was average - not very rich but good enough. I would hesitate to use the restaurant for dinner since the settings are quite boring and gives associations to a school dinning hall. No views. It is also the first time I see a door knob sign like "do not disturb" intended for hanging on the door regarding needed maintenance (!) of the room. Nevertheless - this hotel is a good chioce!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dgjohansson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

The lobby is quite nice the breakfast was good, and the beds were comfortable enough, but I had a major problem with the cleanliness in my room. It all looked fine, but when I was close to the floor to pick something up I noticed that the carpet was FILTHY, like maybe hadn't been vacuumed in a month. There were actual toenail clippings and weird hair clumps (could there have been a cat in there? unlikely...) and obviously that was disconcerting. When I told someone at the front desk about it, he said OK, asked for the room number and said they would send someone to vacuum while I was out. However, he did not once apologize or seem surprised by my complaint. I was staying there on someone else's dime for business, so I didn't leave the hotel, but I would not go back. Also it was really expensive! I think my room was around 220 american dollars which is completely inconsistent with the value (at least from what I'm used to in the states). Additionally, you have to call the front desk to get an internet password, but they neglected to tell me that I would be paying for the service, so that was a nice surprise when I checked out.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cecigold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2010

For the last year-and-a-half, I have stayed at the Liberty Palace Hotel almost every month, while traveling on business with clients. From the reservations department clerks to the front desk, porters, management and other staff, I can honestly say that they make their guests feel welcomed and well catered to. I have come to know them on a first-name basis: Charles, Amarildo, Roberto, Lívia and so many others. They speak English well, and, more than just accommodate a guest's requests, they show the guest that they -want- to help. For instance, they can even assist you when your credit card unexpectedly gets blocked by your bank, due to your bank's fraud-prevention program. They can place the call to your bank, from the front desk—quickly. That is a HUGE help, when you are traveling in Brazil with a credit card that was issued at your country of origin. In sum: wonderful staff, excellent amenities, comfortable, safe, great location in Belo Horizonte and not too expensive, by local pricing. All this while still preserving some old-world charm. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin, USA
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2010

I chose Liberty Palace based on location and the good and trusted reviews.

I was perfectly content at the Liberty Palace. A pleasant and helpful front desk. A fantastic breakfast (wish i hadn't gotten up with only enough time for a quick bite and glass of juice, i could have stayed enjoying the spread much longer!) and good location just around the corner of a busy street (all streets in Belo are busy ones.) made access easy for drivers.

Staff were wonderful, food very good, as well as the internet connection. All in all, a very pleasant stay. No complaints. Not my favorite hotel - but i think that's just because i don't care for hardwood floors... but certainly no where near the bottom of my list. A sound choice in Belo Horizonte.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwibeandip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2010

The advantage of this hotel is the location right in the middle of the city. However, it well and truly needs an upgrade. The rooms are dark, the breakfast very modest, and the atmosphere rather dismal. It has obviously seen better days.

Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank saintvalentine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colares, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2010

We stayied at the Liberty Palace for two nights at the beguinning of our trip in Minas Gerais. We haven´t any reason against the Liberty Palace, with free internet, good breakfast. We didn´t eat at the hotel but outside at Dona Lucinha where they have very good food typical from Minas. So the location is also good. We didn't walk very much at BA once is a modern twon built to be the capital of Minas Gerais at 1890 and at 1940 Oscar Niemayer beguns working there before Brasilia. The jewls of the portuguese crwon were the other towns. For us the Liberty Hotel is very good to stay when you arrive directly to th Belo Horizonte airport.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elica49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belo Horizonte hotels
0.1 mi away
Promenade Ianelli
Promenade Ianelli
#61 of 118 in Belo Horizonte
184 reviews
0.0 mi away
Max Savassi Apart Service
Max Savassi Apart Service
#20 of 118 in Belo Horizonte
657 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Belo Horizonte Savassi Hotel
Mercure Belo Horizonte Savassi H...
#32 of 118 in Belo Horizonte
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibis BH Savassi
Ibis BH Savassi
#21 of 118 in Belo Horizonte
1,503 reviews
0.2 mi away
My Place Savassi Hotel Boutique
My Place Savassi Hotel Boutique
#62 of 118 in Belo Horizonte
102 reviews
0.2 mi away
Promenade Pancetti
Promenade Pancetti
#49 of 118 in Belo Horizonte
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liberty Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liberty Palace Hotel

Property: Liberty Palace Hotel
Address: Rua Paraiba 1465 | Savassi, Belo Horizonte, State of Minas Gerais 30130-148, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Minas Gerais > Belo Horizonte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Belo Horizonte
#26 Business Hotel in Belo Horizonte
Hotel Class:4 star — Liberty Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
O Liberty Palace Hotel e o mais bem localizado hotel de Belo Horizonte, situado na charmosa regiao da Savassi a 100m do Shopping Patio Savassi, e proximo ao maior Centro Cultural de Belo Horizonte, a Praca da Liberdade. Conforto e requinte em apartamentos finamente decorados. Ambiente silencioso e aconchegante para o seu perfeito descanso. Excelentes acomodacoes, aliadas ao atendimento eficiente e amavel fazem do Liberty Palace Hotel a melhor opcao para sua hospedagem na cidade. Estacionamento e internet WIFI gratuitos para hospedes. Perfeita estrutura para seu evento corporativo com salas amplas e modernos equipamentos. Equipe bem treinada com grande experiencia na realizacao de eventos empresariais. Restaurante proprio com cardapios elaborados e diversificados de almoco executivo, jantares, coffee break e coqueteis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Liberty Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liberty Palace Hotel Belo Horizonte, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing