We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hostel and average experience”
Review of Bonito Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bonito Hostel
Ranked #2 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Bonito
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 2, 2012

I am travelling with a friend and we came from the Santa Clara lodge in the Pantanal (amazing!) to and lived at the HI hostel.

We were here in the high season (end december/start january) and the price for a dorm was 38 real per person. It is fairly expensive compared to eg. Argentina, but I think that for the season, it was ok compared to similar places.

The biggest positive thing about the hostel is the staff. There are always lots of staff in the reception, their english is excellent and they are more than helpful.

The dorms are alright and fairly spacy. Can't complain about anything there.

The pool is good and the pool area is nice with sunbeds for free. They also have a laundry area where you can wash your clothes for free and hang them in the sun. This was a big plus for us since we are backpacking and hadn't really washed our clothes in three weeks!

The location could be better, but the walk into town is peaceful and takes around 15 minutes. They have bikes that you can rent - I think that it's 6 real per half day. When we booked our bus ticket from here to Campo Grande and had to go down into town to pay, they let us loan the bicycles for free for just an hour or two.

We took two tours: Rio de Peixe and Boca de Onca. I can recommend both. I would vouch for Boca de Onca if I were forced to choose, though. They are rather expensive, but so are all tours in Bonito. With both tours came a nice buffet lunch with salads, meats and some brazilian dessert. The lunch at Boca de Onca was incredible.

They have a kitchen in the hostel which you can use, but they also have staff who can cook for you and serve some basic dishes. We tried their mega cheeseburger which wasn't bad for about 12 real. A little greasy though!

All in all it's a fine hostel. The staff definitely made it a great experience. But the price and location forces me to give it three instead of four stars.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlexanderKinnunen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 2, 2012

You can not compare prices of Argentina with prices of Brazil ! In Brazil we pay many taxes but Brazil has excellent economy. In Argentina and some other Latin American countries are always in crisis and the prices are low because the countries are poorly governed. Fortunately Brazil is better. Thanks - Luiz Campos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (758)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 758 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2011

In my experience, tourism is in its infancy in Brazil and the professional standards of many of those running this industry are not good. Having travelled (Dec 2010 and Jan 2011) in Argentina, Chile, Bolivia and Peru as well as Brazil, I can say that the most dishonest people I came across were in Brazil, at this hostel.

The Rio de Prata tour is wonderful, but what Marcello doesn't tell you is that on the way, you'll be taken to another place where you will be asked to shell out another 25 Rs to visit the place. You will pay for the Rio de Prata tour, but later, when you come to pay your final hostel bill, you will be charged extra for the transport to Rio de Prata.

On booking a trip to the Pantanal at the Santa Clara lodge, I was not told that the service at Santa Clara was totally different depending on whether you booked for a room or for camping. In fact the rooms are over 300m from the camping and all meals are separate. The lower quality of the meals, no access to the swimming pool, and unclean surroundings made for a completely different experience. Marcello and Bruno never explained this to me at the time of booking. I was charged 385 Rs for two nights and three days, which was around 100 Rs too much. They ask for a cash payment and do not give you a receipt. The Santa Clara managers were unsympathetic and blamed the Hostel people for profiteering from the travellers.

Also, the use of the word 'ecological' is a misnomer since there is nothing ecological about this hostel. A lame attempt to label rubbish bins differently has been made, but no one takes any notice. It's just a regular hostel. Finally, the ancient gas showers are frightening! There is a note to keep the window open (in case of gas leaks). The internet was more or less useless.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank chicaing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 2, 2012

You can not make comparisons between Brazil with other Latin American countries. Brazil today has the best economy because we pay high taxes. You should not compare countries of AL with countries in Europe and USA, because here we are another culture and developing countries. The Bonito HI Hostel is not owner of any tour, we only keep local and law rules of the Bonito tourism that preserves nature with security for visitors. In his Pantanal tour you choose camp site because the price is low, it is obvious that everything is separated, as the campground has its own infrastructure and the lodge another infra. Since 2001 some showers are gas and there was never an accident. Since 2001 some showers are gas but there was never an accident. There is no request to leave windows open! There is a request that turn off the gas after the shower, only. You must learn that the world's different cultures, different customs, different costs, different infrastructures. If everything were equal we would die of boredom.You should also understand that if you buy a cheaper tour (camping), you'll have less stuff included. Thanks, Luiz Campos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2010

The hostel is a little inconveniently located, outside of the main town and the rooms aren´t great. The private room I booked was very basic, with an extremely loud air-conditioner and a shower that provided an electric shock every time I turned it on or tried to adjust the water temperature. Breakfast was also very basic. On the plus-side, the staff were nice and helpful, particularly with booking tours.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Braziltraveller2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luiz C, Gerente at Bonito Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Sorry for the delay in responding, but we do not believe Stayed at Bonito HI Hostel, must have been another because in 2010 all the showers were a gas.It is impossible to take shock with gas shower. Also, all our accommodations are big, there is no small rooms. Luiz - Bonito Hi Hostel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2008

The hostel is on the outskirts of Bonito (easy walk or bike ride into the centre). The hostel provides bikes for free use in the town, be warned they are dodgy & uncomfortable though!

The staff are very friendly & knowledgeable about activities in the area. You get HI discounts on activities booked through the hostel. There´s free internet (capped at 1/2 hr daily) and kitchen. Breakfast is basic and the rooms are ok but could be cleaner.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashah_008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luiz C, Gerente at Bonito Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013
Google Translation

Hi - agradecemos muito por ter escolhido o Bonito HI Hostel e pela sua avaliação que nos motiva a melhorar ainda mais nossos serviços e infraestrutura. Esperamos você em uma próxima oportunidade. Felicidades, sucesso e abraços da equipe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2008

The hostel has a nice outside sitting area and a pool. The rooms are basic. Breakfast is OK. Showers are either very hot or cold. Staff is nice and helpfull.

The hostel lies a bit outside the main center of the town, but as the town is small, you can still easily walk to the center. If you prefer to cook, there is a supermarket nearby.

Try to get a room in the back, they are quiet. In the front they tend to be more noisy.

The big issue is what to do in Bonito (there are various trips (also offered by the hostel), which are all relatively expensive). If you want to go snorkeling, go to Rio Prata, it is better (and warmer) than the Rio Sucuri. On the way there, we also saw tucans, armadillos and macaws and on the way back a tapir trying to cross the road.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Holland_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 2, 2012

Here is a Hostel not Hotel with stars, we have basic infrastructure to continue with low rates. Some people do not know about hostels. Thanks - Ivete Telles.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Luana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luiz C, Gerente geral at Bonito Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Soraya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luiz C, Gerente geral at Bonito Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bonito hotels
City Center
Pousada Caranda Ville
Pousada Caranda Ville
#17 of 19 in Bonito
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Pousada Surucua
Pousada Surucua
#2 of 19 in Bonito
734 reviews
Pousada do Peralta
#14 of 19 in Bonito
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bonito Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonito Hostel

Address: Rua Doutor Pires 850, Bonito, State of Mato Grosso do Sul 79290-000, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Mato Grosso do Sul > Bonito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Bonito
Price Range: $21 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Economic rates, attendance with guides speaking english and spanish, couple/ familie rooms with private bath, shared rooms with private bath, swimming pool, sumbathing area, free Wi-Fi zone, game-room with Sky HD TV, restaurant/ bar, breakfast buffet self-service, pool table, open "small" kitchen (fast food), laundry and delivery cheap laundry, tourism office that organized all Bonito and Pantanal tours, cheapest and shared transportation to the tours, bikes and aquatic cameras for rent, fresh and green area to relax with hammocks, camping area, safe parking area for cars, trucks, buses and motor-home, night security guard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Bonito Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bonito Hostel Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing