We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“About time!!”
Review of Mainstreet Ed's

Mainstreet Ed's
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Argonne
Cuisines: American, Pizza
Restaurant details
Rhinelander, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
425 reviews
304 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“About time!!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We'd been hearing about this place for sometime from one of my foodie, buds. Said it had terrific food. Argonne is smaller than small and Main Street is one block long with Ed's and another restaurant right next door. How small is Argonne. Comparing it to Eagle River is like comparing Wausau to Milwaukee!! It contains two large rooms, one for just dining and the other with dining and a bar.....that you can it at as well. It is well decorated in Northwoods style with light tongue and groove paneling. You can buy shirts. The food was as advertised; excellent! I had an Argonne Burger and passed on some of the specials which looked terrific as well. The burger was 10 oz and the price more than reasonable. We appreciated the waitress who was patient, helpful and had a great sense of humor. The other dinners included a young couple with 2 small children as well as some older folks and all looked like they were enjoying themselves. We are going back ASAP to try some of the other dishes on the menu. It is hard to find a value like this anyplace.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TLV007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    14
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
62 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best value in the North Woods”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Amazing restaurant and incredible value for what you get. First went after Valentines Day in 2012 for a birthday dinner. Fantastic, well-done food. Nothing fancy, but for the price, you don't need fancy. Always a ton of nightly specials and the burgers and sandwiches are always good. Good service, clean dining room. Have been back a couple of times and have never been disappointed.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EMMMilwaukee_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laona, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Great!”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Its an amazing place! evey one needs to go there! we always go there! the people are all oh so very nice, there food is amazing. People there are never ever ever rude, and thats hard to find now days! i love going there, its my favorite place to go!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chloe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laona, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of Forest County's Hidden Treasures.”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

If you want a great meal at a reasonable price. Stop here! Everything on the menu is delicious.
No need to dress up - come hungry and leave happy:)

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“BEST BURGER IN WISCONSIN!!”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Wow!! You want to be hungry for a burger when you stop in at Mainstreet Ed's in Argonne! Ask for the Argonne Burger and you will be asking for the #1 Burger in the State of Wisconsin (in our opinion at least) . It's big, juicy and filling, comes with fries and only $6.50. Delicious!! Burgers are not what you are looking for? Everything on the menu looked absolutely mouth watering, but personally I went for the Broasted Chicken. Amazing dinner which included mashed potato, stuffing and gravy and corn bread with honey for $9.00 or so. We were complete strangers to this wonderful little establishment and although we live a couple hundred miles away, we will ABSOLUTELY stop back in. You walk in a stranger and walk having made new friends! The place may be rustic, but GREAT food, wonderful people! We can't say enough!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Alice A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mainstreet Ed's also viewed

Been to Mainstreet Ed's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing