We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good and not much more.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel The Sun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel The Sun
Ranked #36 of 56 Hotels in Brasilia
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
134 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good and not much more.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

This hotel is located near the lake, but this is the part of the lake you would not like to have a walk... just rubbish and bushes. As many places in Brasilia this hotel is only accessible by taxi.
Hotel is new - or parts of it are new, it consist of few separate building - each with own reception.
Rooms are comfortable, with a little sofa and kitchenette. Internet was working. My room was definitely not a brand new, but friends who stayed in the different part of the hotel had a better rooms, so it looks like they are refurbish this place. If you need an plug adapter make sure you bring one with you, the reception was not having any. Only one person at the reception spoke English.
Breakfast was good, lots to choose from and fresh juices, coffee, tea etc.
What I found a disadvantage was the lack of bistro or a restaurant or even just a cafe, they offer food (via room service) but as I was told the food is ready&frozen, so kind of ready meals that they only make hot... If you have time it is worth taking a walk 7 minutes to the resort nearby where they have a nice bar and restaurant just on the lake bank.
Overall a good place for stay (value for money) but don't expect to much :)

Room Tip: block 2 is probably the oldest one
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kotbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administração H, Assessora de Imprensa at Hotel The Sun, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thank you for your assessment! In fact, The Sun is an express type hotel, which offers services related to short stays. As a result, each room has a mini kitchen and the option of supplying its minibar with top-quality items, such as frozen foods from Toque Gourmet, for meals in the rooms.
Regarding our location, Hplus has other hotels located in more central regions of Brasília, closer to bars and tourist attractions. It will be a pleasure to have you once again in Brasilia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    151
    76
    29
    22
See reviews for
56
78
22
165
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

Hotel está novo, tudo muito limpo, cama pequena para casais de grande estatura. Café da manhã bem razoável. Nada de comércio próximo, mas andando um pouco a pé uma churrascaria,Potência Grill, a mais ou menos 1 Km, outro restaurante próximo é o Ki-Mukeka, comida baiana(peixe)
Hotel is new, everything very clean, small bed for a couple of great stature. Reasonable breakfast. Nothing next trade, but walking a little a grill, Potência Grill churrascaria, more or less 1 km. It is another restaurant near the Ki-Mukeka, Bahian food (fish)

Room Tip: Em frente está o Bay Park. In front is the Bay Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarceloParise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

This is a brand new hotel with very modern rooms. The rooms have a little sitting area and a kitchenette with microwave and fridge. The bathrooms are small, but nice. Rooms are very nice! Surroundings of the hotel are nice, pool is small but big enough I guess. Breakfast was good, but we got there late one morning and there were no tables available and food was running out. Reception was helpful and spoke English. The only disappointment was that there was no service at all in the room. No cleaning, no new towels! We had to call reception to get new towels, which we got within 10 minutes. But also no cleaning of the bathroom in the 3 days we were there. The price is very competitive I would say. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sieniemienieusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administração H, Assessor de Imprensa at Hotel The Sun, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Google Translation
Agradecemos os elogios e avaliação do The Sun. Pedimos desculpas pelo transtorno causado.

A limpeza dos quartos/banheiros é sempre feita diariamente.

Caso a situação se repita em nova estadia, pedimos, por gentileza, para entrar em contato com a recepção para o atendimento imediato. Estaremos a sua total disposição.

Será uma honra recebê-la novamente.

Atenciosamente,

TheSun/Hplus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

A good choice for a business trip. It is very clean and new. The apartments have a good space and are quiet. The staff was not so polite with our group. The wifi was very unstable. There were two treadmills on the fitting room, but one was broken and I did run outside during my stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rveiga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

If I were in Brasilia for a few days on a budget vacation with my family, had a car, spoke Portuguese and was prepared to microwave my own meals or drive to restaurants, this would be a good apartment. For a business traveler without a car, it was terrible. It is far from any shops so not appropriate if you do not have a car. The complex seems mostly unoccupied and is made up of several apartment blocks within a fenced compound. When I arrived at night, they took me in an electric cart for a long drive to my apartment block and I had no idea how to get back to the reception building - it turns out if I went out the back door of my building and walked across the courtyard, I would be at the back door of the reception in one minute, and I could have at least had a microwaved dinner that night (too late for room service). As a woman travelling alone, I did not feel safe wandering in the dark around the complex looking for reception, and it would have been very good if they had provided a simple printed map of the property. The check-in was incredibly inefficient and took 45 minutes even though there were only two of us checking in at the time. The desk clerks spoke no English and tried to get me to pay for the room again even though I had a prepaid reservation.

There are no services for food or drink except a room service menu (which had already closed for the night when I arrived) and a freezer of microwave meals in the lobby that you could buy to heat up in your apartment. The breakfast has a small selection of fresh fruit, cheese, ham plus cereal and fresh breads. There were scrambled eggs that were cold because no flame had been set under them, and a sausage dish that looked very unappetizing. Adequate but not very good. It was in a separate building from where my apartment was, which meant walking in the rain to and from breakfast.

The rooms are plain but new and clean. My small apartment was one big room crammed with a bed, desk, kitchen and sofa, including a useless and space-consuming partial wall between the bed and sofa. The window and sliding door to the tiny balcony did not lock. There was only cold water in bathroom and kitchen sinks. The shower was lukewarm at the hottest setting. There was a small microwave but no kettle or cups to make tea or coffee. There were 2 plates, 2 glasses and few pieces of cutlery but no cooking or washing-up facilities. Bottled water was only available at the lobby.

After one night, I had the conference organizers who booked my trip move me to another hotel that had full services and was more appropriate for a business traveler.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brasilia hotels

Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

It is new and clean. The apartments are nice and good. There is also a nice swimmingpool.
Location is not so good, but in Brasilia you need a taxi to go anywhere.
The breakfast was good. The Free WiFi is very very slow. But you can pay for a little quicker internet.
Brasilia is just an awful place. We used it as a travel hub and fortunately stayed only 24 hours.
It lacks almost everything. No charm, no atmosphere. If you like well organized cities with a lot of space and high buildings and no traffic problems maybe you will like it.
Ok you will see a few nice buildings but not really more interesting than in an average big city to be honest. The taxi drivers are useless and try to rip you off. Almost nobody speaks another language than Portugues !
Use it as a travel hub but dont plan to visit it for other purposes.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jreurings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lamorlaye, France
Level Contributor
255 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

don't hesitate to drive some km to exit Brasilia downtown and go to this quiet place : close to the laguna water side, this hotel is very confortable, in a very safe location, with a beautifull swimming pool to refresh you at the end of the afternoon, a beautifull garden, room very confortable, good breakfast, very good hotel, very very quiet and safe...

Room Tip: ask for a room with pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivier P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brasilia hotels
1.5 mi away
Golden Tulip Brasilia Alvorada
2.0 mi away
Intercity Brisas do Lago
Intercity Brisas do Lago
#24 of 56 in Brasilia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
7.4 mi away
Quality Hotel & Suites Brasilia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Royal Tulip Brasilia Alvorada
2.8 mi away
Windsor Plaza Brasilia Hotel
1.4 mi away
Brasilia Palace Hotel
Brasilia Palace Hotel
#5 of 56 in Brasilia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Sun

Property: Hotel The Sun
Address: Setor Shtn Trecho 2 Lote 4, Brasilia, Federal District 70800-220, Brazil (Formerly The Sun Premium Resort)
Location: Brazil > Federal District > Brasilia > Asa Norte
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Brasilia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel The Sun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 572
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
572 rooms | Located in the Hotels and Tourism Sector of Northern Brasilia, Transamerica Classic The SUN is 1.3 km from the Presidential Palace and 19 km from the Presidente Juscelino Kubitschek International Airport. The hotel is near Lago Paranoa, a region of easy access to major points of the city. Accomodations Altogether there are 572 apartments, all with balconies. Accommodations range from 30 to 99m2, with choice of one double or two single beds. Some units come with chair-bed or sofa bed to accommodate a third person. Some suites have a double room united with another with two single beds and can accommodate up to 4 people. For those who like space, some units have antechambers, providing the best guest comfort for long stays. The hotel is divided into ten blocks with four floors each and all are equipped with LCD TV, air conditioning, safe, hair dryer, workstation, wi-fi, kitchenette with microwave and breakfast counter. A complete structure for your stay. Service For your comfort and well-being, we have restaurant, room service, parking lot in underground floor, laundry room and messenger. Leisure The outdoor area provides good moments of pleasure to guests, with two swimming pools, one of them heated, a children's pool, playground, gym, rest area in the gardens and in the hall of each block, and a large outdoor area that gives the hosts a walk for Brasilia's hot nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel The Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel The Sun Brasilia, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing