We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay in this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Apartments Brasilia Lider
Ranked #20 of 57 Hotels in Brasilia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 3, 2014

The hotel is good, I don't have anything bad to say about it. But the location of this hotel is appalling: there are no sidewalks nor public lighting in the North Hotel Sector. It looks like an abandoned city (and Brasilia really is an abandoned city, due to the horrible politicians that have been elected there).
Right in front of the hotel there is a BIG pool of MUD! And if it's not raining, there will be lots of DUST!
This happens because, in the North Hotel Sector, there are many empty plots waiting for someone to buy them and build a hotel in them. And these plots are not taken care by the administration of the city. So drivers park their cars there and this process destroyed the grass. So you'll find nothing but the characteristic red earth of Brasilia! The balcony marble of my room was even red due to the huge amounts of dust!!!
In the back of the hotel there are trash cans which are overloaded with garbage so it falls out of the can and it just lies there on the ground. There's a stretch of the road without pavement behind the hotel, so you get more mud coming from it. There's also an abandoned gas station behind the hotel. The view is really not pleasant.
I understand that these problems are not a direct responsibility of the hotel. But if all the hotels of the sector got together and demanded the proper urbanization of the area, they could get something done by the mayor. After all it's not that complicated or expensive to plant grass, place some obstacles against cars to protect the green area and build some meters of sidewalk.
I suggest that tourists coming to Brasilia choose any hotel in the South Hotel Sector. Since the South Sector is older, there are no empty plots there and the structure is complete.
I was with a foreigner friend and I never felt so ashamed in my life when we got out of the hotel just to see a giant pool of red mud. Don't stay here until the area is properly urbanized.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jocaxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agattiboni, Gerente geral at Mercure Apartments Brasilia Lider, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Dear Joca, good morning.

Thank you for express your opinion.

All hotels have asked the local government about urbanization measures. Yesterday they fixed the public lighting.

We try to contact with the empty plots owners but untill now we have no return.

If you have any contact in government or plots owners please let me know and help us with these questions.

Best Regards

Raphael Martini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,666)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Apartments Brasilia Lider
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

58 - 64 of 1,666 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2014

When my travel agency booked two nights at this hotel during my business trip to Brasilia, I was expecting the typical level of Mercure/Accor: nothing special, but nothing too bad. After my permanence at the hotel, I was really disappointed by the quality of everything. 20 minutes of waiting time for the check-in, a very small room with the washbasin outside the bathroom, gloomy corridors with tapestry in decay, the slowest WiFi I experienced in the last 5 years in an hotel. But the cherry on the cake was during breakfast. On the tables they use to put paper placemats that, as everyone might expect, get wet with coffee 'that falls from the cups and from the drops of juice that inevitably fall from glasses. Well, when a person finishes his breakfast, instead of replacing this paper towel, a waiter arrives and he just brush out the crumbs... with the result that the new customer is found to have breakfast with the placemat all wet from the previous people. That's orrible.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jerry-Janko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agattiboni, Gerente geral at Mercure Apartments Brasilia Lider, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Dear Jerry, good morning.

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Brasília Lider. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Best Regards

Raphael Martini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

The hotel is recently renovated and the service is very good. There is a Mac Donalds attached to the door and the hotel is a short walk from Brasilia mall (however, at night, if you are alone not a very safe walk because there is people begging for money). Wi-fi is excellent, the restaurant offers an interesting menu and wines are at a very honest price, as well as the food, considering the high costs of food in Brasilia. Rooms are comfortable and spacious, as well as the bathroom and the amenities are excellent. Nevertheless, there are some annoying details that need to be taken care of, since the hotel was recently renovated and is advertising its condition in order to get more guests: for me, even though new, and located in the balcony, the a/c was very noisy, it is a paradox in fact, in the room the a/c is quiet but the machine outside is so loud that you hear the machine even if the windows are really closed; the worst, however, were the towels. At my first day they were so old, that they were ragged and had several holes, but were clean. At the second day, towels were new but were stained. I figured it was a burn from ironing, but felt very umconfortable. Luckily there were two bath towels and I used the other one which was ok. However, if you are aiming, as hotel, a certain standard, you should be more attentive. I almost gave the hotel a 3 due to the towels, but since all the other staff and stay were pleasant I decided to keep my 4, but with some thought.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CristinaSPaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agattiboni, Gerente geral at Mercure Apartments Brasilia Lider, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear Cristina, good morning.

Thank you for sharing your experience.

I am really sorry about the towels and A/C equipment. I will check and solve this issues.

We hope to better serve in the near future.

Best Regards.

Raphael Martini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel twice since November.
The hotel is clean, rooms spacious, staff friendly and in a good location.
Both times the hotel messed up my reservation though, so it might be a good idea call to reconfirm before you go.
Recommended for business travelers.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zephne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agattiboni, Gerente geral at Mercure Apartments Brasilia Lider, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Dear Zephne, good morning.

Thank you for sharing your experience and recommendation.

We hope to see you soon.

Best Regards!

Raphael Martini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
agattiboni, Gerente geral at Mercure Apartments Brasilia Lider, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank kazoku
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
agattiboni, Gerente geral at Mercure Apartments Brasilia Lider, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Similar to a Courtyard. Good location (near a mall). Beyond the basics, I look for good wifi (which is not always easy to find in Brazil) and hotel exercise facilities. The wifi at the hotel was good but NONE of the exercise equipment worked and it's not in location where you can easily go jogging outside...

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank WorldTravelerMTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agattiboni, Gerente geral at Mercure Apartments Brasilia Lider, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Dear Traveler, good morning.

Thank you for sharing your experience.

I am sorry about the gym. All equipment has been revised.

Best Regards.

Raphael Martini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brasilia hotels
St Paul Plaza Hotel
#17 of 57 in Brasilia
2,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Melia Brasil 21
#10 of 57 in Brasilia
2,675 reviews
Manhattan Plaza
#14 of 57 in Brasilia
2,531 reviews
Asa Norte
Saint Moritz Hplus Express
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Apartments Brasilia Lider? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Apartments Brasilia Lider

Address: Quadra Shn Quadra 5 Bloco I | Asa Norte, Brasilia, Federal District 70705-090, Brazil
Location: Brazil > Federal District > Brasilia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Brasilia
#10 Business Hotel in Brasilia
#11 Luxury Hotel in Brasilia
#12 Family Hotel in Brasilia
Price Range: $53 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Apartments Brasilia Lider 4*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
269 apartments in the hotel. The Mercure Apartments Lider is located at Asa Norte, 2 kilometres from the city centre and 14 kilometres from the Brasilia international airport. With modern architecture, the hotel features a restaurant, a bar and a business centre. The hotel also offers guests a swimming pool and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Apartments Brasilia Lider reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Apartments Brasilia Lider Hotel Brasilia
Accor Apartments Brasilia Lider
Mercure Apartments Brasilia Lider Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing