We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum!”

IL Angolo Resto-Bar
Ranked #53 of 367 Restaurants in Appleton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

This is one of the best meals I have ever had. I first need to warn you, the portions are very very big. They have great appetizers...three of us shared 3 and then each got a salad. We were full before the salads arrived! Regardless, the service was terrific and food was outstanding. Will definately return.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank StephD0205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    21
    7
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dover, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“How can you not rate IL'Angolo 'Excellent'”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

It is striking to me that some have rated this restaurant so low. Having eaten in restaurants all over the country, as well as in many other countries, I will tell you that IL'Angolo has some of the finest food anywhere. The chef here has a great sense for complimentary and unique flavors.

It is a bit of a standing joke at my company. Whenever I visit our Appleton area office I must have at least one meal at IL'Angolo. This past week I was in town again so we dined one evening here. Not only was my meal great, it was the best I've had at this restaurant (of about 4-5 visits). I am shocked at how empty the place can be yet the food is oh so good. For the life of me I cannot figure that out. I am never in town on a Friday or Saturday evening so maybe it is busier on those nights.

Regardless, I urge you to try the amazing food at this venue.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MtnHiker54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our "Anniversary" Place!!”
Reviewed March 9, 2012

We choose to go to Il Angolo EVERY YEAR for our anniversary. We've been each year (with one exception- one year we spent it at a Bed and Breakfast in Sturgeon Bay!) for the past 5 years that we've lived here in Appleton, and it's only gotten better with each visit. It's quietly romantic, we love the "simple/elegant" decor, the location is delightful, (across the street from the library!) , and the food and service are terrific! (We've enjoyed meals in some pretty great restaurants all across the country, having lived in 11 different states and visited many more over the course of our 25 year marriage. IL Angolo measures up very nicely with some of the best!) I recommend IL Angolo to everyone who wants a special place to enjoy a wonderful meal...WE think it's the BEST RESTAURANT in Appleton!!
-Margaret, Appleton

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serenetartine
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hire a bartender please!”
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Lots of potential! Courses took too long but were delicious. Service was a bit too casual for a fine dining restaraunt and hefty price tag. Also, I have noticed over my two visits that the waitstaff make their own drinks, I watched several drinks being made incorrectly/ or taking a LONG time to come to our table. If you are not going to pay a bartender please train your staff properly.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank serenetartine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milwaukee
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best food and service ever!”
Reviewed January 24, 2012

A wonderful restaurant with amazing food and service. The menu was an eclectic mix of Mediterranean recipes for any taste. The food was perfect, the atmosphere modern and prices were fair. A stunning dinning experience that we plan to repeat!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed IL Angolo Resto-Bar also viewed

 

Been to IL Angolo Resto-Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing