We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A True Royal Jewel in Appleton”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Franklin Street Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 5 Appleton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A True Royal Jewel in Appleton”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This is an amazing Bed and Breakfast. We enjoyed the Turret Suite with it's Royal touches. It was absolutely beautiful and peaceful. Judy was a gracious host and her cooking was fantastic. We enjoyed an onsite massage. Delightful!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank History-Staycation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    10
    2
    4
    3
See reviews for
40
109
12
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fond du Lac
1 review
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Our stay at the Franklin Street Inn in Appleton was magical while staying in the "Turret" Room. We were able to shut the outside world out and just enjoy the enchanted surroundings of the room. The decor in the room made us feel like royality and we were able to relax in every little nook that was in this suite. Our hosts Ron and Judy made us feel very welcomed and comfortable upon our arrival. They were readily available if we had any questions or concerns. The breakfast was full of flavor, hot, and presented in a most delicious way. It was a treat to enjoy the breakfast in the turret.
There was absolutely no complaints. They had detailed directions for the spa, fireplace, and CD player in the room for reference which was very helpful to have for reference.
We would recommend this royal experience and we would go back again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara, WI
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

My husband made a surprise reservation for our 27th anniversary 5 days in advance. We used a credit card to secure the Grand Suite with an in room hot-tub. The ad says "Where Royal Treatment Begins!", and the photos of the rooms looked gorgeous. I read your reviews and was a little leery of the few bad reviews, but was excited and looked forward to being treated royally. Check in was for 4:00 so we decided to get to Appleton and do some shopping at the Mall first. We live 3 hours north. When we arrived we found a hand written note stuck in the door of the Inn saying, "Due to unforseen circumstances, we had to change your room to our other Inn just around the corner. The keys will be in the mailbox." So we drove around the block and entered the other Inn. There was no one there to greet us. It is a beautiful home and very clean. We went to our room and used the whirpool tub, which was a treat. We then made a reservation for Appollos, a FANTASTIC Mediterranean Restaurant, which was recommended by Judy. We had a superb meal with great service, reasonably priced. We returned to the Inn and found yet another handwritten note addressed to us stuck to our room door. It said, "Because of trouble with flight connections, Judy will not be here to make your breakfast, we're sorry for the inconvenience." I didn't know what flight connections had to do with our breakfast, but this certainly wasn't the "Royal Treatment" I was hoping for! We saw no one the rest of that evening nor the next morning. We found a microwave and some tea bags at the end of the hallway which we used in the morning. When we returned home by the next afternoon, I found 5 phone messages from Judy on our answering machine (because it was supposed to be a romantic weekend, we didn't turn our cell phones on). At approximately 8:00 p.m. that night Judy called us and spoke to me non-stop about all her issues that week. They were apparently on a cruise and missed their connecting flight to Chicago which is why she "couldn't provide us breakfast". Her Inn sitter had a "handicap" (in her words) and wasn't able to cook for us. She also explained why our room was switched to their Durkee Street Inn. Their pipes had burst in the Franklin Street Inn while they were away. She made it clear to me that the room she gave us was an "upgrade" and that we wouldn't be charged the $16 that counts toward breakfast. She was very clear that if we paid with our charge card we would absorb her "commission fee". She wanted us to clear up the charge by the following day as it was "the end of the month". She actually tried to make it seem she did us a favor and that she kept her end of the bargain. She summed it up by saying, "You got to go to Paris!" (That is the name and theme of the room) Well, I'm very disappointed and will never return to this Inn. We made the best of our weekend in spite of the "NON Royal treatment"!

Room Tip: I would NOT recommend this Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 11, 2013

This was my wife and my first time at a B&B. We were up to see the Packers beat the Vikings. The room was very nice. We had a huge jacuzzi tub that two above average adults can fit comfortably into. The food was unbelievably good! We hope to be back for another Packers victory!

Room Tip: Get the one with the big jacuzzi tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin2152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitewater, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This is my 4th stay at the INN in 2 years. Again, it was wonderful! We were completely spoiled with the Turret Suite! It has everything for a romantic anniversary weekend! Judy made sure breakfast was perfect. She had my favorite drink in the fridge ready for me. She is always friendly. It's close to downtown so we could walk to places, yet you don't feel like it's a downtown area. The room was beautiful with it's own charm. Everything was so nice.

We will continue to use this Inn every time we go to Appleton!!

Room Tip: Depending on your budget and what you are there for. For business, I pick the smaller room because I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frugalmommie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Home away from home . . . if my home had someone who brought me coffee and breakfast in the morning. Beautiful inn, comfortable bed, great breakfast and a hostess who goes to great lengths to make sure your stay is perfect in every way! I love staying here!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Our visit to the Franklin Stree Inn in Appleton was truly memorable, and one we'll surely repeat. From the moment we stepped into the beautiful foyer, we felt were were among friends. The room we chose was beautifully decorated, and every detail was taken care of. The food was excellent, and prepared special for my specific dietary requirements. The home itself is elegant, and especially well cared for. Definitely worth the trip!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Appleton
0.5 mi away
Radisson Paper Valley Hotel
0.4 mi away
CopperLeaf Hotel
CopperLeaf Hotel
#4 of 25 in Appleton
379 reviews
3.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Appleton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Appleton Kimberly
3.5 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall
3.6 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Appleton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franklin Street Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franklin Street Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Franklin Street Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 318 E Franklin St, Appleton, WI 54911-5437 (Formerly Franklin Street Inn)
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Appleton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Appleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Franklin Street Inn Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to stay at our restored Queen Anne Victorian home in Appleton, WI. Our bed and breakfast is in a quiet and safe neighborhood of graceful historic homes. Our inn is an oasis from the hustle and bustle of a hectic world, where relaxation, enjoyment, and comfort are our top priority. We aim to go beyond your expectations to guarantee a pleasurable stay at our Fox Cities inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Franklin Street Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing