We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Salad Bar”
Review of Machine Shed

Machine Shed
Ranked #17 of 366 Restaurants in Appleton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Upper Peninsula, MI
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Salad Bar”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Very nice salad bar. Clean and fresh. The mini cheese bread was extremely favorful. There were two different types of lettuce to choose from and several meat, cheese and vegetable toppings. There was also fruits to choose from.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank AmyUpperPeninsula_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    97
    54
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Appleton, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Slow service, mediocre food”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

If you want to spend a week in Appleton in one afternoon, go here. They focus more on the junk for sale than the food, and it shows. We will not go back.

Helpful?
Thank Rich F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Want to go back!”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Went with business colleagues during a lunch hour. Didn't have to wait too long, service was quick and efficient. So many choices on the menu it was hard to decide. Everyone's lunch looked fantastic. I had the loaded baked potato soup and it was delicious. Will be going back on the next trip to Appleton to try something else.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank higherthanme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niceville, Florida
Level Contributor
283 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Good, but expected more”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Went to Machine Shed for breakfast while visiting friends in the area. We had a party of six. One whole section of the restaurant was closed and we ended up waiting 30 minutes because they apparently only had four tables that could support our party and they were all filled. By the time we were seated it was after 11am and supposedly breakfast was over but our server said we could still order it (relief). Three adults did the family style breakfast, another ordered a separate breakfast, and there were two kids meals. For the price, the food was decent enough but nothing spectacular. The country fried steak was really good, the biscuit that came with was hard as a rock and went back for a fresh one. Eggs were decent. The "American fries" were kind of "bleh". The pancakes had a "mapley" flavor which is OK if you like that but not if you aren't expecting it. One kids meal was a LOT of food (three sausage links) while another was basically one big blueberry pancake made to look like Mickey Mouse. Service was OK. All in all our breakfast was just OK; I would have expected more from a local joint. Would we go back? Yeah, probably, but we'd definitely try different combinations of food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lionfan91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaukauna, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great service, tasty food”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We went on a Saturday night and we had great service from our waiter, and everyone loved their food at our table. As a family, we had the fried cod dinner, the pot roast sandwich with mashed potatoes, and the kid's chicken strips meal. My pot roast had outstanding flavor, and the mashed potatoes were great too. I ordered a cup of "famous" baked potato soup, and was delighted to find big chuncks of red potatoes and pieces of bacon that were certainly not bacon bits. The cod tasted fresh and was made well, and the fries were perfectly seasoned. The kids meal chicken strips was hand breaded, nothing like other restaurants that serve pre-breaded chicken strips, and it was white meat chicken, so it tasted great. I agree that the unforms are a little cheesy, but it fits with the farming theme of the restaurant. The kids enjoyed playing with the tractors while waiting for the food, and were delighted that their meal came in a wagon that hooked on the tractor. It was my husband's birthday, so he got a free desert of his choice, and that cherry pie was very tasty. There was a coupon on the bill for $5 off the next visit, and I can't wait to return!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brenda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Machine Shed also viewed

 

Been to Machine Shed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing