We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a good value.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Appleton Inn
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Appleton
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel many times. The kids love the feel of the pool area. Feels like your outside even though your inside. And the breakfast is always great! The staff is very accommodating too

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at Best Western Appleton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. It is important to us that we hear your feedback so that we may fine tune our operations. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to having you back the next time you are in our area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (523)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

444 - 450 of 523 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

We found the check-in to be easy and pleasant. The pool/hot tub area is clean and inviting with a nice breakfast area with a nice variety of foods. The room we chose was a smaller room with 2 double beds and was clean upon arrival. The room rate was very far and overall we consider this hotel to be a good value.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PlymouthSkidoorider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at Best Western Appleton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. It is important to us to hear all feedback so that we may fine tune our operations. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to seeing you again the next time you come to the Appleton area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

The pool is a salt water pool but the whole main part of the hotel reeks of chlorine. No elevator! Breakfast .... marginal at best. Extreme carb load. I came back to the hotel in the evening only to find that my key didn't work in the exterior door. It wouldn't work in any exterior door. I had to walk 1/2 way around the building to the front door with arms loaded. It was 20 below...so cold. Not to mention that the parking lot is a sheet of ice. I was not happy! I get to the front desk and manager says the key is active that it must be the doors. He re-issues a key anyway. No apology... no comment other than key/door ones previously mentioned, not from the manager or the desk clerk. Very unprofessional!! Decor is very dark and dated! I think 3 stars is too high a rating for this hotel. Sheets were very thin and worn with stains. Not very warm bedding. No extra bedding. The table in the room had stuff (smears of something) on it...it needed to be cleaned. The single cup coffee maker in the room was missing the basket to hold the coffee pod was missing....it could make hot water but not coffee.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at Best Western Appleton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Greetings,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your feedback is important to us, so that we may improve our operations. I apologize for the inconveniences you experienced at our facility. I will address your concerns with my staff, so that they won't repeat the same mistakes.

The pool filter makes chlorine from the salt (NaCl) we add to the pool which is what kills any bacterial growth in the pool. If its is really busy in the pool (which it tends to be on the weekend), it may give off a chlorine odor.

Also, we use the CV1 1 cup coffee maker in the rooms. It is a cleanliness measure we take. There will be no permanent drip tray. There is a disposable tray included in the coffee 'pod' packet.

Thank you again for your insight and feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We chose this hotel because of the price and ratings. We were not disappointed. The bed was comfortable, room was clean (but make sure you have your own lotion, shampoo, etc.), the pool and hot tub were great! The exercise room was way too small but the equipment was okay. Breakfast was okay - they did have biscuits and gravy and waffles. Staff was very friendly - location was great - snow removal was terrible... almost got stuck several times in the parking lot - but other than this, it was a great stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nat1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at Best Western Appleton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Greetings,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your feed back (good & bad) is important to the refining of our operations. I will pass on our concerns to our owners, and maintenance so that we can address them appropriately.

Kind Regards,

Jeff Jandourek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed at the Best Western Fox Valley & had a wonderful night's sleep, a marvelous time in the pool & a delicious breakfast. The management and staff were so accommodating. Will stay again! Marcia!


  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank MARCIA E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff J, Manager at Best Western Appleton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Greetings,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your feedback is crucial in improving our operations. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to your return visit in the future!

Thanks again,

Jeff Jandourek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Upon arrival, our camping group experienced 40 degree rooms. The heat was never turned on and it took several hours for the rooms to warm up. The atrium/pool area is kept at 60 degrees so any relief from our cold rooms was not available. We had to sit and visit with our coats on in the pool area! Who would swim in 60 degree weather? We had heard of a couple of flooded rooms upon arrival but were able to experience them first hand ourselves that evening. Due to not heating the rooms there were several water pipes that broke that night, they had probably froze earlier in the week from our arctic temps. We were woke at 1:00 in the morning to flooded rooms, water running down walls, showering through the ceilings with the ceilings falling down, etc. When we were given alternate rooms you would think the owner would have checked them and at least turned the heat on in them for us. No, instead he stood and watched us pack up our belongings to move only to find out the new rooms first given us were in a worse state of flooding than what we were moving from. Five out of our eight rooms had issues. After all was said and done do you think he would have comped our weekend? No the only discount given was for the first flooded room! He had absolutely no sense of what customer service was! He is only out to make money and trying so by not even heating the bldg. The rooms themselves are also very cramped. This was our third year coming and our last!

Room Tip: Find another hotel in the area - there are many!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KPari2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

The room pic on the website titled "guest room" is a lie. We were given a room that looks nothing like that. The rooms are dark, tiny, cramped, and humid. We were tripping over one another. In addition, upon our arrival, they did not have our reservation which we called for. Never coming back.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krissygrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Appleton hotels
0.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Appleton, WI
1.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Appleton
4.9 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites
Cambria hotel & suites
#6 of 25 in Appleton
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Appleton College Avenue
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#12 of 25 in Appleton
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Appleton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Appleton Inn

Address: 3033 W College Ave, Appleton, WI 54914-2910 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Fox Valley Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Appleton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Appleton
#12 Business Hotel in Appleton
Price Range: $64 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Appleton Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Best Western, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Appleton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Fox Valley Hotel Appleton
Best Western Appleton
Appleton Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing