We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome food!”
Review of Mark's East Side

Mark's East Side
Ranked #3 of 366 Restaurants in Appleton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $25
Cuisines: American, German, Bar, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Family owned and operated since 1967. Marks is a long time area favorite for lunch and dinner serving hand cut steaks, fresh seafood and award winning German fare. Come and relax in our well stock bar featuring a wide selection of liquor, beer and wine. Open 6 day a week, lunch Monday thur Friday and closed on Sundays. Hope to see you soon. Mark DoughertyOwner
Stuart, FL
Level Contributor
247 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Awesome food!”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

There were 12 in our group so we had to wait a while for our table. Enjoyed drinks in the bar while waiting. Our group ordered Vidalia Onion Rings that were ok but the Kraut Rolls were fantastic!! A very good salad was served with a warm bacon dressing that our entire group raved about. I had a Schnitzel with Dumplings that was great! Served with Kraut and a small side of apple sauce. Very good value for the amount of food, no one was able to finish their meal!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank CLRD4TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    66
    23
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Appleton, WI
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Place to eat no matter what the occasion”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Mark's Eastside is my favorite restaurant to eat in Appleton. Great German food and super Irish food. In fact there is a countdown clock to St Patrick's Day. Voted Best German Cuisine. Favorite German dish is the schnitzel--ask for both spatzel and the red cabbage(not noted on the menu but is available). I like the schnitzel so much it is what I order all the time, except for the corned beef and cabbage. Should really try some other menu selections, but I love the Schnitzel!! Be sure to order the spinach salad with the hot bacon dressing. It is so well liked they even sell the hot bacon dressing. My husband has had numerous fish dishes and all were great.

Website: www.markseatside.com

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trvlnutAppleton_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
79 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Always one of my favorite Appleton hangouts”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Once again, a fabulous meal at Mark's. We had fresh Walu from Hawaii.The atmosphere is always happy and Mark stops at every table to make sure everyone is satisfied. The best cocktails in town. My favorite...The Cosmo. If you want to come here on a Friday night,esp during Lent,make a reservation..You can never go wrong at Mark's. I have been coming here for years.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TMamad1931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food & service!”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

My wife and I eat here quite often because of their gluten free menu. Outside of gluten free our extended family loves to eat here as well as their food is delcious. The service is always top notch and very friendly as well. Highly recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent fish”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

8 of us ate dinner. Everyone had a very positive meal experience. The walleye was the overall winner!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mark's East Side also viewed

 

Been to Mark's East Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing