We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad place to stay outside of Green Bay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Appleton
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in Appleton
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not a bad place to stay outside of Green Bay”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This hotel was pretty average. I thought it was a bit overpriced but so is every other hotel around Green Bay when there is a Packer game. Breakfast location was great since it wasn't in the lobby. We were not able to use the pool due to our schedule but looked like fun. Easy to find and get on and off the highway.

Room Tip: room 121 was quiet and you didn't need to enter through the lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trvlbdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager3900, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Appleton, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you for your review...We really enjoy our location I'm glad you did as well. Hopefully you stay with us again and can try out our Water slide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    45
    20
    11
    15
See reviews for
95
23
1
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed July 11 thru the 15 while attending a music festival in Oshkosh. The room rates were reasonable for the high volume and time of year. Staff was friendly. My family had booked two rooms and they were close to each other on the first floor. The kids enjoyed the pool and waterslide. We were just disappointed that the slide hours were limited. I also noticed some sediment on the bottom of the hot tub. Looked like concrete rubble or something like that. The only other issue we had was in reguards to the hot cart in the breakfast room. I noticed it wasn't turned on and the food inside had become cold. I notified the front desk and the guy who was on duty told the woman in chrage of the breakfast to reheat the food! I couldnt believe my ears. The cart still had not been turned up so I notified the front desk again. This time a woman was there and the food was thrown out and properly replaced. Outside of that everything else was good and we would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whatever4andnomore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager3900, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Appleton, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you for writing your review and thank you for notifying the staff regarding the hot food
situation. So thankful the issue was taken care of properly. If you are ever in town again please come stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, il
Level Contributor
78 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Hotwired this hotel for $67/night and was very happy with our two night stay. Had no issues getting a bed preference (even though I hotwired). Room was a nice standard size with a microwave and fridge. Bathroom was standard (however, the shampoo/conditioner wasn't great). The room smelled nice and the air conditioner worked well. The beds were a bit "flat" but met our needs. I also appreciated they gave us extra pillows.

The pool and slide were awesome. It never was crowded and I think the most people we saw in the three times we went were 2 other families. For an hour on saturday, we had the pool to ourselves! I felt the pool/slide hours were totally satisfactory. They are re-doing the hot tub if that is a selling point for anyone and looks like they have a few more weeks/months of construction.

The complimentary breakfast had make your own waffles and sausage and eggs. Overall, it was a great stay and would go again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nickiwms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager3900, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Appleton, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Very relaxing stay it sounds like and I'm over joyed to read your review. Thank you for posting some pictures as well you really went out of your way to tell others about our hotel and that means the world to me.
An update on the whirlpool: the project will be completed on Friday June 28th 2013. Taken a little longer then we hoped but will be up and ready for some more realxing weekends soon.

Thanks again and hope to see you and your family back soon!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington WI
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We were disappointed with nearly every aspect of this hotel except the cordial front desk staff. Our room was the last one available, it was handicapped access, but strangely it was the farthest from the elevator. It was dark & tired looking with a pea green bedspread, mud green rug, and dingy green hard chairs. The window could not be opened and had a broken seal so it was completely clouded over. There was a sports tournament nearby so the hotel was full of energetic kids who ran up and down the halls at all hours. The pool was extremely crowded with mostly out-of-control 10 to 12 year olds. No pool towels in sight until we walked wet to the lobby to ask for some. One staff person was there until 8pm but did nothing to stop the rowdy running, pushing, and rough play which included jumping around in the sauna and hot tub. Our kids were very disappointed when the slide was closed at 8pm (advertised as open till 10). The one staff person left at 8 and my husband and I were the only adults present with about 35 unsupervised kids. The layout of this hotel is very awkward and inconvenient. The breakfast was minimal and very cheap. My bagel was stale, the orange juice watered down, and the hot egg material and mystery meat hockey pucks were very unappetizing. For $120.00 we had a right to expect better.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, check to be sure there are no kid sport events in house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheetosBurlingtonWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Room dark and drab. Everything in tones of brown. Window foggy. totally steamy between panes, and window track so corroded that window could not be opened. TV small and difficult to see from bed across the room.

Pool/waterslide closed at 8PM when signs state "Pool/water park open till 10PM. No pool supervision by staff of flagrant violations of safety rules such as allowing 4 year olds in sauna and hot tub. Children running in halls unsupervised. No parents were present when pool was crowded with children and pre-teens.
Breakfast included reconstituted egg patties! reheated sausage patties, dry tasteless bagels and muffins.

Room Tip: Ask for a room far from pool to lessen noise and commotion outside your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GracefulLanding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager3900, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Appleton, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for writting your review. I'm terribly sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, Michigan
Level Contributor
138 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Our group stayed 4/13. Found a great deal through the Trip Advisor. What I like most about this hotel is their staff. Nicole the afternoon desk clerk was just super friendly and informative about places to eat. Second best the Pool area with the waterslide. They do birthday parties there too so the pool was busy. Thirdly, the quiet rooms.

Pool and Slide hours are posted on the pool door. I agree the slide hours are limited but a lifeguard needs to be on duty in order for it to be used. Age and height restrictions are expected for any slide even with an adult along. That is for you and your childrens protection. Having said that I agree, an extra hour - at least until 9 would be really appreciated. We went out to eat after check-in and had to wait a long time for dinner and upon returning they were just locking up the slide for the night. Lifeguard hours could be increased at least on weekends. Maybe something the management can address? Also especially a consideration during the weeknight evenings if the slide is not open mornings. We always go on a weekend and haven't had that problem. This is not a pool for babies/ toddlers, you need at least waterwings and an adult in the shallow end of the pool whether there is or is no lifeguard. If that is what you are looking for you need to go elsewhere like the Country Inn or Tundra Lodge but be prepared to pay more. If there is no lifeguard you need someone to be there to supervise your kids. The staff enforces the 10 pm policy so adult guests have some quiet time and they can clean up the pool area. I as an adult with kids appreciate the quiet time and most small kids are worn out by 10 pm. They had a hard time to keep up with the pool towels. We always bring our own beach towels and don't have to worry. The pool was a little chilly but felt good after the hottub. The Sauna did not work at all, the desk said they would check on it. Didn't work the next day either. They could use a few more chairs on the pool deck as there was no place to sit.

The breakfast was awesome, our group had waffles, bagels, 3 kinds of yogurt, cottage cheese, toast, rolls, cereal, pork sausages and eggs, Milk, Orange Juice and Coffee. There was plenty of everything even at the end of Breakfast hours, not like some places where they run out. Only downer was not enough seating in the breakfast room. Many people took their trays back to their room. The workout room was well equipped and had plenty of space for several people. Lastly, our room on the 2nd floor was spacious, equipped with microwave, coffee maker, and fridge - was neat, clean, well supplied, had comfortable beds, everything worked well and was so quiet (even though the hotel was pretty full) that we slept great. Thanks alot for a pleasant stay! We will be back again.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the pool, lobby, breakfast room and elevator area are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scholr27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager3900, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Appleton, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
WOW thank you so much for taken the time to tell us and everyone about our Hotel. I do have my lifeguards here until 9pm on Fridays and basiclly all day on Saturdays but I would agree more would be better. I just ordered more pool towels today as they always seem to run out. My breakfast staff try's there best to keep up with the demands so I'm glad to hear their hard work is paying off. I'm most please to hear you and your family had a GREAT TIME WITH US!!
Thanks again for taken the time to write this :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This last weekend March 15-17th we stayed at the AmericInn with our hockey team. The staff was very accommodating and patient with us as we had almost booked the entire hotel. The children all had fun in the pool and with the water slide. It was nice to see hotel staff checking on the pool and supervising the water slide. The staff at the front desk were very helpful with helping us set up our pot luck on Friday night and one staff member went above and beyond and had a family member bring extra tables for us to use. I also liked that when a person came in Saturday to see if they had any rooms available they gave the person a heads up that the hockey team was there before they booked. It gave that person the option to not stay since we had over 60 children with us and a lot of adults. We hope to be welcomed back for next years Monsters on Ice Tournament weekend!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager3900, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Appleton, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
LOVED ,LOVED your Group, My staff is still raving about your team and can't wait to see you all here next year as a block as already been set up!!! Thanks again for staying with us and we will see you next year!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Appleton hotels
4.9 mi away
Best Western Appleton Inn
Best Western Appleton Inn
#10 of 25 in Appleton
485 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites
Cambria hotel & suites
#7 of 25 in Appleton
222 reviews
5.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Appleton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Appleton
5.6 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall
5.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Appleton College Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Lodge & Suites Appleton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Lodge & Suites Appleton

Property: AmericInn Lodge & Suites Appleton
Address: 3900 N Gateway Dr, Appleton, WI 54913-7863
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Appleton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Appleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — AmericInn Lodge & Suites Appleton 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are your Welcoming Neighbor! With a FREE Hot Home-Style Breakfast served every morning. A Pool, Whirlpool, Sauna and 112ft fig. 8 water-slide. Hours of Pool are 7am to 10pm, 10pm to 12am 18 and over. Water-Slide hours are limited. Updated Rooms which inculded 32' Flat screen TV's, Fridge and Microwave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your AmericInn Lodge & Suites Appleton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Lodge & Suites Appleton Hotel Appleton
Americinn Lodge And Suites Appleton
Americinn Hotel Appleton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing