We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a good meal.”
Review of Famous Dave's

Famous Dave's
Ranked #112 of 370 Restaurants in Appleton
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Takeout
Description: Famous Dave's of Appleton has been serving the Fox Valley Community since 1997. For the past 15+ years we have been providing the Famous BBQ that Famous Dave Anderson came up with and perfected over a 20 year period. The first Famous Dave's was opened in 1994 in Hayward, WI and there are over 180 Famous Dave's through the United Sates and Canada. For take-out, catering or dine-in Famous Dave's of Appleton is the place to be!
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Always a good meal.”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The staff here are very good, and always keep your diet Pepsi full. I recommend the Loaded BBQ Chips appetizer, then enjoy the menu. The brisket is excellet. Corn on the cob is crisp and never chewy.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gordon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    23
    9
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Late evening stop”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We are huge famous dave fans so my daughters and I where extemely excited to find one in Appleton on our stay this summer. It didn't disappoint. Always great food and a fun atmosphere!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank nalsb44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BBQ Heaven!!!”
Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

I LOVE Famous Daves! The staff is always attentive and helpful, and the food NEVER disappoints! The family-sized portions are a great value... Plus then you get to sample a little of everything! The Sweet and Sassy Sauce is the BEST!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AppleOfYourEye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaukauna, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brisket”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

The brisket was to die for...it has been years since we stopped at Famous Dave's but I was pleased that the food was melt in your mouth delicious! Thanks for a great dinner.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank TrixieTraveler1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, WI
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“SMOKING GOOD!”
Reviewed May 4, 2012

I eat @ Famous Dave's frequently and am always promptly served cold beer and great flavored food. The beef brisket is a favorite as is the barbecued chicken. The potato salad and corn muffins are a perfect compliment to the meats. The atmosphere is fun, the place is clean and I leave full and satisfied.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RYAN D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Famous Dave's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing