We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Totally Disappointing” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fortino's Bistro - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Fortino's Bistro
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Totally Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Table of 6 had mix of overdone and rubbery scallops, raw salmon, questionable sides (lobster sauce with NO lobster). Two diners had very same dish but were brought different vegetables. I don't know how people are saying this is anything like "big city" dining - recently went to NYC and had superior dining experience for less money than this.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lauravh85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    1
    0
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Racine, WI
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“SUPERB!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

One word describes the meal I had at Fortino's. That word is SUPERB. A friend and i went on July 31 and arrived at around 5:30pm. We were immediately seated at a window table. The service was prompt and friendly. I ordered the Grouper A La Florentine. It was topped with Dungeness crab, Spinach, Bechamel and Gremolata. The fish was perfectly prepared and the sauce had just the correct amount of kick. I had the mac and cheese for my starch and it came as spaghetti noodles with a light cheese sauce. It was very very good. the vegetables that accompanied our meal was a mix of grilled onions, tomatoes, broccoli and yellow squash(?). The tomatoes and onions were excellent. My friend's meal was the Seared Tuna with Lobster sauce. He said it was great. The desserts were also very good, with portions that were not overpowering. Overall this was an excellent meal at the right price.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FrankieJ11152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
“Best Dining Experience in Appleton”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

I'm extremely surprised by the mixed reviews. This place exceeded my expectations in food quality, service and presentation. I kept having to look out the window to remind myself I was in Appleton. The experience reminded me of bistros in San Francisco, Chicago and elsewhere. It was a great meal, attentive but not intrusive service and less than half the price that the same meal would have cost in a large city. If you're looking for an upscale meal of reasonable portions with fresh ingredients prepared with attention to detail, this is the place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelExpert63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Will NOT go back”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

We were excited to try this place, but were extremely disappointed. We actually had great customer service unlike the other reviewers, but it did not make up for the food. We chose the 5 course tasting menu. Presentation was poor-sloppy and different portion sizes for my boyfriend and I. Neither of which was enough food for either of us (we had to order a pizza later that night). Taste was "good"-not anything SUPER delicious. We live nearby and were hoping to have a new restaurant that we loved. I am sad to say we will not being going back. If you can afford to spend this much money or are celebrating something special-go to Hinterland instead in Green Bay.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CassieJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Most excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stopped by for lunch, and was super-surprised at the quiet & attentive service, along with a wonderful meal! This is the way a meal should be!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FloydPink1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fortino's Bistro also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing