We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The most ornate Historic House we've visited”

Hearthstone Historic House Museum
Ranked #4 of 32 things to do in Appleton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Racine, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
176 reviews
105 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“The most ornate Historic House we've visited”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

The Hearthstone House has such beautiful wood work on the first floor. All the woodwork was hand carved in the 1880's, from floor to the 12 foot ceilings. There are also 9 hearths (fire places) in the house. Each one decorated with ceramic tiles of different themes. This is the first house in the world that had electric provided by hydroelectric power. The origanal light fixtures are very ornate brass, and were made for electric or gas, in this case they were converted to electric, made universally for both for gas or electric. Our tour guide was very knowledgable and every time we visit a historic site we learn new things. I would definately reccommend this attraction to anyone visting the Appleton area.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Randy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    27
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Neenah, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful Home with Interesting Story”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I've been here twice now, once on the guided tour and once for just a quick walk around. I learned a lot during the guided tour and wish I could have seen more! It's got a lot of history and character and is an absolutely beautiful house. It's a bit pricey, but well worth a visit if you're interested in local history and architecture.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kailyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winneconne, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

The kids enjoy the hands on activities in the basement. The rooms are well done and the tour is engaging and very interesting. Historically, this is a wonderful landmark for Appleton. Very nice.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jillonvacation Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A historic jewel”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Hearthstone is a beautiful visit. It's history is unique and the restoration awesome. We had the pleasure of a volunteer's tour and this only added to my appreciation. Our visit was in the Christmas season and they had the festive decor for the historic era. If you enjoy gentle time without crowding, this a wonderful place to be.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Larry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho
Level Contributor
163 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Intersting piece of local history”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

This house is wonderful to visit, I loved going through each room and imagined how people lived there. The history is amazing and I learned a lot. The docents were friendly and well informed. I recommend visiting this magnificent house/museum.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank cranespirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hearthstone Historic House Museum also viewed

 

Been to Hearthstone Historic House Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing