We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fascinating”

The History Museum at the Castle
Ranked #5 of 32 things to do in Appleton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The History Museum at the Castle presents award-winning local history as well as national exhibits through hands-on experiences that engage people of all ages. We're best known for our exceptional interactive Harry Houdini exhibit that reveals the magician's illusions. Don't miss the exclusive Leonardo da Vinci: Machines in Motion interactive exhibit now through February 3, 2013! We also pay tribute to Pulitzer Prize winning author Edna Ferber, and put Sen. Joseph McCarthy into perspective.
minnesota
Level Contributor
110 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

We had a blast trying to duplicate some of Houdini's tricks, picking locks on handcuffs, and reading about his amazing disciplines. It's hard to believe that anything could as intriguing but the awesome collection of Da Vinci Machines came in as a tie. We were fascinated to try out the full scale machines he had designed and see how they worked. The cost was fair for the two collections. We were there two solid hours and probably could have stayed longer but our parking meter ran out.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tonnatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
myhistorymuseum, Public Relations Manager at The History Museum at the Castle, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
It's hard to "escape" the History Museum at the Castle without finding something fascinating to explore! With the blockbuster Leonardo da Vinci: Machines in Motion exhibit here, visitors tell us they spend on average 1 1/2 to 2 hours caught up in all there is to experience. Both the Houdini and da Vinci exhibits are interactive, with something for all ages. Thanks for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    43
    15
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sherwood, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
528 reviews
154 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“DaVinci Exhibit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

The basic collection is pretty spare, but it gets some outstanding touring exhibits. DaVinci machines is there now, and is simply outstanding.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank z0607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
myhistorymuseum, Public Relations Manager at The History Museum at the Castle, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Glad you enjoyed Leonardo da Vinci: Machines in Motion. Yes, we packed away much of our local history displays to make room for this exclusive touring exhibit. It's totally interactive, engaging all ages of visitors. In spring we'll launch a new local exhibit entitled FOOD: Who We Are & What We Eat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wautoma, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Houdini”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

My fiance and I LOVED the Houdini exhibit, it was very hands on and made us both have a wonderful time and the facts written on the wall made it even more delightful. The price was the only problem that I had with the whole situation.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
myhistorymuseum, Public Relations Manager at The History Museum at the Castle, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Sounds like you and your fiance enjoyed the fun Houdini exhibit during your visit. (Did you know that you can hold a wedding reception here? Just a thought!) Current admission includes not only the Houdini exhibit, but also 2 galleries displaying Leonardo da Vinci: Machines in Motion. These 40 full size, operational machines fill 2 entire galleries as part of this exclusive international exhibit. It's here through Jan. 6. Thanks for sharing your experience at the History Museum at the Castle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deocrah, Iowa
Level Contributor
97 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great little museum with a lot of information!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

A great place for families to learn about Houdini as well as the history of Appleton, Wisconsin. Lots of interactive displays make for a fun-filled visit. Enjoy!

Helpful?
Thank fox4cefive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
myhistorymuseum, Public Relations Manager at The History Museum at the Castle, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Houdini and authentic local history exhibits are the mainstay of our Museum. Right now, we're featuring the exclusive showing of Leonardo da Vinci: Machines in Motion. All ages are enjoying this hands-on display of 40 machines envisioned by this Renaissance genius.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winneconne, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
69 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The Castle, Leonardo DaVinci and Houdini”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We had not yet visited the Castle in Appleton and took the time to drive up to see the Leonardo Da Vinci "Machines in Motion" exhibit that is currently showing. If you are at all fascinated by the multi-talented Da Vinci, this is the exhibit for you. Replicas of many of Leonardo's designs are on display, (and you can intereact with most of them) built by Italian craftspeople using tools available in Leonardo's time. Allow enough time to visit the Houdini and the Appleton/papermaking areas, also found in the Castle. Depending on how much time you devote to each exhibit, you should be able to get through all in an hour to hour and a half.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank woodboatchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
myhistorymuseum, Public Relations Manager at The History Museum at the Castle, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Sounds like you squeezed everything you could into your visit! Machines in Motion really brings the genius of Leonardo da Vinci to life, doesn't it? Glad you enjoyed the visit; thanks for your comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The History Museum at the Castle also viewed

 

Been to The History Museum at the Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing