We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Anniversary Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Roost Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Appleton B&B and Inns
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
1 review
“An Anniversary Visit”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed at The Roost as a getaway to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. This was our third visit and we will be back for a fourth. Tom and Aimee are wonderful hosts and our breakfast was fabulous. I have recommended The Roost in the past and will continue to do so in the future.

Room Tip: We absolutely love the Sage Suite, have stayed there twice and will probably request it in the futur...
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul_and_Cindy_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
66
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ripon, WI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

My husband and I needed a quick getaway between a busy summer and the start of the school year. Although we only live 45 miles from The Roost and we travel to Appleton frequently, we felt like we'd escaped to an entirely new place. The Roost is in a lovely, wooded, blessedly quiet neighborhood. Tom was a wonderful host (sorry we didn't get to meet Aimee) and the Meadow Room was beautifully appointed, down to the reading materials available such as, among several others, the book, "Simplify Your Life" (were they reading my mind?). Breakfast was fantastic. We only stayed one night, but it was a welcome respite from the norm and we returned home refreshed. We recommend it highly!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank musicfanripon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

My whole family spent three nights at The Roost for my daughter's graduation from Lawrence University. It was absolutely the most perfect place. Beds were comfortable, rooms were well appointed, yet not overdone. Tom and Aimee were perfect host, very genuine. The breakfast was different every morning and suited everyone. They let us feel right at home in their home and gardens. We'll add this to the places to plan vacations around in the future.

Room Tip: All the rooms are just perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Looseatthegoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Tom and Aimee were the perfect hosts.
Our room was immaculate, the food and hospitality were top notch and the conversation was uplifting. Thank you Tom and Aimee for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rkmadsom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 26, 2012

My husband and I were in need of relaxing getaway, but didn't want to go too far from home. We are so thankful to have found The Roost!! Not only was our room fantastic (with fireplace and spa tub), but Tom and Aimee are exceptional hosts. It is a beautiful Bed and Breakfast, amazing food, and just what we needed- thank you Tom and Aimee!!!

The Seider's

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Missy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2011

The Roost is a hidden gem! Tucked away on a beautiful wooded street, the house and surroundings are gorgeous. The rooms and common areas are tasteful and elegant, and each room or suite has a fireplace and whirlpool. The hosts are so accommodating and gracious -- and their homemade baked goods and breakfasts are absolutely delicious! For a creative culinary experience and warm welcome, The Roost will surpass your expectations.

Room Tip: Located on the south end of the house, the Bella suite is very quiet and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2011

We really enjoyed this b and b. The rooms were beautiful and very nicely decorated. Each room has a fireplace and an air-jet whirlpool. The owners went out of their way to make sure we felt welcome. We were offered wine when we arrived and there was soda and water available 24/7. We really appreciated that the owners didn't charge a premium just because the weekend we happened to be in town was also the weekend of a Packers home game. I wish I had a reason to go back to Appleton more often so we could stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler1369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Appleton hotels
5.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Appleton
1.9 mi away
CopperLeaf Hotel
CopperLeaf Hotel
#4 of 24 in Appleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
3.9 mi away
Best Western Appleton Inn
Best Western Appleton Inn
#10 of 24 in Appleton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Radisson Paper Valley Hotel
4.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Appleton
3.9 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites
Cambria hotel & suites
#6 of 24 in Appleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roost Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roost Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Roost Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1900 S Lee St, Appleton, WI 54915-4261
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Appleton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Appleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Roost Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Roost Bed and Breakfast has received nothing but positive guest reviews since it opened! That fact alone speaks volumes. An established, award-winning bed and breakfast located in a quiet residential neighborhood just 1.8 miles from downtown Appleton, The Roost is only 30 minutes from Lambeau Field and the Green Bay Packers, 30 minutes from Oshkosh and EAA AirVenture (“The World’s Greatest Aviation Celebration”), and minutes away from Lawrence University, the Fox River Mall (the second-largest indoor mall in Wisconsin), the Fox Cities Performing Arts Center, museums, dozens of fine dining options, Lake Winnebago, outdoor activities, and much more. Five contemporary guest suites are decorated in a French Country/Tuscan décor and feature private bathrooms, two-person air-jet spa tubs, fireplaces, mini-refrigerators, and other amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Roost Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing