We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with friendly staff”
Review of CopperLeaf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
CopperLeaf Hotel
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Appleton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We stayed here instead of Green Bay for a Packers game. So glad we did! Appleton, in general, is a great town with a very nice downtown area. We didn't get a chance to go in any of the stores but happy we stayed in the middle of it. Quiet, nice rooms!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank eladousa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (384)
There are newer reviews for CopperLeaf Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 384 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2013

We stayed here a single night as a quick get-away for our anniversary. We stayed in the Platinum Suite.

The hotel is located in downtown Appleton. There were plenty of restaurants and bars within walking distance. It's located next to a bank and a parking ramp. There is no parking lot, so you must use the ramp, which is $2 per entry. If you drive to the 2nd level, there are signs indicating the closest parking for the hotel.

The hotel itself feels very classic. Check in was swift and friendly.

There is a hotel bar, which had a fair amount of traffic for a Thursday night.

The suite was beautiful. The living room had a couch, desk, comfy chair and flat screen tv. There was also a microwave, and mini-fridge/honor bar. Some of the honor bar prices were reasonable, like $1.25 for a bag of chips or $2 for a candy bar...some were average, like $3.75 for a bottle of beer...some were high like $5 for the same shot bottles that every liquor store sells for $1 or less. In any case, we brought our own drinks so the prices didn't matter to us.

The bedroom contained a comfortable king bed, another chair, a flat screen and a 2 person hot tub. The TV wasn't on a swivel stand, but we were able to turn it so we could see it from the tub.
Unfortunately, our view was only of the roof of the neighboring building.

The bathroom had a large walk-in shower, though the shower head wasn't great. Good water pressure though. The toilet sits in a little "stall" and feels a little claustrophobic.

We had no noise issues. Weird note: we could not get cellphone service in our room at all. Whether or not it was a quirk from our carrier or the location is unknown.

The room was clean, though fingerprints & handprints were visible on all the interior doors, when the light caught them just right.

We were disappointed that the hotel website listed "Room Service" under the amenities, only to find out that the restaurant had closed a few months ago, and room service was no longer available. We did order delivery from a local bar for a snack later at night. Breakfast was eggs, bacon, pancakes, muffins, bagels, cereal, etc. Nothing that stands out, good or bad.

Overall, it was a nice hotel, but even at a AAA rate of $180 (including the taxes), not sure it was worth the money. We've stayed in "fancier" places for less, though not within walking distance of so many choices for dining. It might be better suited for those staying a few days versus a romantic night away.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaywalker17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We planned a girls week-end away. It was always four of us, and we always went shopping. Well, we lost one of us to cancer in September, and wasn't sure if we could go without lots of tears and heartache. We decided to try it, but do something totally different. So instead of picking a hotel near the mall, we decided to go into downtown Appleton. Randomly, we picked the CopperLeaf. We went online and decided to take advantage of the Spa. What a luxurious week-end we had. The hotel was wonderful, the staff was beyond friendly and helpful and we relaxed and had a great time. We were able to walk to the places we wanted to go to in the evening. But it's the hotel that will bring us back there for our annual trip. We decided not to do the shopping trip anymore. It's the CopperLeaf and the Spa and dinner ordered in on Spa day, and dinner out within walking distance of the Hotel the next day. This is going to be our new tradition. A special nod to Adam at the front desk. He was especially friendly and helpful, going out of his way to get information for us on a couple places we wanted to visit while we were there, never making us feel like we were a bother to him. We hope to see him every year when we go back. Also, the woman who checked us out the next morning (I didn't get her name) was very friendly. All in all, the hotel and the excellent service will definitely keep us coming back.

Room Tip: We had a first floor room and it was very convenient for accessing the breakfast room and spa.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

If you have to spend any amount of time in Appleton stay at this hotel. A great location in downtown Appleton. Lots of restaurants and bars nearby, plenty to do. A large shopping mall is close. The hotel itself is very clean with a nice bar in the lobby. It has a large city feel even though it is located in a small city.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wisctravfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Just came back from a stay at the Copperleaf. We only stayed one night but found it extremely comfortable. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We would definitely stay here again while visiting the area.

Room Tip: We had the fireplace suite room on the 2nd floor. It was plenty of space and was quiet, facing back...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Copper Leaf is our regular haunt when we come thru Appleton, which is a couple times each year. The hotel is very friendly & has lots of character and doesn't feel or act like the normal chain hotels. Location is in town, not out along the highway and the local sites & merchants are almost all locally owned & operated establishments; again the chains are all out along the highway. Rooms are well appointed & feel warm & characterful. We've had a room w/ the big tub/whirlpool a couple times but haven't taken a soak; maybe some future stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sven_444_444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deb J, General Manager at CopperLeaf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Thank you for being a returning guest of the Copperleaf Boutique Hotel. We certainly appreciate your loyalty. As we are modeled after small European hotels, I am so happy to hear your nice comments that we don't feel or act like the chain hotels. Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit with us!

Sincerely,
Deb Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Our adventure in Appleton was wonderful! The room surpassed my expectation. Staff was very nice. We loved the whirlpool in the room, the temperature always perfect, comfortable bed. The hot breakfast was better then most hotel breakfasts. The location of the hotel is perfect for walking to the PAC, restaurants and bars downtown. I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzz22bd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deb J, General Manager at CopperLeaf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Thank you so much for all of your nice comments regarding our hotel. I am happy to hear you enjoyed the comfortable bed and in-room whirlpool, as well as our hot breakfast buffet. We are also very fortunate to be located in downtown Appleton and in close proximity to lots of restaurants and pubs and only one block from the Performing Arts. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay in Appleton and at the Copperleaf. My team and I hope you will stay with us again the next time you visit Appleton.

Take care,
Deb Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Appleton hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Paper Valley Hotel
3.3 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites
Cambria hotel & suites
#6 of 25 in Appleton
227 reviews
3.3 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Appleton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Appleton
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Appleton-Fox River Mall Area
3.1 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CopperLeaf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CopperLeaf Hotel

Address: 300 W College Ave, Appleton, WI 54911-5829
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Appleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Appleton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Appleton
#7 Family Hotel in Appleton
Price Range: $135 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — CopperLeaf Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Copperleaf Boutique Hotel is modeled after small family owned and operated European hotels. Our 75 room hotel offers a more refined and gracious hotel experience. You will be indulged with exquisite, personalized service in a warm, inviting and unique atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your CopperLeaf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copperleaf Hotel Appleton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing