We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room was bland in appearance, but clean, no view”
Review of CopperLeaf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
CopperLeaf Hotel
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Appleton
Certificate of Excellence
Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Room was bland in appearance, but clean, no view”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Breakfast was nice. Heating unit was noisy. No view at all. Blinds were NOT blackout. I could not block out the street lights because the actual curtains were decorative. What is with that? I would not stay here again due to that one problem. Service was good.

Room Tip: Ask for something with blackout shades. Maybe they will change things.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benegesserit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deb J, General Manager at CopperLeaf Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am happy that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast buffet and thank you for your nice comment regarding our service. Our goal is to provide exemplary service!

I appreciate your feedback regarding the blinds in your guest room and I certainly understand your inconvenience. Unfortunately street lights are an issue with a downtown property and we are addressing the black out issue when we renovate, which is scheduled for next year. We currently have two show rooms with black out drapery that demonstrate the anticipated new window treatment we will be using. In addition, we do have rooms that do not face the street that are available, so I hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you.

Again, thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. I hope we will see you again.

Sincerely,
Deb Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    82
    28
    10
    3
See reviews for
41
161
14
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

On a recent mid-week trip to Appleton to see the Broadway production of “The Lion King” we decided to make it a special occasion by staying the night in Appleton. Because location and convenience to the Performing Art Center in downtown Appleton was key, instead of staying at a franchise hotel out on the interstate, we decided to stay at the Copper Leaf Boutique Hotel, a mere block from the PAC. Because room location is important (quiet area, far from the elevator or ice machine), I opted to call the hotel and speak with a desk clerk. After discussing my particular needs with a very professional clerk, I decided on a Copper King room (<$125 per night).

We arrived at the hotel 2 hours before normal check-in and were told by Casey, our wonderful desk clerk, that not only was our room ready, we had been upgraded from the Copper King room, to the Platinum Fireplace Suite, the biggest and most luxurious room available (at the Copper King room rate, of course). I thought it was because we were attending the Lion King performance, but Casey was quick to point out that upgrades are done whenever possible for their guests.

When we entered the room we were stunned! Our two room suite was spacious, tastefully decorated, and very well appointed. Amenities in the lounge area included coffee pot, microwave and a well stocked mini-bar (extra cost). Wine glasses, Old Fashioned glasses and glass coffee cups, as well as the essential wine bottle opener were provided. Furnishings were a comfortable couch, oversized leather lounge chair, tables, and a desk with cordless phone. A 42” flat screen TV was mounted to the wall on a swivel to accommodate viewing from any angle.

The spacious bedroom was entered through two doors leading from the living area. The king size bed was the main feature with 300 thread count sheets, down pillows, and a duvet covered down comforter. The electric fireplace was at the foot of the bed with another flat screen TV mounted above. At the other end of the room was a beautiful whirlpool tub for two. The bathroom was spacious with fluffy towels and a huge walk in shower. All necessities were provided including a lighted make-up mirror and white waffle weave robes!

A complimentary hot breakfast is included; room service is also available. The hotel also has a comfortable lobby, a small bar, the Bella Vita Ristorante, the BenMarNico’s Spa, and a whirlpool and fitness center which is open 24 hours.

Reminiscent of small boutique hotels we stayed in when travelling in Germany; the Copper Leaf Hotel is an excellent choice when staying in downtown Appleton, and an exceptional value!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StormFan62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deb J, General Manager at CopperLeaf Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Wow...thank you so much for your fabulous critiique of our boutique hotel. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us for the Lion King performance and I am delighted you enjoyed your complimentary upgrade, which we were happy we could do for you!

If you ever need to stay again in the Appleton area, we certainly hope you will stay with us. We look forward to your return.

Again, thank you!

Take care,
Deb Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Spa Benmarnico's is serene. Recommend to anyone that would like to give a gift to themselves and/or to someone. The staff is professional and knowledgeable. I enjoy the balanced and elegant atmosphere. The staff truly cares about making sure every individual client gets their expectations met. I appreciated not being pressured on other products and/or services. (Some other spas sometimes have a high pressure on selling products and/or services.) Take a look at Spa Benmarnico's "menu" of what they have to offer. I would also like to note that Spa Benmarnico's is in a wonderful location, in the heart of downtown Appleton. You should feel comfortable you selected Spa Benmarnico's as your choice of spa. Thank you, I will be returning and will bring friends/family and I will be referring friends/family to Spa Benmarnico's.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Another great stay at the Copperleaf! Comfortable, affordable and perfect location. Aveda products are always a plus! We also dined on-site for dinner at Bella Vita. A great choice! Front desk staff was very helpful and welcoming. Check out their website for specials.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HNYMOONER28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deb J, General Manager at CopperLeaf Hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments and for being returning guests. It is so nice to see familiar faces of guests returning to stay with us and we certainly appreciate that you choose to stay with us when you visit the Appleton area. I am happy to hear that you enjoy the Aveda amenities we provide in the guest rooms. Thank you also for your nice feedback regarding our on-site Italian restaurant and our staff. I am very fortunate to have a great team here at the Copperleaf!
I certainly appreciate you taking time to share your experience with us. Enjoy the summer and we look forwad to your return.
Take care,
Deb Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sister Bay
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Difficult to find fault with anything at the Cooper Leaf. Extremely well maintained, decor is up-to-date, great downtown location,convenient public parking, and clean! My wife loved the spa. Spend a few more dollars, because it's worth it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigRedBubba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

A beautiful hotel in downtown Appleton. Convenient location , within walking distance of PAC, fun bars and restaurants. The hotel amenities are great. Very warm and relaxing suites. Great for personal or business stays.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cvanwisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 25, 2013

It started with when we called for our reservation, the young lady that answered the phone was extremely helpful, resourceful and nice. Her name was Sarah (we called on Sunday 3.24.13 at approx. 6 PM). Then when we got here, the whole staff was so friendly and it continued throughout our stay. The young man working nightshift, Casey, was absolutely WONDERFUL! He really did a great job accomidating our needs &was so helpful. He deserves to be recognized for his work ethic &attitude. We absolutely love this hotel &decided we're going to make this a yearly tradition. I will recommend it to anyone looking for a hotel in appleton as I recently did with my sister and her husband. They loved it as much as we do.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the bigger room. It's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Appleton hotels
3.3 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Appleton
0.1 mi away
Radisson Paper Valley Hotel
3.3 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites
Cambria hotel & suites
#7 of 24 in Appleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Appleton-Fox River Mall Area
3.1 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall
3.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Appleton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CopperLeaf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CopperLeaf Hotel

Property: CopperLeaf Hotel
Address: 300 W College Ave, Appleton, WI 54911-5829
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Appleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Appleton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Appleton
#7 Family Hotel in Appleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — CopperLeaf Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Copperleaf Boutique Hotel is modeled after small family owned and operated European hotels. Our 75 room hotel offers a more refined and gracious hotel experience. You will be indulged with exquisite, personalized service in a warm, inviting and unique atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your CopperLeaf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copperleaf Hotel Appleton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing