We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“charged for Onions on a Hamburger...Really???????”

Galvan's Restaurant
Ranked #83 of 366 Restaurants in Appleton
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“charged for Onions on a Hamburger...Really???????”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Looking for a place to eat in Appleton area and we like to try Diners....and reading the other reviews I thought we would try this place...... I had the open faced hot turkey...the turkey was good but the gravy was as yellow as the sun and out of a can....My husband had a cheeseburger and they charged him for a slice of onion....really....a slice of raw onion.....pretty pathetic.....We won't be going back....I was surprised they didn't charge me for my water......We also talked to the waitress about the breakfast and she said the skillet is really good and big but if you don't get all the items you can (5 veggies, 3 meats, 3 cheeses) you get a smaller portion but the price is still 9.99 as of this review.....so you might as well go for all of it and what you don't eat you can take home.....not impressed....or maybe we just ordered wrong???????

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelingEaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    13
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
kaukau
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Food”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Prices are great - food is excellent! Wait staff is friendly and professional. The menu has a large selection - would fit anyone's taste.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
238 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Hands down a favorite breakfast spot!”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

I can't say enough great things about Galvan's. Good service, awesome food that is consistently tasty, clean restaurant, nice display of desserts and the breakfast/lunch food is also displayed which is a nice touch. They have large booths that could seat 3 people on one side! Nice and roomy. Try it!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsLing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Consistently great food”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This place is VERY busy on Saturday and Sunday mornings, but the service is very efficient, so we've never had to wait long for a meal. Portions are huge. We've had pretty much everything on the breakfast menu and have found nothing we didn't like.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Count3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in Appleton”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Great family owned place with the world's nicest people and heaps of high quality food. Get there early on Sat and Sun, it gets busy by 9 am.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ChicagoSon74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galvan's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Galvan's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing