We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Appleton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place to Stay!”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This hotel is in an excellent and convenient to get everywhere we need to be in the Appleton area. Our room was very clean and comfortable and at a very reasonable rate. We asked for directions to the church and reception for the wedding we were attending and the front desk girl printed out a complete map and directions for us. The service in the breakfast area was awesome and a great variety of foods.
We also had a chance to have a cocktail at the bar and they had the Badger game on TV: Great Hotel, Thank you, We'll be back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Queenie8065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittney B, Guest Relations Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, Thank You for taking the time and writing a review about your experience at the GrandStay Hotel Appleton Fox River Mall. We hope to see you again soon.
God Bless,
Brittney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    105
    37
    14
    6
See reviews for
149
115
26
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The positive:
Rooms and common areas are clean, relatively quite (although I could hear the guy snoring in the room next to me, it wasn't obnoxious or anything). Great hot breakfast selection. On site bar (which I didn't use though).

The Bad:
This is 2013. It's not enough to just slap up a slow internet connection and a single access point for the entire hotel and advertise "free WiFi" anymore. People actually need use it now...especially business travelers...and their WiFi was completely unusable. Too many users, on too few access points, with insufficient bandwidth. This was my only real complaint, but it's a huge one for anyone trying to work from their hotel room, or with kids that rely on internet for their entertainment. On the plus side, there is at least a wired internet connection in each room that was more reliable, but worthless for iPods/iPads and other wireless only devices unless you bring your own wireless access point.

The amenities like the bar, exercise room and pool are fine for business travelers, but the pools is really small for kids. Not sure why they even bothered with it really,

In all it wasn't a bad stay, but the WiFi was worthless, and that's something that I depend on with most hotel stays. With better WiFi, I would definitely up the rating, but lousy WiFi is a big deal to me.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittney B, Guest Relations Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and want to Thank You for the compliments with our Cleanliness and our Grand Start Breakfast. We do know how important the internet access and WI-FI connectivity is to all our guest and want to explain here that we have the fastest internet package and it is Fiber Optic. Internet connection bandwidth 50 Mbps down by 50 Mbps up designed for multiple users. Please see our Technology Page under Hotel Tour to read more about the Time Warner Hotel Package. We also have 5 access points per floor so please ask the next time you come to the Hotel and one of our staff member's will gladly show you ho to get a password and get on the lighting speeds we offer for free. Please also note if you update your electronics you might be able to stay connected longer if that was a problem. We tested everything out today and it is all working up to speed but thanks for bringing up the issue and we are always happy to call Time Warner 24 hours a day so they can get it fixed immediately if something is wrong. We hope you will visit us again for your Business Travel and we will definitely Help you get your devise working properly at speeds faster than any other Hotel offers.
With Hospitality,
Brittney and Steve-(Time Warner Tech)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bemidji MN
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We had another great stay, as usual. I prefer this hotel over any other of comparable price/accommodations in the Appleton area. Everything is always clean and well kept. The staff is excellent - front desk, breakfast staff, housekeeping. All very pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: I didn't use the pool or exercise room. So have no input there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lack40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittney B, Public Relations Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thanks so Much, for the wonderful review. I will definitely print this review and post it for the entire staff to read. They are so Happy to get good reviews and they always take pride in there work so it's a Great Thank You For them too. We look forward for your next visit with us at the Grandstay Hotel Appleton-Fox River Mall.
With Hospitality,
Brittney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2013

The rooms were great, the breakfast was perfect, and we really enjoyed the hottub and pool area. We will be back. We came in for a Packer game and it was a nice location for us. Only about a 30 drive into Green Bay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Carla A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittney B, Guest Relations Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thanks for leaving us a Fantastic Review. Go Pack Go! Green Bay Packer Games are a lifetime experience and Lambeau Field is in a class all of it's own. Please visit us anytime and thank you.
With Hospitality,
Brittmey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed this past weekend in for the Packer season opener. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Room very clean, nice size. Breakfast good variety, fresh fruit , fresh coffee etc. Started my day with hostess Linda (great smile) and ended it in a quite room comfotable bed. Go to a Packer game every year will return to Grand Stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mac h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittney B, Guest Relations Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank You Packer Fan. Thanks for the compliments with our comfortable beds and the great breakfast. I will post your review for the staff members to read as they love getting credits from our valued guest like you. There hard work goes unnoticed by most and they appreciate these reviews as gratitude. We love to have you back again and again so please go to more games. :)
With Hospitality,
Brittney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

This place is average, at best, with some unusual and annoying issues.
• Our king-bedded room had only one nightstand, so I couldn't have my eyeglasses, etc., next to me.
• The under-window air conditioning unit was even louder than most, and even vibrated the floor when the refrigeration was running.
• You could not turn on the bathroom light without activating the loud, vibrating fan.
• There was only one little packet of coffee.
• The bottom of the bathtub was worn out and creaked when you stood on it.
• The rooms are very large, but the bathrooms are tiny. Who designed this place?
• Only 2 bath towels?? C'mon!
Finally, I hate foam rubber pillows, but others might enjoy them.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry_Gein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittney B, Guest Relations Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
I’m very sorry to hear that you did not have a pleasant experience at our hotel. Guest satisfaction is extremely important to us and we apologize our accommodations did not fully meet your expectations and that you found the design of our Hotel to be a major inconvenience to you. We will be sure to keep your feedback in mind as we're always working to improve our overall guest experience. I thank you for your review and I really hope you'll give us a second chance if your travels bring you back to our area.

With Hospitality,
Brittney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Stayed at the GrandStay Hotel last week when in Appleton. I'm a card member from another chain but have been getting frustrated with service at that hotel in Appleton so I decided to try a non chain hotel. Great move I've got to say!!!

The GrandStay staff was great from check in to check out! They are very guest focused and the hotel seems like it just opened up its door yesterday due to the updated atmosphere and furniture. The bed was very comfortable and the buffet breakfast included was a nice surprise as I've had to pay an additional $10 at the chain hotel I used to stay at.

It was great to visit the bar and they had appetizers from TGI Fridays at no charge. When down there I met a few other business travelors along with the nice night staff which makes the trip easier to be away from home.

Would highly recommend the GrandStay to anyone visiting Appleton in the future!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittney B, Guest Relations Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
We are absolutely thrilled to have read your overwhelmingly positive review of your recent stay at GrandStay Hotel & Suites. We have shared this with our team, particularly the sales team because there responsible for the appetizers from TGI Fridays. We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
With Hospitality,
Brittney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Appleton hotels
0.8 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Appleton
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Appleton
0.9 mi away
Best Western Appleton Inn
Best Western Appleton Inn
#11 of 25 in Appleton
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Appleton-Fox River Mall Area
5.6 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites
Cambria hotel & suites
#7 of 25 in Appleton
222 reviews
3.1 mi away
Radisson Paper Valley Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall

Property: GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall
Address: 300 N Mall Dr, Appleton, WI 54913-8567
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Appleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Appleton
#3 Family Hotel in Appleton
#4 Business Hotel in Appleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GrandStay Hotel is a premier Hotel located in Appleton, Wisconsin next to the Fox River mall and surrounded my award winning restaurants and world class shopping. The GrandStay offers elegant and luxurious accommodations for comfort and convenience at affordable rates. Awarded the Certificate of Excellence by Tripadvisor for 2011, 2012 and 2013 the GrandStay Hotel & Suites is the place to stay for unparalleled customer service and a convenient location Located only 2 miles from the Appleton Airport (ATW) and next to HWY 41 and College Ave Exit. GrandStay Hotel welcomes family and leisure travelers as well as the Business Guest who find our business amenities and services especially accommodating. We have all your needs with our Wellness Pool/Whirlpool, Fitness Room, Business Center, Meeting Rooms and not to forget our quaint and cozy cocktail lounge to relax with your favorite drink while socializing or watching sports on one of the many flat screens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandstay Hotel And Suites
Grandstay Hotel Appleton
Wingate Hotel Appleton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing