We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appleton's finest!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Appleton
Reviewed August 5, 2013

My wife and I decided to take a last minute trip to the Oshkosh Air Show and figured hotels would be raising their prices to an extreme rate. Most of them within the Oshkosh area did indeed do just that, so my wife started to look elsewhere. With Appleton being so close, she started to look in the area and found the Grandstay to be rated one of the highest and was very affordable.

When we arrived, the staff were very pleasant, friendly and Jason, the Sales Manager was very helpful in helping us with some ideas for the best places to grab some delicious grub. He lead us to a place called the Stone Cellar Brew Pub and the food was awesome as was their very own brews. If you plan to visit the region, this is where I would eat and make sure you order their brew flight and sample everything they make!

Back to the hotel... As I mentioned, the staff was great, but it gets better. The rooms were clean, roomy and the beds were comfortable as well which seems to be an issue for other hotels, even those that are far to expensive. More and more places are starting to provide larger complimentary breakfasts that include; eggs, potato of some kind, bacon and/or sausage, waffles, cereals, juices, muffins, etc and the Grandstay was no exception.

We would definitely return to the Grandstay and your next trip to the Appleton Region should include a stay at the Grandstay!

Room Tip: Any room will do!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NicholasSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie V, Public Relations Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear Nicholas SG,

Thank you so much for telling us about your recent stay! It's great to hear you experienced a wonderful time at the EAA air show, and that we could be a part of it! It's also wonderful to hear that you experienced some of Appleton's numerous wonderful restaurants. There are plenty! It's wonderful that you enjoyed the beds, the breakfast, and all of your service at the hotel. We take a lot of pride in this place, and I will pass along your compliments to our entire staff! We look forward to seeing you again sometime in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (546)
There are newer reviews for GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

318 - 324 of 546 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013

Sure it's a nice hotel for this class, but number one? I don't get it. Common areas and rooms are well maintained but outdated. Room was spacious with microwave, fridge, and coffee maker. Bed was comfortable but, as with most hotels in this class, not very quiet. Outside and inside noises were heard all night. Adequate breakfast. Overall I'd stay here again, but I'd stay at just about any of the hotels around the mall.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Lungfruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie V, Public Relations Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear Lungfruit,

Thank you for sharing about your recent experience here. It's wonderful that you found the place to be well maintained, and the room spacious. We always strive as a staff to be number one, which is decided by service, location, cleanliness, and value offered. We continue to to shine in these areas, and I'm glad you had a chance to experience us, and would once again return. We definitely hope to see you on your next trip this way! Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

This hotel has a great location. It's located by the mall, many restaurants, and right around the corner from the eye care center I went to. Although I had a driver with me, they can shuttle people from the eye center and help them to their room. I thought this was a great service offered. We also enjoyed the breakfast. They eggs, sausage, hash browns patties, fresh waffles along with cereal and fruit. They also have a coffee bar available 24-7. The pool was a little on the small side, but we didn't get to enjoy it anyway. The three staff member's that I met were very friendly. I had a problem with my reservation but they worked through the problem quickly and got me a room for the same price during a busy week. After my experience here, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T_BuckSconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie V, Public Relations Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear T_BuckSconsin,

Thank you for all your wonderful compliments about our property, and for sharing your thoughts with others. It's great to hear you had such a wonderful experience hear during your surgery stay. Hopefully your eyes are doing well! It's excellent to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast, location, and our excellent staff! If you are ever coming back this way we'll see you again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

For the money, this is the best place I have ever stayed. Beds VERY comfortable. Clean. Wonderful breakfast. Which includes Linda. She is very nice and helpful. VERY CLEAN. Even the maids are super. Made me want to tip and I did. Next to Fox River Mall, Eating and hospitals. This was our 3rd stay there and I would not stay anywhere else in Appleton.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Virginia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie V, Public Relations Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear Virginia G,

Thank you for all your wonderful compliments! It's great to hear that you found the place clean, and the location to be great as well. I will pass along your compliments to our wonderful staff. We definitely cannot wait to have you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

A recent trip to Appleton GrandStay found a facility with plenty of amenities. The staff was friendly, the rooms were well supplied & comfortable and the 'summer rate' was a pleasant surprise for the quality of the facility. Breakfast was plentiful, the business center & exercise room were very useful and the location was ideal. The only downside was that the bathroom fan sounded like a B-52 landing (maybe because of the proximity to the Oshkosh EAA).

Overall, our experience was very pleasant.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a quiet bathroom fan.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie V, Public Relations Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear Mark S,

Thanks for telling us about your recent stay! It's great to hear that you found the staff accommodating, the breakfast great, the business center useful, as well as exercise room. It's also great to hear that you found the location ideal. I did happen to love your joke about the EAA show and the fan! We do want them to be more powerful, as it creates more privacy between guests that are sharing that particular room. Again, thank you for all your comments, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Our company was hosting a meeting in Appleton with people coming from out of State for the meeting. I was able to speak to a very knowlegable gentleman, Jason Woller, who helped me coordinate rooms for the guests, as well as a conferance room for our meeting. We got rave reviews on the guest rooms: very clean and comfortable. The price for the rooms was outstanding for the ammenaties (a very nice breakfast included in the price) and the staff was very friendly. We will most definatly host another metting with the GrandStay and I will recommend it to anyone who is coming into Appleton and needs a hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank E M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie V, Public Relations Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear E M,

Thank you so much for telling us and all the future guests about your recent experience. It's fantastic to hear that your company had a wonderful meeting and also comfortable accommodations! We will gladly welcome you back anytime, and look forward to seeing more of you in the future!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This was my first 'Grandstay' and I loved it! The rooms, elevators, lobby and breakfast areas were cleaner than my house! We were greeted with smiles each time we stopped at the registration desk, too. Linda, the 'breakfast' served up a nice variety of foods and service with a smile. Coffee/tea were available 24/7...Bonus! I'm planning a return trip and might even change my next vacation reservations to GRANDSTAY from a leading chain hotel. Can't say enough good things!

Room Tip: Our choice was sight unseen and lovely. Assume they are all good!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msgym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie V, Public Relations Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear msgym,

It's wonderful to hear that your first stay was a Grand one! We hope to see you many more times! It's wonderful to hear that you found our breakfast to be great, and the service to be equally as great. I will pass along your compliments to our wonderful staff! We hope to see you again and again when you visit up this way! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Appleton hotels
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Appleton
0.8 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Appleton
5.6 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites
Cambria hotel & suites
#6 of 25 in Appleton
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Appleton-Fox River Mall Area
0.9 mi away
Best Western Appleton Inn
Best Western Appleton Inn
#9 of 25 in Appleton
507 reviews
3.1 mi away
Radisson Paper Valley Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall

Address: 300 N Mall Dr, Appleton, WI 54913-8567
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Appleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Appleton
#3 Family Hotel in Appleton
#4 Business Hotel in Appleton
Price Range: $123 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GrandStay Hotel is a premier Hotel located in Appleton, Wisconsin next to the Fox River mall and surrounded my award winning restaurants and world class shopping. The GrandStay offers elegant and luxurious accommodations for comfort and convenience at affordable rates. Awarded the Certificate of Excellence by Tripadvisor for 2011, 2012 and 2013 the GrandStay Hotel & Suites is the place to stay for unparalleled customer service and a convenient location Located only 2 miles from the Appleton Airport (ATW) and next to HWY 41 and College Ave Exit. GrandStay Hotel welcomes family and leisure travelers as well as the Business Guest who find our business amenities and services especially accommodating. We have all your needs with our Wellness Pool/Whirlpool, Fitness Room, Business Center, Meeting Rooms and not to forget our quaint and cozy cocktail lounge to relax with your favorite drink while socializing or watching sports on one of the many flat screens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandstay Hotel And Suites
Grandstay Hotel Appleton
Wingate Hotel Appleton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing