We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Two free drinks in exchange for no hot water.......not a recipe for a #1 rating.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Appleton
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Two free drinks in exchange for no hot water.......not a recipe for a #1 rating.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is a really nice property. The staff was friendly. The room was very clean, the bed just the best. I think that they were not very skilled at the front desk. On Sunday morning we had no hot water. The lady at the front desk looked confused and told us to come back in an hour. We did just this and still no hot water. Now the front desk said we would have to leave because it was check out time. The front desk attendant stated that the hot water problem had not occured before. Other staff members told us that on the weekend before there was no hot water. Other hotels we've stayed in in this situation offered a shower in an unoccupied room. At the least, the Grandstay could have discounted our room. Having no shower is not ameliorated by the manager giving us two free drinks during our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank radat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie V, Public Relations Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Radat,

Thank you for all your wonderful comments about our property. It’s fantastic to hear you loved our beds, and we pride ourselves on being the cleanest hotel in Appleton. Thank you for bringing it to our attention about the problem with the hot water. Thanks to you we discovered we had a faulty mixing valve, and had it promptly repaired. I do apologize for your inconvenience that morning, and would invite you to call and discuss this matter further with me. 920-993-1200. Thank you for your stay, and I hope to see you on your next trip up this way!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    103
    35
    13
    6
See reviews for
145
114
26
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is a jewel of a hotel. My friend booked us a room taking a chance since we have never heard of this hotel before. This is now my hotel of choice and will look for one whenever I travel. The cleanest hotel I've ever stayed in. The room was large, the beds ultra comfortable, the TV actually worked with great reception on ALL channels, the shower was spotless and with great water pressure. I can't say enough about the attentive staff especially Linda who prepared the food for breakfast and made sure that every guest was well taken care of with a smile and attitude that shows this woman clearly loves her job. The woman at the front desk, I forgot her name but she wore glasses, was very helpful when we needed directions. She also informed us that if we took our room key/card to Friday's we would get 15% off our bill but the area has tons of shopping and many restaurants so if Friday's is not your choice there are plenty of other places to go to. The only negative that we had was that the little refrigerator in our room froze all of our food, which was a lot of fruit and drinks, so all the fruit had to be thrown away. The woman at the front desk got right on it. Overall this was an extremely pleasant experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jillylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie V, Public Relations Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear GildaB,

It's wonderful to hear that you were able to find us!! It's great to hear you found us clean and comfortable! I will make sure I pass along your praises to our staff that did such a wonderful job being helpful to you! We are proud of our hard workers, and it's wonderful to hear they were so wonderful to you. We look forward to you finding us again in the near future! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thiensville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

The staff was excellent, friendly, accommadating and helpful. The rooms were very clean and fresh. Linda manager of the breakfast area went over and above to make sure the guests received what they needed. She walked around and greeted the guests and made sure everything was filled and hot. Would recommend to anyone. We will be back again

Room Tip: Close to the Timber Rattlers Stadium, shopping and excellent restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie V, Public Relations Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Kathy S,

Thank you so much for telling us about your stay! It's fantastic to hear that you loved our breakfast, and all the wonderful service Linda provides! It's also great to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location to everything. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

It was by chance we stayed at the GrandStay Hotel in Appleton, Wisconsin. The rate was more than reasonable after we realized what they had to offer. The Staff was very friendly, especially the cafeteria hostess. I travel a lot and am never satisfied with the mattress and pillows until now. I will mention that my stay was based on my daughter's timing of having her baby. I drove 3 hours to be with her and although the baby was to be born that night, Liam was born at 3 am the next morning. With everything that went into being with the baby, I made it to the hotel at 7 am. The hotel worked with my existing reservation and pricing being more than fair and understanding. Tons of shops and restaurants nearby as well.

Room Tip: My room (king size bed) is spacious. Included microwave and refrigerator. Decent size bathroom. V...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie V, Public Relations Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Tony B,

Congratulations on the new addition to your family!! I'm sure you are proud! It's great to hear you loved the beds and pillows. It's also wonderful to hear that you found the location to be convenient, and that you enjoyed our breakfast as well. If there are any future additions to your family coming up, or if you are coming to visit, we look forward to seeing you again! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martlon
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

This is a very clean and comfortable hotel. Great location - everything you could need is nearby. I stay here a few times a month for work. The price is great too! Rooms are very large and spacious, bed is very comfortable and the bathrooms are very clean. The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie V, Public Relations Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Michelle B,

Thank you Michelle for telling us about your stay! It's awesome to hear that you found the hotel comfortable, clean, and to have a great location! It's also fantastic to hear that you found our beds and bathrooms great as well. Thank you very very much for your compliments about our staff. I will be sure to pass them along! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

I am naturally very critical when it comes to hotels. I do not normally give a top rating however, my family's stay was perfect in every way. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The service was personable and professional. My family will absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie V, Public Relations Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Michael F,

Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your stay! It's wonderful to hear that you had such a wonderful stay. It's great to hear you liked the spacious rooms, and found them clean and comfortable. It's also great to hear that you had such a wonderful experience with the staff! I will share your praises with them. We hope to see you on your next trip to the area!
Thanks again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Clean, comfortable, quiet, perfect location!! Within walking distance to a huge mall and restaurants, we were happy to spend a week here on our trip to Appleton. Breakfast area was super clean, and offered a great variety of breakfast goods. The staff was helpful and pleasant. Probably the only complaint I have about the property is that there is no guest laundry, which means finding a laundry somewhere--doable, but not as convenient when staying long term. The pool and hot tub were clean and nice. My husband used the workout room, and said one of the pieces of equipment was broken, but since there was another, not a problem.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mrsbigiron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie V, Public Relations Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear mrsbigiron,

It's so wonderful to hear that you had a great stay! We appreciate you leaving your comments and telling everyone else about your experience. It's great to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast, and the great location. I will also pass along your compliments to our staff! Thanks for letting us know about the equipment issue in the fitness center. We have addressed and appreciate you telling us! We look forward to seeing you again on your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Appleton hotels
0.8 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Appleton
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Appleton
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Appleton-Fox River Mall Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Appleton Inn
BEST WESTERN Appleton Inn
#10 of 23 in Appleton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
5.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Appleton
5.6 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites
Cambria hotel & suites
#7 of 23 in Appleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall

Property: GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall
Address: 300 N Mall Drive, Appleton, WI 54913
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Appleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Appleton
#3 Family Hotel in Appleton
#4 Business Hotel in Appleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GrandStay Hotel is a premier Hotel located in Appleton, Wisconsin next to the Fox River mall and surrounded my award winning restaurants and world class shopping. The GrandStay offers elegant and luxurious accommodations for comfort and convenience at affordable rates. Awarded the Certificate of Excellence by Tripadvisor for 2011, 2012 and 2013 the GrandStay Hotel & Suites is the place to stay for unparalleled customer service and a convenient location Located only 2 miles from the Appleton Airport (ATW) and next to HWY 41 and College Ave Exit. GrandStay Hotel welcomes family and leisure travelers as well as the Business Guest who find our business amenities and services especially accommodating. We have all your needs with our Wellness Pool/Whirlpool, Fitness Room, Business Center, Meeting Rooms and not to forget our quaint and cozy cocktail lounge to relax with your favorite drink while socializing or watching sports on one of the many flat screens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandstay Hotel Appleton
Grandstay Hotel And Suites
Wingate Hotel Appleton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing