We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, inexpensive hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Appleton - Fox Cities
Ranked #20 of 25 Hotels in Appleton
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Nothing fancy at this place, but no complaints either. I stayed here for 9 days and it was comfortable and clean. The laundry facility is easily accessible, there is coffee and granola bars for breakfast. If I return to the area, I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Appleton - Fox Cities, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. It's great to hear that you enjoyed the comfort and cleanliness of our property. I am pleased to hear that you had an opportunity to enjoy our grab-ad-go breakfast.

Thank you again for sharing your comments with us. We look forward to hosting you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 116 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

Basically this facility is hammered. I blocked out 20 rooms and filled them with families visiting Lawrence University for a football game.The corporate office and manager were very accomodating,however I was embarrassed when I got there. The front desk appears worn out and shamby, however the staff was friendly and well dressed. The hallway smells, walls are all scuffed up and the carpet is very soiled and worn out. The room is huge but uninviting, sparsely decorated and the carpet worn out. The pillows were worn out, the linens were clean, the room was clean, the bathroom was clean but the shower head was poor and the bathroom sink didn't drain. The concept is great but the building was poorly built and this needs a total renovation. In this case the staff appears to doing the best with what they have to work with, which indicates to me poor corporate management and investment in the brand. This reminds me of a motel I stayed in a mining town in northern Canada. Not a complement.

Room Tip: Try somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edobernig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Appleton - Fox Cities, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. I would like to start by apologizing to you for not meeting your expectations. We strive to provide all our guests with a comfortable, “home away from home” experience. I am sorry we failed at that mission. We do appreciate the positive comments you made in regards to our front desk staff and the overall cleanliness of our guest rooms.

We will pass on your additional comments to our corporate office as we use feedback, such as yours, to continuously make changes to our brand and to improve our guest’s experience. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve to you in the future. Again, thank you for choosing our hotel and if I can be of assistance to you, please contact me directly at 920-830-9596.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Just wanted to let you know that we stayed at the Extended Stay America in Appleton, WI from July 7 to July 17 and while everybody was very friendly, I especially want to thank Alexis at the front desk. She was very helpful with all of our questions and needs, and always had a beautiful smile on her face, day and night. She definitely made our stay more enjoyable and stress free. Even though this hotel is not a luxury hotel, people like Alexis make us want to stay here again the next time we are in Appleton.

Dennis Nelson

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

My family camped during Lifest in Oshkosh. I DON'T camp so picked the Extended Stay in Appleton. The staff was very accommodating given check in time wasn't until 3 p.m. and I showed up at 11 a.m.
My room had access to the parking lot where I had to transport quite a bit of stuff. The room was clean and did not have an odor. There were pets in the hotel but my room did not have the normal dander associated with pets and so my allergies were not triggered.
The refrigerator and stove top made things much easier since I was storing and cooking some of the food we ate during the day at the Lifest grounds.
Overall, it was a real haven from the heat and I will be back again whenever I have business in Oshkosh or Appleton.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Best choice is another hotel. The staff is very rude, I was personally accused by one of the desk staff (Deidre) for doing god knows what, and they couldn't even explain what is was i did. It's ridiculous how they can hire people who do not do a damn thing except use the business phone for personal phone calls. WORST HOTEL I HAVE EVER STAYED IN.

Room Tip: Third floor, It's the furthest from the desk staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tyler t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Appleton - Fox Cities, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Tyler - The staff and I read your comments about your stay with us. I am extremely disheartened to read that our staff was not attentive to your needs. Please know, the members of our staff are there to assist guests 24-hours a day; however, if they are receiving treatment from a guest that might seem disrespectful, they are empowered to remove themselves from the situation. Still, I will be speaking with them about your situation so that it is not repeated moving forward.

Thanks to your feedback, we can continue to work on providing an exceptional stay for all of our guests. Please feel free to contact me directly, at APP@extendedstay.com, with any additional comments or questions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at the Extended Stay America in Appleton, WI. The staff were very friendly. I had called to say I would be a late check in and Rebecca said she would have it ready. It was, As soon as I walked into the door the paperwork was all done and ready to sign. I was very tired so that was a wonderful thing. The room was clean and the carpet looked new. The next morning I saw a lady from housekeeping she greeted me with a smile and ASKED if I needed anything. The was refreshing. The flowers outside the lobby were inviting and the parking lot was clean. I will call again when I go back to the area. Which I do often.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Appleton - Fox Cities, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Beth - The staff and I read your review, and would like to thank you for writing such great comments about our staff. I really love hearing how upbeat and happy our team was when greeting you. As well, I am so glad you enjoyed your clean room and the overall atmosphere of our hotel.

Thank you again for your kind words. The staff and I would love to provide you with another comfortable stay in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Yes the internet was very slow, But I had more problems listening to the dogs they allowed. Mostly during the dinner hour, as i was trying to work. The value overrides most of the complaints - they were very accommodating.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TLD2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Appleton - Fox Cities, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Thank you for providing us with details about your stay. Please accept our most sincere apologies for our slow internet connection and the noise disturbances you experienced due to dogs barking. To uphold our company's high standards, we are working to improve our WiFi speed and how we handle situations with pets moving forward.

Thanks to your feedback, we can continue to work on providing an exceptional stay for all of our guests. Please feel free to contact me directly, at APP@extendedstay.com, with any additional comments or questions. We would love to have another chance to provide you with a better experience the next time you're in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Appleton hotels
0.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Appleton
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Appleton
0.7 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#12 of 25 in Appleton
70 reviews
5.8 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites
Cambria hotel & suites
#6 of 25 in Appleton
229 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Appleton Inn
Best Western Appleton Inn
#10 of 25 in Appleton
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Appleton - Fox Cities? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Appleton - Fox Cities

Address: 4141 Boardwalk Ct, Appleton, WI 54914-7531
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Appleton
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 25 Hotels in Appleton
Price Range: $72 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Appleton - Fox Cities 2.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Extended Stay, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Extended Stay America - Appleton - Fox Cities reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay Appleton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing