We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very accommodating staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Appleton
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Appleton
Certificate of Excellence
Somewhere, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very accommodating staff”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I checked online to see if Carlson points could be used the evening of September 21st. At that time, points redemption was available. I was a few thousand points short and went online to purchase the needed points for a nights stay. As the points were not added for a couple days after the purchase, the night became unavailable during that time for points redemption. I emailed Carlson Club and they indicated they could not help me via email but to call the next day. I contacted Customer Service and explained the situation. They took the time to contact the property manager and allowed me to redeem my points for that evening. I was very happy that they were willing to accommodate my request after having spent the extra money purchasing points. When we arrived, I inquired if they were planning on setting up any breakfast items early the next morning as there was a large marathon in town I was participating in and had to leave before the breakfast time of 7a. The front desk Associate indicated they would be setting up some things early but couldn't guarantee every thing would be set out. This was greatly appreciated as I didn't need a full breakfast, just something small to get started. We then did some shopping and came back to use the pool which was nice amenity which included a hot tub. They also have free chocolate chip cookies along with coffee/tea/hot chocolate in the lobby. The rooms are starting to show their age and could use a spruce up but beds and pillows were very comfortable compared to other hotels I have stayed at recently. Rooms have a microwave and small refrigerator. Our room was also very quiet except for some hallway traffic. Had difficulties with room key but housekeeping let us in so we didn't have to run all the way back down to the front desk. When we went downstairs the next morning, the entire breakfast buffet was set up by 6a which was a welcomed sight ahead of my race! Upon arriving back at the hotel, we missed the end of breakfast and they were cleaning up. They did unlock the juice machine for us to grab a drink and allowed us to help ourselves to anything that was left. Overall, a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CIS-Appleton, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Appleton, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We are thrilled that we were able to accommodate you during the marathon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    121
    39
    27
    9
See reviews for
172
84
12
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crandon, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Close to mall. Pool is very nice. Rooms could use an update things are starting to show wear. Breakfast was far above average! Loved the granola, berries and yogurt to make parfaits! Staff were really friendly and helpful! It's a popular hotel with lots of people around but it was quiet and we slept very well, comfy beds!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WITVRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrspaco, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Appleton, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. We are at the begining of a large renovation so you will see major improvements by your next stay.

Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I chose to stay at this Country Inn & Suites because my usual hotel choice was full. I won't make this mistake again. The room was horribly dated. The couch was so old and worn that when I sat on it, I would feel the frame hitting the back of my legs. The TV was small and dated. The toilet malfunctioned and would not flush. The breakfast was adequate, nothing to brag about. Thankfully I only spent one evening there. Unless they go through some major renos, I will not recommend this hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank InfrequentFlyerGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrspaco, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Appleton, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
I am very sorry that you had a bad experience at our property. We are starting a major renovation, hopefully you will try us again soon. I promise you will not be dissapointed. Please contact me so we can discuss further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnsville, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I have been coming here for the last two and a half years for company business and will stay here for three or four nights every four months. The day crew here are very friendly and accommodating. The rooms are clean and neat, and seems that they going to start to refresh or update it a bit. The only thing I really dislike about this place is the night clerk Clint, he is very rude and arrogaunt that talks under his breath about you, he should not be working in a place where he has to interact with the public due to his people skills. He is not friendly not helpful at all and it has been more than a couple of times where he has also treated some of my co-workers in the same fashion. But hopfully you don't have to deal with him and other than him this place is very decent.

Room Tip: Deal with the day crew Clint the night clerk is not friendly everyone else is very attentive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inoexo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrspaco, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Appleton, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience, I sincerly apologize for the way you were treated by a member of our staff. As manager of the property I take your comments and feedback seriously, so thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tegucigalpa, Honduras
Level Contributor
640 reviews
187 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I chose hotel due to its proximity to mall.

The hotel was clean, everyone friendly.

The breakfast was decent, basic continental plus a couple of hot items, which were varied each day.
Complimentary wifi was fast. Front desk had fruit and cookies.Housekeeping as good, plenty of clean towels. Mini fridge and microwave in room.

Walking distance to plenty of restaurants, chipotle, 5 guys, and also walking distance to Mall.

I had a room at back of hotel, which was quiet, but was facing west, so summer heat radiated on room and it was very hot in afternoon. AC barely kept up, but by sunset the temp was ok. Keep in mind outside it was 95 degrees.

Overall, pleasant, clean, comfortable, functional, friendly staff, great value.

Room Tip: Rooms facing rear are a lot more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ORD-TGU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrspaco, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Appleton, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our property! We truly appreciate your compliments, and are glad to see you enjoyed your time with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturgeon Bay
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2013

The room was Great The staff Excelent, The location very nice and the rates Good. But we took our three Grandchildren to swim in the pool and when we checked in the pool was cloosed and stayed that way until the next morning. We got up in the morning ate breakfest which by the way was very nice.we then got dressed to go swimming and we were in the pool about a half hour when the pool man came and told us we had to get out because of yet another problem. And it was closed until after checkout. Thats tough when you have a 5 ,4 and1 year old wanting to swim

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrspaco, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Appleton, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
I am so sorry for you dissapointing stay! I know what it is like to have dissapointed grandchildren. I believe I sent you information on a return stay. Please contact me directly so we can discuss at (920)830-3240. We appreciate your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersburg, Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

With the Green Bay Packers playing at home, it was cheaper to stay here; folks
were nice, efficient, room was CLEAN and the breakfast very GOOD; Plenty of
space for parking; well-lit. We LIKE Country Inns and a Club Carlson card does
allow for lower pricing options.

Room Tip: Plenty of seating for the free Breakfast; food good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrspaco, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Appleton, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your trip to cheer on the Packers! We are glad you had a great experience and appreciate that you completed a review. Hopefully we will see you again on your next Packer trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Appleton hotels
0.8 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Appleton
0.2 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Appleton-Fox River Mall Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Appleton Inn
Best Western Appleton Inn
#11 of 24 in Appleton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
5.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Appleton
5.5 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites
Cambria hotel & suites
#7 of 24 in Appleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Appleton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Appleton

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Appleton
Address: 355 N Fox River Dr, Appleton, WI 54913-9116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Appleton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Appleton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Appleton
#7 Business Hotel in Appleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Appleton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let us spoil you with freshly baked cookies and a free hot breakfast as well as high-speed Internet access and a team who will welcome you like family. At Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Appleton, WI we'll always make you feel right at home. Visit us and see why we'll have you saying, "I love this Country."We are conveniently located behind the Fox River Mall and within walking distance to several restuarants. The Outagamie Airport is located only 5 minutes from our property and your taxi ride is on us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Appleton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Appleton
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Appleton Hotel Appleton
Country Inn Appleton
Appleton Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing