We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“watch out”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Appleton
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Appleton
Certificate of Excellence
Random Lake, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“watch out”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

hot water problems staff just blew it off.It was clean but would neve stay again.kids running all over no supervison and the staff let that go to .we had to park in a snow bank just a total nitemare
from check to check out.the manger is nice she did give us a full refund so you figure out the rest

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nanner17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrspaco, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Appleton, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
I am very sorry your stay was not up to your expectations, hopefully you will use the complimentray stay in a whirlpool suite that we gave you at check out to try us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    119
    39
    27
    8
See reviews for
167
81
12
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
57 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Comfortable stay. Very friendly staff.

Pros:
- No odors throughout the hotel. Rooms are very fresh and clean.
- Beds are extremely comfy
- Decent Breakfast

Cons:
- No Lunch or Dinner options
- No Spa
- Although the thermostat was set to 68, the room temperature was very warm.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the front side of the building. My room was on the 2nd floor, facing the back, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrspaco, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Appleton, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us while in Appleton! I appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, ca
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

Got good people here in this hotel. Friendly, kind and personable. You got Gina, Mindy, Clint, Michelle, Ashley, Kim, Nichole, Emily, Edna, Lisa and other staff too numerous to mention. All good people willing to lend a smile. Cant beat it!!! Keep up the charm and good work, its a true virtue in these changing times.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrspaco, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Appleton, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you so much for such a great review! We miss you already you all became a part of our Country Inn Family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawano, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

The front desk staff at this hotel is absolutely awesome. Clint greeted us upon arrival and made the check-in process about as smooth as I have ever experienced. Every time we went in or out of the front door, the staff acknowledged our departure or arrival with a smile and a friendly greeting. The room was very clean and comfortable. The pool area was very clean as well. Continental breakfast was good, with a great variety of choices. Also loved the free cookies in the lobby in the evening. Overall a very good choice and value for the rate.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kurt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrspaco, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Appleton, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you so much for such a great review and look forward to seeing you again when you come to our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
413 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here a week during a tough time in our life (passing of relative), an the staff was incredibly accommodating. They went out of there way to see that we had an available room during a packer playoff weekend, helped us to get the best possible rate, and treated us as if we were family.
The staff here is incredibly nice, enormously helpful, and extremely gracious. We are very thankful for the help and hospitality, and whole-heartedly reccomend this hotel.
Hotel is clean, rooms are well kept, and the location is very handy.

Hats off to a great hotel....you made our tough time easier.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mjldly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrspaco, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Appleton, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review! I am so glad we were able to help you during a difficult time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

A lovely hotel, great location and a very pleasant staff. It is time to update the decor the furniture, TV,showerheads,bedding is all starting to show its wear and tear. Felt like I was in the 1990's not 2012 but all in all a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: They offer $10- room upgrades if available. It was an option I took and was very pleased.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charioteer16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at this property in the past and have been treated wonderfully by the management and staff. This trip was no exception. I messed up and made our reservation for the wrong night, even going so far as requesting a room upgrade if it was available upon check-in. The gentleman at the front desk (I feel bad that I didn't take his name because he was terrific!) was able to accommodate our request for the upgraded room and was very nice about fixing my mistake for me!

With that being said, I do have to admit that this property is starting to look a little "worn around the edges"... nothing horrible-horrible, knowing how much use this property must see over the course of the Packer Season and being so close to the Fox River Mall, just your normal wear and tear for a high traffic hotel. It's just getting time to fix a few things or put some money into a few renovations here. One example.. some of the tiles on the floor in our bathroom sort of wiggled when we stepped on them.

We were able to upgrade to the King suite with the whirlpool tub and the room was very spacious. It has the standard hotel size refrigerator and microwave, which is just fine for an overnight stay. The suite offers a seating area with a pullout sofa and second television. The tub is nice and deep and offers a lot of room to soak (I don't use the jets in hotel jacuzzi tubs after a rather icky experience with one several years ago- at another hotel entirely) and that felt good on a cold, damp winter evening.

The location is awesome, not far off of Highway 41 and very close to the Fox River Mall. It's located right in the midst of all of the ancillary stores and restaurants surrounding the mall, so if you're going up there to shop or have dinner near the mall, this is a great hotel to stay at.

Overall, our experience was fine and we would most definitely stay here again when we want to take a quick overnight trip to Appleton.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Trish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Appleton hotels
0.8 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Appleton
0.2 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Appleton-Fox River Mall Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Appleton Inn
BEST WESTERN Appleton Inn
#10 of 23 in Appleton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
5.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Appleton
5.5 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites
Cambria hotel & suites
#7 of 23 in Appleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Appleton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Appleton

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Appleton
Address: 355 N Fox River Dr, Appleton, WI 54913-9116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Appleton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Appleton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Appleton
#7 Business Hotel in Appleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Appleton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let us spoil you with freshly baked cookies and a free hot breakfast as well as high-speed Internet access and a team who will welcome you like family. At Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Appleton, WI we'll always make you feel right at home. Visit us and see why we'll have you saying, "I love this Country."We are conveniently located behind the Fox River Mall and within walking distance to several restuarants. The Outagamie Airport is located only 5 minutes from our property and your taxi ride is on us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Carlson, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Appleton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Appleton
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Appleton Hotel Appleton
Country Inn Appleton
Appleton Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing