We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Appleton
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Appleton
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great choice”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

A lovely hotel, great location and a very pleasant staff. It is time to update the decor the furniture, TV,showerheads,bedding is all starting to show its wear and tear. Felt like I was in the 1990's not 2012 but all in all a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: They offer $10- room upgrades if available. It was an option I took and was very pleased.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charioteer16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    124
    39
    27
    9
See reviews for
174
86
12
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at this property in the past and have been treated wonderfully by the management and staff. This trip was no exception. I messed up and made our reservation for the wrong night, even going so far as requesting a room upgrade if it was available upon check-in. The gentleman at the front desk (I feel bad that I didn't take his name because he was terrific!) was able to accommodate our request for the upgraded room and was very nice about fixing my mistake for me!

With that being said, I do have to admit that this property is starting to look a little "worn around the edges"... nothing horrible-horrible, knowing how much use this property must see over the course of the Packer Season and being so close to the Fox River Mall, just your normal wear and tear for a high traffic hotel. It's just getting time to fix a few things or put some money into a few renovations here. One example.. some of the tiles on the floor in our bathroom sort of wiggled when we stepped on them.

We were able to upgrade to the King suite with the whirlpool tub and the room was very spacious. It has the standard hotel size refrigerator and microwave, which is just fine for an overnight stay. The suite offers a seating area with a pullout sofa and second television. The tub is nice and deep and offers a lot of room to soak (I don't use the jets in hotel jacuzzi tubs after a rather icky experience with one several years ago- at another hotel entirely) and that felt good on a cold, damp winter evening.

The location is awesome, not far off of Highway 41 and very close to the Fox River Mall. It's located right in the midst of all of the ancillary stores and restaurants surrounding the mall, so if you're going up there to shop or have dinner near the mall, this is a great hotel to stay at.

Overall, our experience was fine and we would most definitely stay here again when we want to take a quick overnight trip to Appleton.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Trish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern wisconsin
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed here rather than paying the exorbitant fees in Green Bay for hotels on a Packer game weekend. Wow, were we pleasantly surprised! For what we paid, we got a lot of value. We had one king room and one with 2queens. Al the beds were super comfortable, nicely furnished, clean and quiet. The pool area was nice. Breakfast had a nice variety and was different both days we were there. The staff was pleasant and helpful. The "workout room" was disappointing, though. Just a stationary bike...nothing else. Other than that small issue, we had no complaints! Lots of shopping and restaurants within walking distance. We will DEFINITELY stay here from now on for every Packer game we attend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowdancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviewed December 7, 2012

What a wonderful stay! Genuine, friendly and attentive staff, at all hours. Fresh cookies and apples available near the front desk was a lovely touch and much appreciated. These hotels also have a small library of books in the lobby that you can take, read and return to any Country Inn & Suites hotel in the nation, and have a wide variety, including selections for children. The breakfast was excellent, fresh, delicious and well-attended to. Free day pass to the local Gold's Gym is available. Beautiful big pool area with many large windows and a separate gathering room off to the side, nice big whirlpool. Situated along a pretty wooded area and small stream. Hotel is walking distance to the mall and other nice stores. Nearby are many restaurants. If you'd like some delicious comfort food, amazing service and a sweet little country gift store, head for the Machine Shed restaurant. A lovely place, also within walking distance. I consider myself a little fussy, but loved our stay at this hotel. We definitely will be back!

Room Tip: We stayed during the week on the third floor overlooking the wooded area. It was pretty day or night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Our overall experience was very, very positive, mainly because every single person we encountered on the staff was friendly, pleasant and helpful. Lori Ann, the woman in charge of cleaning our floor, deserves special kudos. She was a delight.
Other Positives - Nice, big whirlpool suite at an affordable price. Great hot breakfast in the morning. Very clean and well-kept. And afternoon cookies are always a nice treat. :)
In Need of Improvement - Our bed wasn't all that comfortable; felt like it might be getting old. Also, there was a frequent shaking on our floor - it sounded/felt like some large industrial equipment was running in the hotel.
Still, those quibbles are minor compared with all of the positives. It was a great experience and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MICHIGAN
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Was pleasantly surprised with this hotel. Close to the mall and a lot of other shopping opportunities. The room was clean and the staff was friendly. Would stay again. The pool area was large and clean, the breakfast was nice and had some good options.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KLAIT1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

What a wonderful place to stay. The staff was so accommodating. The room was a nice size and very clean and the bed was wonderful. There is also a very nice continental breakfast included. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and if ever in Appleton again - we will be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avidrdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CIS-Appleton, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Appleton, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel. We are happy to see that you enjoyed our clean rooms, comfy beds, and delicious breakfast. I will be sure to share your comments with the rest of the team!

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!


Sincerely,

Erica Waller
General Manager
Country Inn & Suites
(920) 830-3240
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Appleton hotels
0.8 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Appleton
0.2 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall
0.8 mi away
Best Western Appleton Inn
Best Western Appleton Inn
#11 of 25 in Appleton
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Appleton-Fox River Mall Area
5.5 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites
Cambria hotel & suites
#7 of 25 in Appleton
222 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Appleton College Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Appleton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Appleton

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Appleton
Address: 355 N Fox River Dr, Appleton, WI 54913-9116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Appleton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Appleton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Appleton
#7 Business Hotel in Appleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Appleton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let us spoil you with freshly baked cookies and a free hot breakfast as well as high-speed Internet access and a team who will welcome you like family. At Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Appleton, WI we'll always make you feel right at home. Visit us and see why we'll have you saying, "I love this Country."We are conveniently located behind the Fox River Mall and within walking distance to several restuarants. The Outagamie Airport is located only 5 minutes from our property and your taxi ride is on us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Carlson, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Appleton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Appleton
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Appleton Hotel Appleton
Country Inn Appleton
Appleton Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing