We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, but not worth the price due to poor housekeeping”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Appleton
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Appleton
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good location, but not worth the price due to poor housekeeping”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

We stayed at the Country Inn over Thanksgiving and again over New Years Eve, purely for convenience of location.

Both times, our room was not cleaned nor towels replaced on the holiday, yet we paid full price. Our room rate was $177/night, so NOT worth the price. At most, this hotel is worth $65/night.

Next to the bed, there was residue of something that had been splashed on the wall, but never wiped off (dried grape juice? Room 347). On the carpet next to the bed was a red grape and coffee beans that had not been vacuumed up before we checked into our room. I don't think housekeeping vacuums under the curtains or between the nightstand and wall.

Both visits, the hallways and rooms had an overpowering smell of carpet deodorizer. Would rather the room actually "be" clean rather than mask odors with a fragrance.

Cheap carpet, furniture, bed.

On the plus side: nice lobby, acceptable breakfast, fresh baked cookies, good location, friendly receptionist, good TV's, convenient mini-fridge.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjnich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CIS-Appleton, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Appleton, responded to this review, January 27, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. I noticed your comments about the lack of attention to detail by housekeeping. I understand your frustration and I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced. I will address theses issues with our housekeeping staff to ensure it doesn't happen again.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Country Inns & Suites we would like to thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Sincerely,
Erica Waller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    119
    39
    27
    8
See reviews for
167
81
12
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

Nice&clean spacefull rooms,the breakfeast offers a little bit more then in a chain hotel or motel.
Nice pool area. You are located at the parking area of a big shopping mall and near the airport.
This could be a plus or a minus. I had a bad experience cause I arrived late at the airport with the shuttle service(a cab compagnie) and had to phone several times to get me to the hotel.For me I liked the service in the hotel but over all its not worth the price and location.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tommella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CIS-Appleton, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Appleton, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
We appreciate you taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. Thank you for your comments about our facility's cleanliness and our tasty breakfast. I'm glad you found the hotel to be comfortable during your stay. Also, I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced while getting a cab at the airport.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Country Inns & Suites we would like to thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Sincerely,
Erica Waller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
248 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2011

I just spent one night here on the way to the Upper Peninsula. It's right off the Interstate and adjacent to a large mall, yet we were not bothered by noise at all. The front desk staff was friendly and efficient - we had two connecting rooms which was just perfect. Each room had a refrigerator and microwave; the bathrooms were clean and fully functional. We did not use the pool or exercise area but they looked to be in good condition. We had to leave before the "official" 6 AM opening time for breakfast but they kindly allowed us to have any of the items that were ready - cereal, fruit, yogurt, pastries, toast, bagels, juices were available at that hour; they were still setting up when we left but I saw a waffle maker at least. Very nice place- I would definitely stay again if I am passing through the area.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fotobug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CIS-Appleton, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Appleton, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
We appreciate you taking the time to share your story about your recent stay with us. Thank you for your comments about the friendly front desk staff. I will be sure to share your comments with them. I'm glad to see you were able to get a little breakfast on your way out even though it wasn't fully ready.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Country Inns & Suites we would like to thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Sincerely,
Erica Waller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

We have stayed at this hotel a few times. The rooms are showing some wear, but are quite lserviceable. The staff at the front desk were very helpful and pleasant. The hotel is located on the edge of a nice shopping mall. We booked our room through a discount website and felt the room was well worth the price we paid.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IowaWalkingal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CIS-Appleton, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Appleton, responded to this review, September 30, 2011
We appreciate you taking the time to complete a survey regarding your recent stay with us. Thank you for your comments about the helpful staff members and our great location near the Fox River Mall. I will be sure to share your comments with the rest of the staff.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Country Inns & Suites we would like to thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Sincerely,

Erica Waller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2011

Our stay at this hotel has set the standard by which we judge other comfort Inn & suites. We arrived hours before regular check in and they were able to accommodate us with no fuss. The room we were in was immaculate and welcoming. The staff helpful but not intrusive. Being able to check in early allowed us to get some much needed sleep and showers before meeting with family that afternoon.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariacraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CIS-Appleton, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Appleton, responded to this review, September 30, 2011
We appreciate you taking the time to complete a survey regarding your recent stay with us. I'm glad you found our front desk staff to be helpful. I will be sure to share your comments with them. Also, thank you for your comments about the cleanliness of our rooms. My housekeeping staff will be thrilled to hear they are making an impression on our guests.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Country Inns & Suites we would like to thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Sincerely,

Erica Waller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

we spent two nights and were very pleased by the friendliness of the staff. We particularly enjoyed the cookies at snack time, and the well stacked free library (you can take your book home if you are not finished reading it). The room was very clean, comfortable and quiet. I just would like more interesting options for breakfast (which is free), and everything would be perfect.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CIS-Appleton, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Appleton, responded to this review, September 24, 2011
We appreciate you taking the time to complete a survey regarding your recent stay with us. Thank you for your comments about our friendly staff members. I will be sure to share your comments with everyone. I'm glad to see you enjoyed our cookies and the Read It & Return library books. Hopefully you found a couple you liked! I also noticed your comment about having more interesting options at breakfast and we will do our best to exceed your expectations next time.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Country Inns & Suites we would like to thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Sincerely,
Erica Waller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

I recently stayed at the Country Inn and Suites over the weekend. We were in town visiting family and after a tiring drive up, when my boyfriend and I walked into our room we couldn't believe it. It was such a spacious room, it literally felt like we were in an exclusive suite but without paying the heavy fee for it. The pool was 24 hrs which was awesome, and the continental breakfast was a very pleasant surprise from other hotels. I would definitely go back there in a heartbeat! It would make for a great mini getaway since I just live in Milwaukee. Staff was extremely friendly as well.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CIS-Appleton, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Appleton, responded to this review, September 24, 2011
We appreciate you taking the time to complete a survey regarding your recent stay with us. Thank you for the wonderful comments about our spacious rooms and 24-hr indoor pool area. I'm glad you were able to enjoy our newly enhanced breakfast.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Country Inns & Suites we would like to thank you for your business and we hope to see you again on your next mini vacation!

Sincerely,
Erica Waller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Appleton hotels
0.8 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Appleton
0.2 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Appleton-Fox River Mall Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Appleton Inn
BEST WESTERN Appleton Inn
#10 of 23 in Appleton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
5.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Appleton
5.5 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites
Cambria hotel & suites
#7 of 23 in Appleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Appleton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Appleton

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Appleton
Address: 355 N Fox River Dr, Appleton, WI 54913-9116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Appleton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Appleton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Appleton
#7 Business Hotel in Appleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Appleton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let us spoil you with freshly baked cookies and a free hot breakfast as well as high-speed Internet access and a team who will welcome you like family. At Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Appleton, WI we'll always make you feel right at home. Visit us and see why we'll have you saying, "I love this Country."We are conveniently located behind the Fox River Mall and within walking distance to several restuarants. The Outagamie Airport is located only 5 minutes from our property and your taxi ride is on us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Appleton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Appleton
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Appleton Hotel Appleton
Country Inn Appleton
Appleton Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing