We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Believe everything you read and hear, try it your self”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Appleton
Ranked #20 of 25 Hotels in Appleton
Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Don't Believe everything you read and hear, try it your self”
Reviewed March 7, 2011

Just came back from a three night stay here and it was a good stay. Yes the property is an older one but they are continiously making renovations.

We had a room with a King and it slept better then a few of the more or should I say very expensive chain hotels.
Also had a refrigerator that worked and kept items cold like they should. Yes you have to go up a flight of stairs, but what is a little excercise.

Breakfast was decent very good coffee, waffles, hard boiled egss and pastries from strudels to bagels with cream cheese.

Noticed a lot of airline personnel frequent the property for their overnight stays.

All and all unless your the type that wants everything on a golden platter, this place is great for the money spent and that s the bottom line.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 724snowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    61
    22
    22
    27
See reviews for
63
34
14
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2010

We stayed at this hotel to attend the air show in oshkosh WI. as their were no hotels available. We paid 149 plus tax for a regular room. At first we arrived at the wrong hotel, apparently, there are two La Quinta's right next to each other. I was told to go down the road for the other La Quinta and was sent on a wild goose chase. After about 30 minutes, I finally found the correct hotel. After checking in, the room was horrible for what I would expect of a $150 dollar room. I would expect something like that at the super 8, but not after paying what we did. The room reeked of smoke. Ancient television set. Toilet Paper holder broken, carpet felt dirty. The drapes do not even match the beds! The door to the room looked like I was checking into a hotel in the worst part of town with all the dents and scratches in it. We asked for two extra pillows and were told they did not have any more. After my wife called back a few minutes later and complained very loudly, they suddenly found some more pillows.

I would never reccommed this hotel to anyone. For what you have to pay, it is not worth it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eharper05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2010

I was looking for a hotel to stay at during my short visit to Wisconsin. Cost was somewhat of an issue so I was looking for something a bit cheaper. Upon checking out where I wanted to go, the La Quinta looked like a good place for the money but was a bit leery when I looked at some of the reviews. I decided in the end to go since I'd never stayed at a La Quinta Inn before.

The first thing to note is that there are two La Quintas on the same side of the street practically next to each other. This amounted in some confusion. I drove to the hotel that seemed to be the right address and parked.

Upon entering the lobby, I was greeted at the desk. I asked if this was the College Avenue/Fox River Mall La Quinta to which she said yes and I said that I had a reservation there. I gave her my name and she found me right away. Because I was a Rewards member, I did not have to sign anything and she even gave me a bottle of water and a chocolate chip cookie.

She then gave me the key to my room which was in the next complex over (this hotel has two buildings). Upon entering my room I did see it to be clean and the bed felt very comfortable. When I checked the bathroom out I did see only a walk in shower which is unusual for a hotel but was not disappointed. My complaint about the bathroom is that its so small that you have to stand outside the bathroom to open the shower door. The knobs on the shower were easy to use and I got the right temperature for the shower right away.

The bed itself was very comfortable and I woke up refreshed the next day. They do have a breakfast available beyond the check-in area and in addition to the usual danishes, cereal, waffles, and coffee/juices, they do have boiled eggs to eat as well.

For those like myself that do not have a laptop, there is a computer available in the lobby area.

Also, either cash or a credit card is strongly suggested for use. They have a warning (which I did see on their website) that if you use a debit card they will pre-authorize your card with the amount of the room in addition to the room charge. The pre-auth is removed within a few days but still that money is not available to you.

All in all this was a good stay. The hotel is clean and very comfortable and its close to downtown Appleton (2 mi) and the Mall (Fox River Mall just west on the other side of the expressway). I would stay at this hotel again if given the opportunity.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petrohd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marquette, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2010

I was on my way to Madison for a family medical issue and wanted a cheap overnight room along the way. I found a price of $51.00 online, and since it was last minute I called the property to check the rate and they gave it to me for $49.90 all-in. I was pretty leary, but since I was going to be alone, it's right on US41 and I just needed a bed I went for it. The property is older for sure, the newer property is on the other side of the parking lot and is considerably more expensive. Check-in was easy and I was put into the western building in room 104, I would ask for this building if given a choice since the main building had doors from the outside and this building was enclosed. I had a king room, it was reasonably clean, and while the fixtures were old they were servicable. No tub, just a shower which I found unusual. The room also had a fridge and microwave, along with a decent TV with a premium channel included. Wireless internet was free and worked good for me.

It was getting late, but I wanted to eat and they had 10% off certificates for the Texas Roadhouse which was right next door (so is an Applebees) so I walked over and saved a few bucks on a steak dinner. The walls were thin, but the temperature control allows to leave the fan on so that and a towel stuffed under the door kept things quiet enough to sleep. The bed was okay, the linens were a little thin but clean and didn't smell too much like chlorine. The next morning the shower was okay, they provide shampoo and a non-slimy soap which was good for me. The rooms do have hair dryers as well.

There was a basic breakfast included that served the usual waffles, cereals, muffins, juice coffee, hard boiled eggs, etc. Check out was quick and I was on my way.

I don't think I'd stay here a week with the family, but for a quick overnight at $49, I would be hard pressed to complain about my experience.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brillion wi
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2010

I checked in for a Monday night and Tuesday night in February 2010. After reading the reviews on this site was not sure but they were the cheapest for a room with a microwave and mini refrig. I had to work at a store near the fox river mall Monday and Tuesday nite from 5 pm - 11 pm and a big snow storm was predicted and I am cannot see well at night to drive the hour drive home.

I decided to take a chance since the reviews were older and generally usually only those people who have a bad experience write. So for that one bad experience there are probably a couple thousand ok experiences.

Got there at 11:30 pm after work. Clerk at front desk was very courtous and helpful. Room was very large for a hotel room (it had a king bed, a dresser, a desk, a regular upholstered chair but was not a rocker, and two night stands.

The bathroom was small however and there was only a tiled shower. I would have liked to have a tub/shower combo. But I forgot to ask about that when I booked the room and the other hotels wanted $10 more each for a microwave and a frig even though expedia had those listed as included on the expedia rate for the other hotel.

The faucet for the shower was a little tricky to operate and at first I got very little water pressure and very hot water. But then I played with the dial and got both the water pressure and nice warm water.

The alarm clock supplied worked well as did the wake up call service. The wireless internet also worked well. They only have an outdoor pool which was of course closed in February. I did not have the free continental breakfast as I slept until 2 pm on Tuesday after working till 11 pm Monday night and left for home by 8 am on Wednesday morning.

Overall a pleasant experience. I paid $45 per night.

Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank jsample
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2009

We checked in late and the rooms were not ready....... carpet was brown and black...brown bugs in the bathtub and the room reaked of smoke in a non smoking room......I cried and slept in my car - no kidding......

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimmykster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Appleton hotels
0.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Appleton
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#13 of 25 in Appleton
64 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Appleton Inn
Best Western Appleton Inn
#8 of 25 in Appleton
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Motel 6 Appleton
Motel 6 Appleton
#23 of 25 in Appleton
204 reviews
1.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Appleton
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Appleton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Appleton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Appleton

Property: Red Roof Inn Appleton
Address: 3920 W College Ave, Appleton, WI 54914-3908 (Formerly La Quinta Inn Appleton Fox River Mall Area)
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Appleton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 25 Hotels in Appleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof Inn Appleton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family friendly Red Roof Inn Appleton is located only 32 miles from Lambeau Field. The home of the Green Bay Packers. Appleton is home to the 165 year old Lawrence University, Fox City Stadium, Fox Cities Children's Museum, Trout Museum of Art, and The Fox River Mall, the second largest shopping mall in Wisconsin. Plexus, Banta, Pierce Manufacturing, and Appleton papers are all based here. The Appleton area is also the site of the EAA Airventure Show and the Country USA Music Festival. The hotel features a lobby business center with PC and printer, a free fitness facility off site, free WiFi throughout the hotel, and plenty of on onsite parking for cars, trucks, vans, bobtails, semis, and bus. Enjoy our sparkling outdoor pool, from May through September. All of our guest rooms feature flat screen TV's with extended cable television, hairdryer, in-room coffee and iron & ironing board. Select rooms include microwave & refrigerator. One well behaved family pet is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Red Roof Inn, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Red Roof Inn Appleton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Appleton/Fox River Mall Hotel Appleton
La Quinta Appleton
Appleton La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing