We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice atmostphere”
Review of Bella Vita - CLOSED

Bella Vita
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Rustic, authentic Italian cuisine. 17th Annual Golden Fork Award winners in 9 categories!
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Nice atmostphere”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Perfect for that business dinner, tables are not too close and you are never rushed over your meal, good selection of wines on offer.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank ali152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    12
    14
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eau Claire, WI
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pleasant evening”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We were in town on business and staying across the street at the Radisson. It was a Friday evening, and It was nice to walk to dinner. They took reservations for 2. This Italian restaurant will hopefully find its sea legs. I don't think it has been here long. The bread and dipping oil was fabulous...no more was offered. I ordered Chicken Piccata with fresh capellini. It came with broccolini and asparagus and cherry tomatoes--both the sides were delicious. The chicken was a bit thick and dry...not quite top notch. My husband had a special of the day -- mushroom and gorgonzola ravioli...I liked his better than my chicken. Both our wines by the glass were quite satisfactory. He had a white chocolate/raspberry gelato for dessert and I had tiramisu. Again his choice was better than mine. -- the tiramisu was a little odd, served in a jar with a piped topping -- it too was a bit dry and flavorless. We both had coffee. Our total bill was a very reasonable $60 plus. The atmosphere was quiet and pleasant and only slightly cramped at our rather tiny table-for-two tucked into a corner against a wall. The service was by a pleasant college student, although the woman who served the food was rather unpleasant in manner and before presenting our food barked out the usual "would you like cheese...." It is hard to know if you want cheese or how much when you are not allowed to see the dish. I wonder if the odd presentation was because of she couldn't get to the table? or ??? We were presented our plates after she completed her cheese thing. Actually, I couldn't see any cheese, so who knows. I enjoyed the evening and would come again. I would probably order something other than what I ordered.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rhlh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, WI
Level Contributor
71 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“First timers and probably last timers”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Four of us were seated at a semi circle half booth half table made for 6 or 8 - we had reservations for 4 - so the seating was not very intimate for a cozy place. A quarter loaf of bread was served for the four of us. Caprese salad was good but appearance was a little disturbing - I think the 3 tomatoes had sat in the balsamic vinegar too long and looked brown instead of red. My angel hair pasta was clumped together, my friend ordered the night special of ravioli and Italian sausage and the sausage looked like gyro meat and was cold, and my husbands lasagna was burnt around the edges. A manager asked how our meal was and did offer another plate of sausage, but she declined as we were on a schedule for a show at the PAC. Service was good. Atmosphere was cozy. Food was not a good value. Perhaps this restaurant is better suited for a glass of wine, a salad and an appetizer as other reviews indicated. We paid full price, this was not a Groupon deal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SandyFAppleton_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neenah, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Most things right, one thing very, very wrong”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We had been to Bella Vita once before, and thought it was nice but not the equal of Carmella's a few miles west. But we decided to try it again when we got a Groupon discount. Our entrees were really good, but the pumpkin gelato we ordered for dessert was a huge disappointment and a waste of 8 bucks (for two). It was nearly solid, and with lots of ice crystals, which shows that this place does not know to make and/or store gelato. ANY gelato lover knows that gelato should have a frozen yogurt texture, and should be significantly warmer throughout the making and storing process than ice cream. Shame on an allegedly Italian restaurant for not knowing this! When we informed our waiter of the problem, he just grinned like a fool. We should not have even been charged for it. (BTW, much better gelato is available a couple of blocks away at Aspen, although I don't think it is open in the evening.)

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ewe_W_Ohh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire WI
Level Contributor
184 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good food, great service and atmosphere”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

I liked the quiet, serene atmosphere. The food was good, the service was excellent. Servings were adequate, but not too much food. Good wine selection.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mcbarkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bella Vita also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing