We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food but they don't take reservations so we never eat there”
Review of Carmella's

Carmella's
Ranked #2 of 370 Restaurants in Appleton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food but they don't take reservations so we never eat there”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I like this place. It's local, good atmosphere, and good food with an interesting menu. But we never go anymore because they don't take reservations and there is always a substantial wait. I like their food but not enough to spend an extra 40 minutes or more waiting for a table. There are other fine places to eat that take reservations or are a little less busy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    596
    139
    44
    20
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian restaurant”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

This restaurant is Fantastic.The service is Great and the food is the best Italian in Appleton for sure. Everything is fresh and made from scratch. The price is higher but its worth it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wi
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great place!”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Food is wonderful. Homemade pasta, and sauce! The tomato soup is awesome as well. I like their eggplant parm, gnocchi, Have not tried the pizza. I would say it is all good.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mslucky123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of the Best”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

This is one of the best restaurants in Central Wisconsin, and quite possibly the best fettuccine I've ever had. If you have the option of lobster fettuccine special, get it! It's the balls. The veal is also outstanding and the balsamic they serve drizzled across it is like concentrated beef flavor. It's all good here. Not one bad item, and worth the prices.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and service”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Carmella's is immensely popular amongst the locals here in Appleton. It's a lovely place, with good service and a very nice atmosphere. But as a transplant from a very Italian community and an Italian, I'd call Carmella's food fair at best. There are a few quirky things about the place, apart from the food. They don't take reservations and appear to cultivate an air of exclusivity.....they tell you that you can phone in when you're on the way to be placed on the seating list. But no matter how far in advance you all, there is ALWAYS at least an hour wait. I was last there on a Tuesday evening for dinner, and we did wait, but only about 30 minutes. That seemed a little odd to us, as there were multiple free tables, but as we had the time to wait, we did. When we were seated, we our server was friendly. Through the course of our dinner, however, we did have to request refills of drinks a number of times, and more bread/dipping sauce. Our dinner was nice...but that's about the best I can say. The food was good, but nothing special. The portions were rather small. To be honest, we visited Carmella's because we like to support the local economy and some friends had told us that it was a good experience. I can't imagine that we'll go back. The food wasn't any different than anything we'd get at Olive Garden, and was accordingly rather overpriced. The wine was also rather average. Dessert was from a local bakery, which was nice, but again, nothing special at all.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlwaysTime2Fly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carmellasbistro, Owner at Carmella's, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know about your experience at our restaurant. We really appreciate the kind words regarding our atmosphere and service. We are a family run business and take a tremendous amount of pride in all that we do. We are constantly striving to find new ways to be better and to provide every guest that walks through our door with the best possible dining experience that we can. Our Italian family has been in the business of cooking authentic Italian cuisine for our guests here, and in New York, for over 75 years. Carmella's is named after our Grandmother who learned to cook from her Mother and she, in turn, taught our Father how to cook. Every dish at Carmella's is made from scratch with only the best ingredients we can source, often from the surrounding area. Our amazing pastry chef is actually right here on premises and we make all our desserts in house. We do not source our desserts from a local bakery. With regard to our reservation policy, we are in no way are trying to "cultivate an air of exclusivity", but rather are just doing our best to accommodate every guest that walks through our door in the most efficient way we know how. The "call-ahead" policy actually works really well! We accept reservations for parties of 6 or more. If you are less than 6, we ask that you call the day you are coming. We start taking calls for this list at 10 am when a manager arrives. It is best to call as close to this time as you can to ensure that you can reserve a spot on the list at your desired time. It is not best to call on your way in, usually by that time in the evening, the list is full. Being on the call ahead list can reduce your wait by a considerable amount. We do limit the call-ahead list to save room for our walk-in guests. We have found this to be the best way to accommodate all of our guests. We always appreciate support from our community and know that we would not be here without it. We truly hope that you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Carmella's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing