We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taste of Italy”
Review of Carmella's

Carmella's
Ranked #2 of 367 Restaurants in Appleton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Taste of Italy”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This was my first time to Carmella's and it was a very pleasurable dining experience. Unlike most reviews, I did not have to wait for the extremely long lines but I also went outside of normal dining rush hours.

Overall, the food was phenominal, the service was exceptional, and the wine menu is extensive. The manager made sure to check with everyone to see how their dining experience was and offered any assistance when needed. They have daily meal and dessert specials which allow for other options outside of the menu.

Definately will be visiting this establishment every chance I make it back to Appleton!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mzsohar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    588
    136
    41
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Food is great. Getting a table is awful.”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I've been to Carmella's a dozen or more times. I've tried a dozen more, but it is nearly impossible to get a table between 5 and 8 pm on a weekend, so I've gone elsewhere. They don't take reservations as far as I know. They have a modified call in system in lieu of a reservation system, but I was told I couldn't get on the list until after 8 pm. The check in staff has seemed annoyed and rushed whenever I've been there. Have a "plan B" in mind when you try to go there.

As I said, the food is great, and seems like authentic Italian. The food is definitely the best part of the restaurant. Be aware that the restaurant is crowded and quite noisy. Hopefully they'll expand.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bottlerocket9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carmellasbistro, Owner at Carmella's, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for your thoughtful review of our restaurant. We appreciate the very kind words about our food. We did want to take a minute to clarify our reservation policy for those who have never dined at our restaurant before or for those who are also confused by it. We accept reservations for parties of 6 or more any time. We accept "call-aheads" to our daily "call-ahead" list (if you are less than 6) the day you are coming, any time after 10:00 am. We do always recommend that you call early! We also let you know that being on this list does not guarantee you will sit exactly at the time you request, but that it will reduce your wait time by at least half of what we are quoting walk in guests. We accept 2 “call-aheads” per fifteen minute time increments throughout the evening, which is why we may not have the time you’re interested in available. If we do not have that time available, we can put you on the list for a time we do have open or you are welcome to come in as a walk in at the time you desire. We hope this clears things up a bit! We thank you again for your support!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, WI
Level 6 Contributor
323 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Love love love!!!”
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

This is by far my favorite Italian restaurant. It is a little gem tucked away in a strip mall. My hint to you... If you know you want to go there on the weekend, they open at 10am. Call them and get on "the list" you can call and let them know what time you will be there and show up at that time and your wait starts then and you will be given a table. Otherwise you will not be enjoying a table. It is always packed!!!! Everything is great and save room for a cupcake or sundae. Give this place a try. It is so good. But call ahead...

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wiscmom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menasha, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

My wife loves coming to this place. It is a smaller place and always very busy, but they do a great job of getting everyone seated and served. They have a great selection of wine and the food is excellent

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Derrick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“4.5 Stars- great food, noisy, busy, pricey”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

The food was great. Ala carte- the bill adds up fast. The bread was good, crusty and served with olive oil and basalmic vinegar. We ordered calmari, and it was awesome, with a huge portion. Best I've had outside New York City. I ordered the blue cheese appetizer, it was too much for one, but priced ok. My hubby had the salad special of the day, again generous portion and wonderful presentation and dressing, he said. My meal was a pasta dish, very very good, couldn't finish it and the waitress put it in a nice to go container. The hubby had a veal marsala, also very good. No room for desert for us. No drinks, which was disappointing, just wines and beer. We will return, and not order so much food next time. So busy, so noisy. Maybe the outside seating when it warms up will be less noisy.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carmella's also viewed

 

Been to Carmella's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing