We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice find”
Review of Carmella's

Carmella's
Ranked #2 of 370 Restaurants in Appleton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Kingsford
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice find”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We went here for lunch the other day based on reviews on trip advisor. Wow this is a really nice place the food was so good and the service is top notch! We will be back to eat here again for sure.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dianem163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    596
    138
    42
    20
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waupaca, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Italian Excellence in Appleton!”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

When I first saw Carmella's I was completely underwhelmed. An unadorned little Bistro tucked away in a strip mall cowering in the shadow of the ever ubiquitous Verizon franchise. Nothing to shout about right? My wife had to practically push me through the door.
Well slap me in the face with a five pound lobster for being so naive. Somewhere behind that plain brown wrapped facade is a high-end eating extravaganza! My first clue was the interior. Classy, intimate, understated and comfortable with a nice northern Italian aura. My second clue was the salads. Crisp! Refreshing! Delectable!
I looked at my wife with a mouthful of greens.
"I told you so," she grinned.
Then came the entrees. She had the gnocchi and I had the raviolis. Abonndanza!
"I told you so," she grinned.
Then came the cappuccino. Sweet, creamy, frothy just the way I like 'em. And in case I haven't mentioned it, the service was perfect, complete with the right balance of speed, efficiency and friendliness.
So now I am a Carmella's convert. I don't even go near the Appleton airport without a stop at Carmella's. They don't look like much from the outside but don't let that fool you...once through the doors they shimmer with iridescence.
"I told you so," my wife said.
I get that a lot.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HudsonXVXV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great meal but beware of bill creep”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We had a wonderful meal at Carmella's and enjoyed it very much. However, be aware that it is all ala carte. While each item by itself doesn't seem like a lot, by the time you add salad and a dessert along with a couple of drinks you can easily be in the $100 range once you add tip. Yes it was a delicious meal. Not sure if it was worth a $100. We travel a lot and are used to high prices in cities like Chicago, LA, Napa and in Europe. Just not in Appleton. So, with that being said, very good food, a waitress who at first was rather aloof but finally warmed up, and a very busy restaurant for a Tuesday night.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mokigrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“excellent food, service, and atmosphere”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Our first visit. We called ahead the day of for a 6 pm seating. We waited about 20 minutes. Our server was very attentive and the other service was great as well. We had bread and oil within a few minutes of sitting down. Were offered more and the bread was hot out of the oven. The table was cleared right away between courses. The manager stopped at the table to make sure everything was to our satisfaction. The food was excellent and generous portions. Price was reasonable. Would definitely return the next time we are in Appleton.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank s-lee-70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“good italian food”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

this is the best italian restaurant in appleton. it also holds up pretty well when you compare it to larger cities.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank rdrdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Carmella's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing