We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Building for Kids”

The Building for Kids
Ranked #3 of 34 things to do in Appleton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Building for Kids Children's Museum's mission is to empower children, engage parents and energize communities. We accomplish our mission by providing specially designed exhibits, programs and events. Our goal is to inspire, teach and reinforce curiosity.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The Building for Kids”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Great place to bring the little kids during the cold winter months, or any rainy day! Lots of hands on activities, small gift shop, and normally fairly clean! Can be busy at times, but lots of fun!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Abby N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    33
    9
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
77 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Kids had so much fun!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

This museum has 2 floors of hours of non-stop fun for kids. I would recommend spending am afternoon here.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Advisor0821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice place. Best described as an indoor playground.”
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

The Building for kids looks more interesting from the outside than it is. It is essentially an indoor playground for young children. There is a model Kwik Trip, hospital nursery, and places to climb. It seems mostly suited for kids from preschool age to 2nd grade. My major issue is that there are very few places for adults to sit. Pretty average and not particularly exciting as far as I'm concerned. It is fairly pricey too.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bottlerocket9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BFKCM, Manager at The Building for Kids, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
The Building for Kids Children's Museum believes in building imagination, creativity, and confidence in our community's youth, from crawlers through age 7. As a non-profit children's museum, we accomplish this mission through providing a safe space for families to learn through play by exploring hands-on, educational exhibits, as well as curriculum-based classes for field trips, special programs, and family events.

Play is a critical part of a child's cognitive, physical, social, and emotional development. Each exhibit and program at BFKCM is specifically designed to foster these developmental areas through building imagination, creativity, and confidence, and corresponding educational goals are posted in each exhibit area.

The Building for Kids experience is designed to revolve around children, but adults have just as much fun and are encouraged to play everywhere the children play. Studies have shown that "the level of children's play rises when adults play with them," and that one of the key elements of this benefit is the ability of the child to lead that play. These studies show that when a parent engages in imaginative and creative play with their child, the benefits are immense. Children who have the opportunity to lead adults in play demonstrate richer and more abstract thinking.

The Building for Kids, Inc., is a not-for-profit 501(c)(3) organization supported by donations, memberships, admissions, and gift shop sales. The museum does not receive local, state, or federal funding. The Museum's programs and admissions generate two-thirds of its operating revenue, and private contributions are pursued to support the balance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great for kids, especially in winter”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

My daughter is getting a little too old now but fro younger kids this is great. The exhibits are made for the kids to play in and enjoy while they learn

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Navbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niceville, Florida
Level Contributor
283 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“This place is great!”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

My kids absolutely loved the Building for Kids. We spent nearly six hours there, closing the place down, and the kids would have stayed longer if it wasn't closing. There is so much to do here, from all the hands-on interactive exhibits to the art area where the kids painted and made a craft. Note to others - go to the art early in your visit so whatever you make has time to dry! There are a number of restaurants nearby where you can hop out for lunch and return to the museum. Also, we are members of an ASTC (Assoc of Science and Technology Centers) partner museum so we got free admission to Building for Kids.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank lionfan91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Building for Kids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing