We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The bed was nice to sleep in. The room smelled of smoke...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Appleton
Ranked #25 of 25 Hotels in Appleton
Reviewed August 11, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (525)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

385 - 391 of 525 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
3  Thank Tammy R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Smelly room and hallway, mattress was too soft that I had back pain in the morning. I called the staff to fix the fridge because it didn't work, but they wouldn't fix it. There was some police activities in the motel when we arrived but the clerk said that the motel was the safest place in appleton, like we are too dumb to believe her. They knew how to jack up the price to $200 a night because of the air show during our stay, while the regular rate was $50. Any decent person shouldn't stay there. We just found out that the place was nicked name " the hooker motel"

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Chi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Had a venue for work to attend so booked 2 rooms for employees. Worst experience ever! Ive reached out to the hotel about my concerns and all that the employees repeat is that the hotel manager will return my call. Worst customer service ever. Ive called their corporate as well but it seems as though the CEO just dont know how bad of a company Howard Johnson has become. I will never book any stays at a Howard Johnson ever again!

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ALC1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Let me preface my remarks on this hotel by saying I was a professional pilot for 45 years. I have stayed in hotels while on the road over 2000 nights. I have seen good and bad. But this property is the worst I have ever had to deal with.
Dirty rooms. Mold in bathrooms. Bathroom tissue holder on floor. Asked for them to repair it three times. Nothing. Took it to the front desk. It appeared back in my bathroom on the floor later in the day. One employee on site. Most of the time she was outside talking on her cell phone. Could not answer any questions on the local area.
No courtesy car for airport.
Linens not changed for my three day stay. Bed not made one day.

I can not believe that the Wyndam group of hotels would put their name on this property. It needs to be shut down, torn down, or rebuilt. I am going to ask for a partial refund, but will not hold my breath.

Room Tip: Do not stay at this hotel in any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tbaca1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Rebecca E
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Appleton hotels
1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#12 of 25 in Appleton
74 reviews
1.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Appleton
0.7 mi away
Best Western Appleton Inn
Best Western Appleton Inn
#8 of 25 in Appleton
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Motel 6 Appleton
Motel 6 Appleton
#24 of 25 in Appleton
207 reviews
1.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - Appleton - Fox Cities
4.3 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites
Cambria hotel & suites
#6 of 25 in Appleton
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Appleton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Appleton

Address: 200 N Perkins St, Appleton, WI 54914-3141 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Appleton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 25 Hotels in Appleton
Price Range: $49 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Appleton 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Appleton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn Appleton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing