We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth every penny”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Appleton
Ranked #24 of 25 Hotels in Appleton
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We were passing through town on our way up to door county. I was PLEASANTLY surprised of the rooms for the price (paying under $45 for the night). A huge clean, comfortable, big bed. Really nice flat panel TV, had a fridge, and a microwave. Some good popcorn for free in the lobby. Very sweet receptionist in the lobby. Breakfast was included and more than met my expectations for a 'free' breakfast. There was a slight smell in the halls, but I don't go to hotels to spend time in the halls so it didn't bother me. Location was also very convenient. I think they did a very nice job remodeling these rooms. I'd have no problem staying here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjhilgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (518)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

398 - 404 of 518 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Caitlin W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We were in town for a college graduation party . The hotel was only 3 miles from where the party was at. Enjoyed the food at the pizza place next door to the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Rita W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I signed up for a budget experience and got a good one. The room was clean and well stocked.
The breakfast had a good set of core features.
The décor was shall we say eclectic

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

The bed was comfortable, alittle extra for continual breakfast ,room was cleaned daily,maybe the only thing that might bother someone would be noisy light in bathroom and walls could be alittle thicker, but all and all , the price was right, desk personal friendly and helpful, and location was great. Wish the choices of food were closer ,but wasnt a problem for delivery. I'd stay here again

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank homeon64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Tom E
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Appleton hotels
1.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Appleton
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#12 of 25 in Appleton
70 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Appleton Inn
Best Western Appleton Inn
#10 of 25 in Appleton
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#21 of 25 in Appleton
180 reviews
1.0 mi away
Motel 6 Appleton
Motel 6 Appleton
#25 of 25 in Appleton
205 reviews
1.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - Appleton - Fox Cities
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Appleton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Appleton

Address: 200 N Perkins St, Appleton, WI 54914-3141 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Appleton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 25 Hotels in Appleton
Price Range: $52 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Appleton 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Appleton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn Appleton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing